We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Away -From -Home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Great George

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Great George to your Saves list
The Great George
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   58 Great George St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Quitman, LA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Away -From -Home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Just spent a lovely two days at this hotel and one word for it: Awesome!. The staff were able to accommodate my small family of 3 at last minute-no less! It is described as a boutique hotel and comprises a collection of quaint Victorian houses, renovated to a high standard but still comfortable, with no extra charge for parking or wi-fi. Our accommodation was a 2-BR, 1 Bath with a small living room, kitchen, and dining area as well as washer and dryer in unit. It was conveniently located directly across from St. Dunstan's Basilica, near Providence House,Victorian Row, and the harborfront. Loved, loved, loved this. If I ever get a chance to return to PEI this is the only place I will stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    46
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
143
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wonderful comfortable quaint hotel with staff who really know how to deliver incredible service. Rooms very comfy. The breakfast is included and has a good assortment of healthy food. Comfy and relaxed seating.

Loved the happy hour and the warm cookies too. My husband rented a bike and the staff kindly arranged storage. Wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your review of our property and for your kind remarks regarding the employees and the hotel! Feedback is very important to us, and we do appreciate you taking the time to post your experience here with us. We hope you visit with us again soon!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights ending May 8, 2014, the rooms and staff are first class. Thank you to the staff that went out of your way to make us feel at home! The extra effort to get us a last minute car rental was very much appreciated!
Thanks from Winnipeg

Room Tip: This should be your first and only choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Great George with your fellow travelers. I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. We are extremely proud of our entire team’s commitment to providing our guests with top notch service!

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I've stayed in a few places in Charlottetown. This is the best among those and likely the best in the city. It's a little pricey for what you get I think but Charlottetown accommodations (PEI accommodations actually) aren't that cheap, especially as the tourist season approaches.
It's a heritage property that's been redone. Service was very good. Continental breakfast was fine (nothing special, not bad). The location is lovely - short walk from the all the sights but on a quiet street. Good Wifi, decent TV, comfortable bed, modern (in an older style) bathroom, and lots of neat heritage photos throughout the property.
I would hesitate a little based on value, but other than that I'd return without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place is a gem. The hotel itself has loads of charm. The rooms are totally charming and the service is incredible! The staff are friendly and very eager to make your stay as wonderful as possible. And the amenities - wonderful chocolate chip cookies, a gorgeous and warm lobby. I highly recommend this charming and wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
and wonderful guests! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My friends and I stayed in Room 401 during the weekend of ECMA's in April (at the end of the hall, very roomy and so quiet and the beds were amazingly comfy! From the moment we stepped into the hotel until the time we left, we received 5 star treatment. From the warm delicious chocolate chip cookies set out every afternoon to the awesome breakfast every morning, this hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed at in a very long time and central to everything! I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Charlottetown. Thanks, Great George, for making my time in Charlottetown a truly great experience.

Room Tip: Room 401 at the end of a hall (two double beds) was roomy and quiet. There was even a yoga mat in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley524, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you! We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Looking forward to your return visit.
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Traveling for business- I was IMPRESSED. Large room, nicely furnished- everything worked, super clean, nice turn down service.

WINS= manager reception very tasty, friendly, didn't feel cheap. Breakfast- hot, tasty, much better than I expected. Staff- helpful, friendly, quick to help. Green program- skip housekeeping for the day and get a credit at local restaurants [AWESOME]
Losses= NONE

Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor- king room. Lots of space but the windows are small and the view wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and for your many kind remarks regarding the employees and the hotel! Also glad you enjoyed our Green Program. It's a relatively new program so the feedback is very important to us.

I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience here with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St., Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 56 guest rooms + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 24-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Great George, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.