We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts to your Saves list
Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts
545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Parksville, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Trailside B&B is a great place to stay when visiting Prince Edward Island. I stayed for 8 nights. The rooms are comfortable and decorative, the breakfast is fantastic (especially the waffles), and the hosts are wonderful, friendly people with two lovable dogs. It is close to the airport (about 2.5 km) but a taxi ride will cost $11 and bus service is infrequent. I arrived at around 11:30 pm and had no choice but to take a taxi, but I departed in the morning and walked to the airport (about a 50 minute walk). Bus service from the B&B to Charlottetown is also infrequent, so I walked to Charlottetown Mall (about a 45 minute walk) and took a bus from there to downtown. Buses from the mall to downtown run every 15 minutes (no buses on Sunday) and cost $2.25. There are 2 convenience stores and a Tim Horton's within walking distance of the B&B. The Confederation Trail is right next door. I had a fantastic visit and I highly recommend staying at the Trailside B&B.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    5
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
15
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I haven't even checked in yet and Cindy has insulted me several times - by phone and email. When I was trying to make reservations, she sent me an email with links and tons of information. Great, super helpful! But when I called to give her my credit card info, and then casually asked about the cancellation policy and other things, she berated me for not reading her email entirely and seemed completely out of sorts that I would even ask her these questions that were already "answered." I'm sorry that I like talking to a live person rather than reading pages of information...?

I gave her the benefit of the doubt and let the rudeness drop. As my trip is approaching, I decided to email her and let her know my estimated arrival and suggestions on scheduling so that we could check-in at a time that wasn't so inconvenient for her. She tells me she has no idea what time the PEI ferry runs from Nova Scotia and she will "see you whenever." Verbatim.

The cancellation policy is also awful. Basically once you give her your credit card she will charge you no matter how much advance notice you give her of cancellation. So I'm stuck in this reservation... Cindy seems like a great people person. Can't wait to meet her in person.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Soothing music, delicious tea, warm scones, gracious hospitality- what more could you ask? A lovely collection of hats to choose from makes your luncheon complete!

If staying at the B&B, hearty breakfasts on a flexible schedule. Hosts Cindy and Guy give good advice on local sights and destinations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantallon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hosts are informative and delightful, the garden is gorgeous and relaxing and the waffles are yummy! It was so nice to come back after a day in the sun to stroll the garden in the evening. Theme rooms are well done, and it is nice to know a portion of the room's fee goes towards a worthy charity.
Being just outside Charlottetown made it easy to tour the region and still pop into the city to shop and explore.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Africa themed room and loved it, but if you are an arachnophobe, ask for a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Guests were very hospitable and lovely.

Place is very well set up with a free telephone and computer in foyer.

Perfect location right in center from NESW only took less than 2 hours to drive in each direction. LEss than 10mins from downtown and better to avoid traffic.

Breakfast was substantial wish there were some fruits Loved the home baked bread and jams.

Rooms were comfortable and clean. Each had there own locks and key if needed.

Free parking

Shower upstairs could have used an update but was fine for me.

Loved the dogs :)

Missed the biscuits and tea time :C Ill be back on my next visit !!!

Room Tip: best location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

A stay at Trailside B&B was very easy to coordinate, from booking to arriving. My Mum and I were traveling before the season officially started on PEI. However, whilst some of the major (Anne) attractions were close, thankfully Cindy and Guy's B&B was open! VIA Rail got us within a reasonable distance from the B&B (drives passed the front door!) and taxis in Charlottetown are on a fixed rate by distance fare.

The facilities were great, comfortable and clean. Cindy and Guy were always ready with helpful information. The Authentic PEI Experience (Garden tour, cream tea and scrapbooking) was fabulous! Lots of laughs and a fabulous way to spend the afternoon!

I wish we could have stayed longer to see the changes happening daily in the garden and watch more of the beautiful wildlife over another cup of tea!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

B&B located outside of Charlottetown in Winsloe, beside the Confederation Trail bike path and fairly close to airport. Room was simple but adequate, very comfortable bed, shared bath was very nice with huge walk-in shower. Breakfast decent but small, one egg and 1.5 toast, 2 small sausages and coffee/juice. The hosts were pleasant, and (surprisingly) joined me for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts

Address: 545 Malpeque Rd Rte 2 | PO Box 154, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1Z2, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recommended & conveniently located on the Trail, 4/10/20/30 minutes to the airport, downtown Charlottetown, PEI beaches & Cavendish. Comfortable describes our 2 rooms with 2 singles, a full bath/shower and sitting room. The B&B also has 2 rooms with doubles on the main floor, 2 baths and sitting room. This is a private bath for a family renting two rooms. Package PEI starts with a tea pot tour of our organic perennial gardens, following with the best tea, scones & cream at Grandma's Tea Room (on premises) ending with a make and take scrapbook event sure to please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trailside B&B / Grandma's Tea Room & Gifts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.