We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel
193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Charlottetown
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel has an unbeatable location in Charlottetown. Charlottetown, itself, is very walkable. We had a nice room, with a good bathroom. The building is very old, and it feels that way.

The hotel provides a simple, self-serve breakfast, which was a refreshing change after the lavish breakfasts we'd been having at B&Bs previously. We did have the opportunity to chat with another couple in the small breakfast area which was nice.

The staff was extremely helpful. Parking behind the hotel was a nice bonus in a downtown neighborhood.

There is no elevator, and the stairs are steep due to the age of the house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    20
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
10
40
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here for three nights in June 2012.

Pros: Great location, reasonably priced and charming rooms with lots of character. The bathroom is very clean and the shower/tub is generously sized although the bathroom in our friends' room was considerably smaller (but still fine).

Cons: Nothing major - bedrooms are a bit cramped and the floors are crooked (which is common with old houses but might bother some guests). The beds are old and the mattress sags so it wasn't the most comfortable sleep.

Given the high prices of accommodation in Charlottetown, this inn is of good value and its walking distance to everything makes it very convenient. If I returned to PEI, I would consider going for a B&B next time around, but would recommend the Tailor Shop HIstoric Hotel to anyone looking for an affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review. We strive to offer guests a comfortable stay in a downtown location at an affordable price. Our bathrooms all have been renovated so they are larger than what you would see in a heritage building. Thank you for recommending us to your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, BC
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The good: Location, parking, great bathroom w jacuzzi, quiet and wi-fi. Friendly front desk staff.
Nicely appointed rooms.
We didn't know how to get the a/c to work and so didn't sleep well at all in spite of the fan on the celing and the fan in the a/c. [I think the unit may have been adding heat?] We hadn't asked about the a/c and no one instructed us - apparently you need to turn it right up to get any cooling. I've met any number of a/c units and this was the first one that I couldn't get to cooperate. When I commented in the am I was given more info - but too late by then.
There were 3 of us in 2 rooms and the experience of the beds was the same in both rooms - they seem to rise in the middle so you roll to the outside. I found the breakfast offering a bit boring: boiled eggs, some sort of sausage patty I think, and the usual toast, bagels etc. So I didn't eat there, went and got a coffee at Starbucks instead. Would I go back? Depends on what else is available and at what price but not likely.

Room Tip: Apparently quieter at the back. But access to the hotel is from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the kind words. We would have been glad to help you out on the A/C unit if you told us at the time, we have added new units and they are all user friendly. We offer a different breakfast each morning to our guests so if anyone staying longer than one day gets a variety of items to choose from. We are happy you liked our service, location and amenities. We strive to offer our guests a great stay at an affordable price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful historic hotel in the heart of Charlottetown. This place has the vibe of an olden day hotel with its character filled rooms and charm in common areas. Stayed in room four which had a newly renovated bathroom with jacuzzi tub. We booked early and got 25% off which made it well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night and it was great! I had a beautiful room, which was a pretty good size with a wonderful bed. Service was excellent, they really make you feel like you are at home! I really enjoyed the location and the atmosphere and the parking. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Everything you might read in other reviews about the Old Tailor Shop is true; small, quaint, old, reasonable good service and poor breakfasts is correct. It's most redeeming aspect was the price which only confirms the old saw "you get what you pay for". After staying at excellent 3+, 4 and 5 star accommodations throughout Nova Scotia and PEI, we were quite disappointed with this hotel. Nothing really bad (except the included breakfast) but nothing really good except the location. Our room had a small in room air conditioner which ran the whole time due to the warm spell in Charlottetown. As long as you pay attention and realize the descriptions in the PEI travel magazine is positive spin at its best, this Hotel is best for a single person on a strict budget.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tailor67, Owner at The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
We are a boutique hotel in a heritage building that was not originally designed as a hotel and therefore we don't have the standard rooms that you would find in a hotel chain. We do offer some larger rooms and every room we have has it's own character. We would suggest to anyone wanting to have a larger room is to email, call us or check out our website to view photos of our rooms. Most of our rooms are differently priced so the cheaper rates are our smallest rooms. To clear up any questions about our breakfast we offer every morning coffee, tea, milk, juice, cereal, oatmeal, toast, yogurt, bagels, fruits, a combination of boiled eggs, sauage, waffles, pancakes etc. We don't have a chef on site to cook individual breakfasts like some B&Bs do but we do offer what we consider to be as good or better than most hotels. We are located in PEI so most establishments only offer window air conditioners as it is not cost effective to install central air with our climate. We don't consider ourselves a budget hotel that implies that we have only "budget" type of accomodations. We offer accomodations that are in most ways superior to chain hotels and we provide a price that most people can afford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAINT JOHN
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Tailor Shop and enjoyed our stay very much. The Inn is located in an older building, and the charm of the heritage flooring, furniture and decor is a major attraction. I enjoy older buildings like this and I felt very comfortable here. The rooms are small, and have a little private bathroom attached. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms well done in a modern fashion. We actually stayed in different rooms both nights and both were great. Each was a little unique and different which is a welcome change from the drudgery of modern generic hotel rooms. Each room had a huge jacuzzi style bathtub as part of the show which was a bonus.
The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but more than satisfactory for a quick bite before setting out to explore Charlottetown.
The Inn provided free parking just behind their building which was very helpful and welcome.
Overall, I would absolutely stay here again and recomment it to anyone traveling to Charlottetown. The rates are amazingly cheap (especially for summer high tourist season), the location is ideal to walk everywhere in Charlottetown, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Glad to have discovered this Inn!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel

Address: 193 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel in center of downtown Charlottetown. Mid 1800's building with modern amenities. 8 rooms all with large ensuite baths 5 rooms with jacuzzis, private phone, cable tv, air conditioning, mini fridge, wireless internet. Off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tailor Shop Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.