We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodd Royalty

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rodd Royalty to your Saves list
Rodd Royalty
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Capital Dr. | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 8C2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a few nights in the summer. We had planned on staying only one night, but stayed longer. Enjoyed the room and the breakfast was great. The Housekeeping staff were exceptionally friendly.

My kids really loved the pool, but I did find the water slide to be dangerous. You barrel into the main pool area and from the time you leave the top to the time you hit the pool there is such a delay that I am surprised nobody has gotten hurt. I almost hit a curious kid who was peaking his head into the bottom of the slide (when I left the top the way was all clear). They really need a staff/lifeguard on site.

By far the best hotel we stayed in on our maritime trip, but the pool might deter us from returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review of your stay this summer at the Rodd Royalty. I appreciate your feedback about our pool area and you can be assured that we will take into account feedback such as this as we look to improve our products and services at the property.

Thank you for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    80
    33
    18
    12
See reviews for
97
58
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for only one night, but I was very impressed with everything. First of all, I was greeted at the door by one of the employees who works behind the desk. The staff were all extremely nice and accommodating. I stayed in a room on the second floor, it was very clean, the colors in the room and the furniture were all very modern; the bed was soooooo comfortable, I had a great sleep. There was complimentary breakfast, the dining room was beautiful a well. The food was great. Lots of options, home made waffles, eggs, sausage, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt.......and the list goes on. I did not have a chance at having a swim in the pool, but I did take a glance, definitely would be a fun place especially for kids as there is a large waterslide.
I was at a function in the 'courtyard', it was beautiful, large room, the service by the staff and the appetizers that were offered were delicious.
I was very happy with my stay, can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Rodd Royalty. I am very happy to hear about your great stay.

You can be assured that I will share this with my staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rodd Royalty in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Traverse, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Rodd Royalty Inn on both ends of a plane trip from Charlottetown due to flight times and weather conditions. We hadn't stayed here before this, but the Rodd's location seemed ideal with its proximity to the airport. We came away with the opinion that this hotel compares favourably with the downtown "boutique" inn we normally stay at on trips to the city but at a much lower price point. The complimentary breakfast is superior to that offered by our former favourite and, in particular, the service is less "stiff" and very welcoming. We got the genuine impression that the front desk staff were interested in our plans and we enjoyed their sense of humour and candor. The rooms are well equipped with a small fridge, microwave and higher grade bed and linens. I had a chance to wander around the facilities and wish I had known more about this hotel when scheduling meetings and conferences in the past..... the layout is ideal. I noticed that Alie Mills is their event coordinator, so I'm sure that, based on her previous successes, the level of quality in that area is also top notch. Congratulations to Craig and the Rodd team on your high standards and consistent delivery. We'll be back and will definitely recommend you to our friends and associates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the Rodd Royalty with fellow travellers.

Oh behalf of the staff we sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Thank you and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

the hotel staff was extremely friendly and accommodating especially being on a hockey trip, some hotel are extremely strict, this hotel was strict but very fair to parents and kids. The staff even went out of there way to set up breakfast for the kids before breakfast hours.
The rooms were very clean and everything was in excellent condition i.e. TV, microwave and fridge.
I highly recommend you stay there

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

WE LOVE OUR SPORTS TEAMS!

I am glad to hear how much you and the team enjoyed our swimming pool and water slide, complimentary breakfast, and in-room amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocagne, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Truly appreciated the annual traveler's social. One a year, it is truly nice tohave the Road Warriors together as a group. Thank You to the Craig, manager, hotel staff and the Rodd family members present and rememberred. Please enjoy the holiday season. Wishing everyone ; Good Health and Good Wealth.

Room Tip: Some travelers care to have the same room from stay to stay. Believe it, we get used to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback with fellow travellers.

We are very thankful for the business that our loyal EveryStay members have provided us over the years.

Our annual EveryStay holiday reception is the least we can do to show our appreciation for your loyalty.

Thank you for choosing Rodd Hotels & Resorts when you travel in the Maritimes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here for a hockey tournament and I have nothing but good things to say. The staff were all very friendly at all times of the day/night, the included hot buffet breakfast was more than adequate, and the fact all the rooms had fridges and microwaves was a great help. They were well prepared for the teams and you didn't feel like an annoyance being there, as some hotels can make you feel on those kind of trips.

You can tell the hotel was renovated fairly recently, and the outside can be a bit of a letdown, but don't let it fool you. Every room I saw was well decorated and comfortable, and the lobby was inviting to sit and wait when gathering the group together. The ONLY issues to note was that it was difficult to get the room temperature consistent, and the shower temperature was never quite hot enough.

Location wise it is close to all shopping and restaurants, and there is good variety all around it. Would I stay here again? No question.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty.

I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and you can be assured that I will share this with all of my staff.

Thank you very much for choosing the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Beginning of November ,2013,we visited beautiful PEI and stayed at Rodd Royalty hotel.Young lady,recepcionist,with a warm smile ,checked us in.Room was spacious,neat.Beds were very confortable and sheets snow-white and soft.The cozy breakfast area was another nice experiance,they offered hot breakfast.Such a friendly stuff,quiet,knowing what are they doing.Very impressive!We would definitely recomend this hotel and use it for future stay at Charlttetown.Thank you very much!
ILIJA and DIJANA MITROVIC

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig J, General Manager at Rodd Royalty, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to complete a review after your recent stay at the Rodd Royalty. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud of the level of service we provide for all of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Rodd Royalty when you travel to Charlottetown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodd Royalty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Royalty

Address: 14 Capital Dr. | PO Box 2499, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 8C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Royalty 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodd Royalty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Royalty Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Royalty Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodd Royalty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.