We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dundee Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dundee Arms Inn to your Saves list
Dundee Arms Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Really friendly staff, the receptionist was more than happy to give us advice on how to get about on PEI. We were given a fantastic breakfast.

The breakfast is a buffet so excellent food.

Rooms are huge and clean, and lovely Aveda freebies in bathroom! Excellent standard of room, even including a fridge and microwave

Really good location. Easy to get to Anne of Green Gables!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    54
    21
    7
    5
See reviews for
31
96
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We recently spent 4 nights at the Dundee Arms. Our accomodations were excellent. What really makes the Dundee a relaxing home away from home is its staff. Tanya at the front desk was very accomodating and made certain our dining reservations were looked after. Tammy in the pub was very friendly and we enjoyed visiting with her as we ended a busy day. The waitresses were all very efficient and friendly and housekeeping was quick and on task.
The Dundee's location is perfect for walking downtown. Just a couple of blocks to all the attractions! We ate in both the dining room and the pub and the food was excellent. The Bread Pudding is spectacular!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is the first time that I have ever posted on TripAdvisor as I felt that this place warranted a few comments. My husband and I had a two night stay at the Inn this past weekend. We were visting Charlottetown as I was participating in the half-marathon. Our room was very clean, comfortable and modern. Our room was in the annex part of the facility. The staff were all very welcoming each time we entered the building and helpful during our stay. We requested a late check-out with no questions asked. We ate in the pub a couple of times and in the dining room as well. The food was great and very reasonable. We were also pleasantly surprised by the continental breakfast served to us both mornings in their beautiful diningroom and had a full menu with many hot breakfast choices. We would definitely recommend this Inn as it is truly a little "gem" in Charlottetown.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex are modern whereas the rooms in the Inn are an older style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had a two night stay to get away for some relaxation after our wedding. We stayed in suite 23 and loved every second we spent in the room. The heart shaped tub was a great romantic setting and the four post bed was the most comfortable we've ever had while on travels.
The staff is friendly, approachable and professional and make you feel very welcome from the moment you check in to the moment you check out. Of considerable mention, desk workers Stephanie and Tasha were great to deal with.
The continental breakfast is great and offers more choices than most I've ever had.
Highly recommend the Dundee Arms Inn and we will be going back again in the future. It's a great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were on a business trip through the Maritimes and we used Charlottetown as our base. We stayed at the Inn on our first night and decided to return to Charlottetown for Thanksgiving Weekend. After staying in a few other hotels on our travels, we looked forward to going back to the Inn for four more nights. We stayed in the annex and loved our room! It was much nicer than the Westin in Halifax. The food is excellent and the staff made us feel warm and welcome.

We will definitely recommend this Inn to our friends and look forward to returning there on our next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Coming from Europe we had 1 big bag: the building , since historical, has not elevator however they helped us to bring it up.
The room was clean and in perfect order: The bathroom is small but functional. The room very hot even if we were at the beginning of October, but the air conditioning was not an option: too loud! they have a ventilation on the roof that served the purpose.
Location is great- you can walk to the center in 3 minutes and staff is very nice and competent. The restaurant is very very good.
Overall nice experience

Room Tip: don't expect big rooms or big Bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

From the moment we stepped through the front door of this charming inn we were welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room in the annex was spacious and extremely clean. We loved the colors and the design of the room, especially the way the beautiful sliding screens hid the frig and microwave. Our only complaint was around "temperature control": the AC was rather noisy and although the beds were very comfortable, we had only a sheet and a duvet; with one we were too cold and with both we were too hot. A light blanket would have been welcome.
We were given a 10% off coupon for dinner at check in and used it that evening in the dining room which was quite busy. There seemed to be only one waitress but she was calm, efficient and gracious and we very much enjoyed our 3 course Autumn Flavors dinner. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dundee Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Arms Inn

Address: 200 Pownal Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W8, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dundee Arms Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic business district on quiet safe street in olde Charlottetown. This 1903 Queen Anne Inn and modern Annex have been welcoming guests for 42 years. 22 guest rooms, featuring private baths, colored televisions,free high speed wireless internet, telephones, air conditioning, non smoking atmosphere and guest parking. Award winning Dining Room, Lounge and a beautiful outdoor patio. Highly maintained property offering friendly personal service. Recommended by CAA/AAA and "Where to Eat in Canada" Open Year Round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dundee Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Arms Hotel Charlottetown
Dundee Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundee Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.