We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip to Elmwood Heritage Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elmwood Heritage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlottetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Save
You added Elmwood Heritage Inn to your Saves list
121 North River Road, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 42 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Second trip to Elmwood Heritage Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

My wife and I visited the Inn in 2000 and were most impressed. We went back in October 2011 and weren't disappointed. It is without question the best bed and breakfast we have ever seen. The furnishings are good, but not exceptional. It’s the little touches that impressed us – our bathroom had a heated tile floor. The rooms have CD players. All have television, with DVD players. There is a selection of CDs and DVD's for guests’ use. Their level of service is excellent. When we asked about where to buy wine, Jay insisted on giving us a bottle. Jay explained that they buy it in bulk and bottle it themselves, and that they do not have a license to resell it. And Jay also gave us a bowl of cashews, and a bottle of white wine as well. When we discussed when we would have to leave to catch our flight in Halifax, they offered to serve breakfast as early as necessary to get us on the way. Lots of little touches. It's a long haul from Virginia but when we are back in that corner of the world we will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
190
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked this Inn as part of a corporate getaway. I can honestly say that I was more than impressed. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was amazing, something I didn't quite expect. The breakfasts were more than I would have expected, and the owners went out of their way to work around the food allergies in our family. They took the time to get to know each of us by name, and on the second morning could recall our names, and our coffee/tea preferences. The Inn isn't all that far a walk from downtown, and it is very quiet at night. I would go back again, and somehow I get a feeling that they will remember me when I do.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier's Room...nice air tub...fireplace (real, not gas), with a sitting room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

The rooms were great and breakfast was incredible. The owners we're wonderful hosts and incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Had a wonderful weekend at the Elmwood. First class service in a very unique, victorian setting. Jack and Carol were fantastic hosts and were very accomodating to all of the groups needs. Would recommend the Elmwood to any prospective travellers to Charlottetown.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 via mobile

Carol and Jay make you feel at home. The furnishings and the atmosphere made my PEI trip every thing I had hoped. Anne of Green Gables would feel right at home.
I absolutely recommend this marvelous place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenelon Falls, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week at Elmwood the 1st part of September 2011 but really didn't wish to leave Carol and Jay's beautiful home that fateful Saturday morning after our Friday night, Royal Seating "Buddy Holly" show organized by Carol before our arrival.

We stayed in both the Nurse's Room and the Cunard Suite during our visit and report that they are both meticulously appointed and most inviting and comfortable in their own way. The dining room is indeed grand matched by the wonderful table settings you are greeted with each morning followed by the delicious offerings, especially the "puff" ! It is certainly a pleasure to have an unhurried, leisurely breakfast while chatting with new friends and planning your day's activities.
Carol and Jay are 1st class, gracious hosts and and their kindness and hospitality reflects that in every way. Their restored, historic home is incredible and we felt proud to be a part of it even though it was all too brief.
However, we shall certainly return as soon as possible for a repeat performance...a 5 star but we give the Elmwood a 6 !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

There's always a bit of chance when choosing a B & B - no chain reputation or record to rely on - which adds to the fun of discovering the perfect one. We did, at the Elmwood.

Jay and Carol are wonderful, welcoming, hosts who put us in the "Library", an antique-filled room on the main floor of their Victorian-era mansion. If the bedroom portrayed that era, the large bathroom did not. The shower was complete with additional horizontal jets that made for a unique kick start to the morning. The bathtub, with its array of air jets, was imposing but untried by us.

Carol's breakfasts in the charming Victorian dining room were spectacular: lots of fresh fruit, fancy home-made breads that catered wonderfully to my Austrian heritage, and once a memorable breakfast souffle!

The inn is set well back from the street in a residential neighbourhood, so noise is not a factor. It is a 20-minute stroll to the heart of Charlottetown, where we followed Carol and Jay's advice to find excellent restaurants. And they provided lots of thoughtful little touches, such as a fridge in our room with an ambitious ice-maker, and the provision by Jay of his annual National Parks pass that gave us free access to the lovely - and empty - beaches.

We've stayed at a number of B & B's on three continents; the Elmwood tops our list.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Address: 121 North River Road, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. And "Certificate of Excellence" for three consecutive years as well. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmwood Heritage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.