We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dundee Arms Inn to your Saves list
Dundee Arms Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Amherst, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice Inn, great location, nice room, comfortable bed, friendly professional staff, and excellent breakfast. We had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely stay at the Dundee Arms Inn again when we are in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    52
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
93
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We looked at pics on line but rooms are even better in person. Standard Queen room- quite roomy. Spacious bathroom, complete with robes for after shower! nice antiques too and very clean. Dining room was excellent. We ate supper and breakfast there (breakfast included in stay) The service was fast, food high quality ingredients and cooked to perfection. We were looking for a night away from the kids at a decent price but this really felt like a higher end night away. Honestly we've done the same thing and gone to a 5 star hotel, this was just as good. Would recommend. Superb service makes all the difference. Restaurant staff attentive and Inn staff are welcoming. Great location too, close to parks, boardwalk, downtown.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, maybe ask for a quieter area.. we could hear the tv from room beside us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed at Dundee Arms Inn during the off season and it was so quiet and peaceful. If you want to stay in the downtown Charlottetown area and not in a typical hotel, this Inn is the place for you. The service was amazing. All staff were wonderful and accommodating. The food was also out of this world. I stayed in one of the Annex Room and it was clean and well kept. I will definitely return again and at the Inn itself instead of the Annex rooms as the accommodations looked to be just as fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early November 2013 with our three kids. We were in the Annex and our room was clean, modern, well-organised and spacious, even with 5 of us. It was easy walking distance into town for the kids to see the sites and close to Victoria Park which was great for them to have a run around. The staff was really impressive. Everyone was friendly and attentive, and went out of their way to help us whenever we had questions or needed suggestions or directions. We'd stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights during our 2 month trip around Canada. Our room on the top floor of the Inn was spacious and beautifully furnished in a style keeping with the period of the Inn. Buffet style Continental Breakfast was included each day with full hot breakfast on the weekends. We were also given vouchers for discount off any meals purchased in either of the restaurants downstairs. We ended up eating in the fine dining restaurant 2 nights and the pub restaurant the other 2. The meals were so good in both, we would have been hard pressed finding equal elsewhere. The service was excellent in every area, from the housekeeping to the wait staff and front desk, everyone was very attentive and friendly. We were very impressed with the cleanliness, service and professional attitude of all staff and their dedication to ensuring our stay was an enjoyable one.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, AK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I loved this hotel. I will definitely stay here again if/when I return to Charlottetown. I was a bridesmaid at a wedding at this hotel. It was lovely. The staff were kind and courteous. They made an effort to ensure we were well taken care of.

The food was terrific - as was the service in both the dining room and the patio.

The room was perfect - clean, modern, everything worked properly.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Well done!

Room Tip: The Annex Rooms are modern, clean, with a beautiful king size bed. Also much more private. The old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here one night in October.
We were in room 25 in the main "Victorian" section of the hotel. The room was gorgeous, very spacious and beautifully appointed, and really gave the feel of staying in an old Victorian home.
There were two large beds -a queen and a double, separate bathroom and shower room, lots of bathroom soaps, shampoos etc. so you could really pamper yourself, and a beautiful tree decked out in Autumn colours right outside the window! WiFi reception in the room was excellent.
Parking outside was fine and convenient, and the hotel is positioned for easy walking access to restaurants and pubs (we ate at the Old Triangle pub just round the corner - good pint and excellent food).
Breakfast in the morning was as advertised - fancy continental. Large choice of baked products coffee/tea and a quirky D.I.Y boil-your-own egg thingy which we tried out....it worked.
Staff were very friendly and gave good recommendations on where to go etc.
To summarize - a little pricey, but all in all a very pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Stay in the Victorian part of the hotel for a cosy nonstandard room feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Address: 200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 42 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundee Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.