We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff but needs updating.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Charlottetown to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   238 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Charlottetown
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff but needs updating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We spent two nights here. The location is great and an easy walk to the downtown core.

The staff were extremely helpful and were able to suggest places for us to dine at.

The room was dated and need an overhaul. Clean but a slight musty smell as well as old carpets, and an old window air conditioner,

Complimentary breakfast was a disappointment. There was a line up at the coffee machine because it was an old machine and took for ever to dispense.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. I will share with the team the kind words you have expressed. We are in the process of adding anadditional coffee dispenser due to some challenges with a full hotel. This is a brand new dispenser and we did not ealize it would slow down the process, we thought the opposite would happen. I hope you will cinsider staying with us in the future to give us a chance to ezceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    86
    73
    55
    47
See reviews for
85
93
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very accomodating staff and good value relative to other hotels in the area. Hotel is well located, kitchenette in the suite was servicable but I had to call for dishes. Check-in was poor because the room wasn't ready but was informed they had a wholesale turnover of the rooms that day and they made up for it by crediting my rewards account with some extra points. Breakfast, included in the price was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased that enjoyed the great hospitality of our staff. As you were informed we have been experiencing extremely busy days. With some guests not leaving at the check out time we find ourselves not having enough hours in the day to properly clean some rooms before 3pm check in. I do apologize that you had this experience. I hope you will return in the future to allow us to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent location for catching all the downtown activities in Charlottetown. Very clean and great staff who served us well. They provided great information on where to find some of the activities and were very knowlegable. Highly reccomend staying at the best western in Charlottetown PEI

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Jim I would like to start by thanking you for your kind comments. Our location is something we have many guests comment about. The downtown location does allow easy access to the theatre and many of our great resturants here in Charlottetown. I will certainly share with the team your kind words about our service. We take great pride in offering a clean and enjoyable experience here at the Best Western Charlottetwon. I hope we will see again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were put in a room on the bottom floor. The room smelled slightly of damp cigarettes. There was high humidity in the air. The dehumidifier in the room did not help.

Breakfast was awful. Fake eggs,no OJ and the toaster barely made the waffle warm. Our apple was the only good thing.

The front desk staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably less damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you for sharing your comments about our property. I am sorry that you did no enjoy your stay with us. I hope you will return in the future to allow us to exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Two couples on motorcycles show up after a long day on the road. We find that they have 2 rooms left at a very attractive price. Reading the other reviews, I understand now why the price was good. We were in the basement.
We were supposed to get 2 rooms with queen size beds. Our friends did but our bed was a double...not what we were looking forward to.
Nothing could be done about the bed as they were sold out. We were staying 2 nights and they could transfer us to another room the next day at considerably more money.
Our friends had a couch in their room but we didn't.

The hair dryer didn't work. The young man that responded was very personable but couldn't find one that we could use until next day. my wife went to the gym and used the dryer there. The next day same thing. No dryer showed up so a trip to the gym.

We were not very happy with the stay and would not go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant Genarl Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We do have rooms in a lower level and yes they are only rented as a last rent room. The rate does reflect the location. The transfer to a different room that was not the same as your friends was due to the fact that our hotel was full and we offered the only rooms available to the both of you. I am sorry that this was not acceptable. I hope you will reconsider and give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay at the Best Western in Charlottetown, staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities are very nice. The hotel was clean and well maintained and I will be using it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I would like to thank you very much for your kind feedback of our property. I will share your rating and kind words to our housekeeping team on the cleanliness of our hotel. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton,AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in July. We were travelling with an infant and called ahead to see if we could have an early check in and the room was ready before noon on our arrival date. Also allowed us to have a late check out so we didn't have to rush in the morning which was very nice!The staff was very accommodating and gave us a huge room; if we were to stay here again we would definitely ask for a room with two beds as they are much larger than the rooms with one king bed. The free breakfast was ok, nothing special but there was enough options to feed just about anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne C, Assistant General Manager at BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your generous comments. We are fortunate to have some terrific associates working on our team. I am pleased to hear that your needs were met to your satisfaction. I hope you will return and visit us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Wayne Cotton, AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Charlottetown

Address: 238 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, with its great downtown location, is a wonderful choice for your travelling requirements. Close to Charlottetown's many restaurants, Confederation Centre of the Arts, Founders Hall, water front attractions, Province House, Confederation Court Mall, Holland College Campus, Government offices, Charlottetown's Festival grounds, hiking and bicycling trails, all that can be reached with a leisurely walk from this City center hotel. As well you will enjoy a pleasant stay in our clean, comfortable facility with many amenities such as indoor heated pool, fitness center, conference center, business center, in house laundry, dry cleaning services and rooms that range from standard hotel rooms to apartment style rooms with full kitchens. If "FREE" is something that you wish to experience, then included in the rates are "FREE" parking, "FREE" WI-FI and a "FREE" hot breakfast that is second to none. The BEST WESTERN Charlottetown's clean and comfortable hotel with our wonderful staff that is friendly, courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Bring your Family to stay with our Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Charlottetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.