We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good room, good breakfast, robotic reception” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Charlottetown
delft
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“good room, good breakfast, robotic reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

average kind of hotel, room was ok, breakfast was good (but plastic and paper dishes, I hate it!!), the afternoon shift at the reception was "robotic", not friendly; the morning shift was ok, the location is quite far from the city center

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you found our reception staff robotic. We pride ourselves on having great team members who continually go above and beyond to please our guests and ensure our guests feel like they are home when away from home. As a branded Holiday Inn property we do have very specific brand standards (steps and processes) that our front desk team has to follow while checking guests in and out of the hotel. I would like to assure you that we do not encourage our team to be robotic however we do stress the importance of following these branded procedures for every guest and perhaps that is why you found them to seem rehearsed while helping you. With respect to the cutlery and plates used at breakfast, once again we follow brand standards to the letter and the plates and cutlery we use are mandated by the brand. As I am sure you can understand, in a select service hotel offering complimentary breakfast to over 200 guests daily we simply can not keep up with the demand of washing china and cutlery. As I am sure you are aware, full service Holiday Inn hotels demand much higher nightly rates than do the Express Hotels and there is a cost for their breakfast. The additional room rate and the cost for breakfast allow full service hotels to have higher staffing levels which allow for real china, cutlery, and servers who take your order and serve your food. By eliminating these supplies and having a self serve breakfast we are able to offer much lower rates to our guests who understand the trade off.

Kind regards,
Thierry Surette, General Manager - Holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    78
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
64
51
9
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's obvious that lots of money has been spent remodeling and updating the lobby and common areas of this older property. Those areas are beautifully done and quite appealing.The staff are super-friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is what you'll find at this brand everywhere. But the details make or break a property long-term, and someone isn't paying attention here. In my experience, "doors" were the common problem area. The outside entry to my lower-level room would not deadbolt because the bolt doesn't align. By lifting up on the entire door frame I could force the deadbolt into the slot for security. The door to the bathroom wouldn't close because the latch assembly was not set properly into the door, It was all protruding enough to prevent the door from fitting into the jamb. These are things that should be obvious to the housekeeping and maintenance crews during regular room activity, but have not been corrected. Finally, the main front entry door to this property are outdated and cumbersome when attempting to enter with luggage. They should be replaced with either automatic doors (wider) or with doors that are easier to open. Guests struggle constantly to negotiate the entry into this property with luggage, and it seems this would have been taken care of when the major lobby renovation was done. Competing Brands in this class do not have these kinds of problems, so I gave an average rating to this overall. The location on the north side of Charlottetown is fine, and I will reiterate my commendation of the courtesy and friendliness shown by the staff. You're almost there, Please go all the way to make this property worth the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay at the holiday Inn Express & Suites Charlottetown. I do understand your concerns and assure you that our maintenance team is working diligently to repair the deficiencies you have pointed out. We have also secured quotes to have our entrance way upgraded to include automatic doors and a heated enclosure. I do appologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay and hope you are able to stay with us again in the future to experience the great changes that are taking place.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for three nights and we can truthfully say it was a very enjoyable experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful, there is plenty of safe parking, great TV channels (incl. all the major US TV networks). The hotel is very well maintained and clean, plus i is very quiet at night. it's a very short drive to downtown from here. We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our newly upgraded HD channel selections. I hope you had an opportunity to take advantage of some of the complimentary movie channels while you were here? If not, perhaps you will have an opportunity on your next vist. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Spacious room and bathroom. Liked the citrus shampoo! Very clean. Desk staff very knowledgeable and helpful. Cookies at check-in. Friendly. Hot Breakfast was well stocked and kept clean. Spacious dining area for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed you home baked cookies. Thank you for recognizing the efforts of our employees and thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn. We hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel the week of April 15th, 2013 while attending the funeral of my brother-in-law.
I am from Boston & travel a great deal throughout the States & the Maritimes. While all the staff,each & everyone were just wonderful, one employee, Lisa Forrestall stood out. I have never
met any service person as professional, warm, caring & just a delight to be around . My husband
& I were so very impressed with her. I am sure you realize how important she is to your hotel.
What a Lovely representative to have on board. Next time, I go to the Island, I would only stay at your hotel. All of your staff was lovely but Lisa was Exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Once again we would like to express our sympathies for your loss. You are correct when you mention that we do appreciate everything Lisa does for our guests and her team. Lisa is a very intrigal part of the guest service experience at the Holiday Inn and we hope to have her leading the team for a very long time.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we stayed one night the room was very clean the housekeepers that were in the hallway at the time we checked in were very helpful except for one lady she didnt understand us her english was not the greatest ...over all great place breakfast was great, lots of choices .... the only thing is when checking out the lady at the front desk did not ask how my stay was when i turn to leave she started serving the next gentlemen and i over heard her ask how his stay was it should be asked to everyone .....the hotel is close to everything .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
I would like to appoligze for not asking how your stay was. I will be sure to have our guest services manager reiterate the importance of this question during her pre shift meetings. I am sure that the question will be asked on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The welcome was genuine. The room was very good with fridge & microwave included.
The weather was dreadful, very cold and wet but the 2 nights we spent here with friends on Victoria day weekend were pleasant refuges of warmth. Lindsey on the front desk was particularly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very busy on the first day due to several hockey teeams staying there. However, the staff ensured an adequate supply of everything was maintained.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thierry_Surette, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for acknowledging Lindsay's efforts in your review. I am pleased that enjoyed you time on the Island and I wish I could have changed the weather for you. Hopefully your next visit will be a sun filled one.

Kind regards,
Thierry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown

Address: 200 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown The sophisticated Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown Hotel borders the city's harbor and is just a short distance from the University of Prince Edward Island and many great attractions. This Charlottetown hotel, located in the capital city of Prince Edwards Island, is just a short distance from many fine area attractions, including the Confederation Centre of the Arts, Fox Meadow Golf and Country Club and numerous cycling paths. You can go on an adventure through the Head of Hillsborough, the Tea Hill and the South Shore loop on your bicycle while staying here in Charlottetown. Other hotels in the area can't compete with our great value and location. Our Charlottetown hotel offers the best solutions for your area business needs. You can stay productive at our well-equipped business centre that features copy, fax and print services, and if you want a meeting to go off without a hitch, host it in one of our three spacious meeting rooms considered the best among Charlottetown, PEI hotels. Stay at Holiday Inn Express and you can experience a blend of convenient amenities, great value and service. You can go for a swim in the heated, indoor pool and relax and unwind in the whirlpool. Keep your workout routine in sync at our fitness centre that features free weights, treadmills and stair climbers. Don't wait any longer, reserve your room at our Charlottetown hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Charlottetown
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.