We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally awesome in every way! A real gem in downtown Charlottetown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sonata Inn to your Saves list
The Sonata Inn
3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Langley, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Totally awesome in every way! A real gem in downtown Charlottetown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed 7 nights for a 3-day conference (few extra days to be a tourist! :D ). First of all, I had contacted 10 different accommodations when pre-planning my trip, and Heritage House responded promptly and informed me that they were booked, and referred me to their sister inn, which was the Sonata Inn. Right from the start they provided excellent customer service and happy to answer questions. I was already impressed and pleased with their service.

Sonata Inn was easy to find, and parking was great. The location is awesome since it was close to downtown Charlottetown and within walking distances to many places. Main staff person I had contact with was Shaayna, and she was great! The room itself was very nice, clean, comfy and roomy. We had the Standard room 1 queen bed and had a great view of the street. Everything was nicely modern and upgraded, and bathroom is nice and clean as well, and hairdryer was provided. There is a mini fridge in the room so you can have your own drinks or fruit, and the AC unit worked fine.

The other great thing was that there was a coin operated washer and dryer available in the basement for guests to use along with the ironing board. For just 2 bucks I got my single load of laundry washed and dried, and they even provide the detergent and softener sheets. The convenience of home away from home literally!

There is sort of like a communal spot in the middle of the top floor that we were staying where you can help yourself to cookies, teas and coffee that were complimentary. The fridge there also made ice for you and juices/pop were available for $1 each. You just take what you want and put the money into a box, so casual and convenient.

Housekeeping service was great, always clean, consistent and you hardly see the staff but they get things done!

Breakfast time was great. The hot breakfast was always different each day, and there was a variety of homemade baked goods, cereals and juices to choose from. Other staff were great as well--cheerful, friendly and customer oriented.

Overall, it was an awesome stay. This was the first time we have stayed at a B&B and it was an extremely positive experience in every way. If you ever come to Charlottetown, definitely stay at the Sonata Inn! You can't go wrong and it is way better than a hotel! Quiet, comfy, convenience like home and great service! A REAL GEM! Kudos to all the staff for running the inn so well!

PS> There is also a super friendly black kitty that lives next door. She would come running up to us quite often in the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thank you so much for your incredibly detailed review! We wanted to thank you for mentioning the quick responses. We try to reply to all emails within minutes, as we know how important it is for potential guests to get all the information as soon as possible!

Thanks for mentioning the Coin-OP laundry machines. We know how important this service is to guests who have been travelling for weeks and weeks, and we're happy you made use of it.

I wanted to thank you for posting pictures of one of our Standard Rooms with a Queen sized bed. This is a unique room, and it is definitely one of my favourites!

We are so happy you enjoyed the breakfast service! The cinnamon rolls, scones, and muffins will be waiting for you if you ever come back!

It was an absolute pleasure having you here, and we hope to be of service again!

PS: Shaayna says hi! She's also amazed someone managed to spell her name right the first time! ;)

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn & Heritage Harbour House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
89
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed for two days and was very happy with the quality of the Sonata Inn. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The location is great. You can walk to may locations. I would certainly stay there again if I'm ever in PEI.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Thanks for your positive review! I wanted to thank you for mentioning the large, spacious rooms, and the close proximity to the downtown Charlottetown area.

We hope to be of service again in the future!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed in The Sonata Inn for 4 days in mid-June 2010. It was my best ever hotel experience! Very quiet, clean and friendly inn. Prime location. Convenient parking. Public computer. Homely hot breakfasts. Moderate-priced, in addition to the above. What else to wish?!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Thank you for mentioning the location, quietness, and breakfasts! It was a joy having you here with us.

I hope your family has a smooth, and safe immigration process to Prince Edward Island! Come visit us sometime in the off season!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
The Sonata inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I booked two rooms at The Sonata Inn for a 6 night stay on PEI. We used Charlottetown as our base to explore PEI. The Inn was immaculate. The rooms were well furnished and extremely clean. We were very pleased with the accommodation. The Inn is also very well positioned within Charlottetown. We took advantage of the free parking at the Inn and walked everywhere within the town, particularly in the evenings when we were looking for something to eat and drink. I would definitely recommend The Sonata Inn to anyone wanting to stay in Charlottetown, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thanks for the positive review. I appreciate you mentioning the location. It's nice to hear how happy guests are, when they can just park their car in our parking lot, and just walk into town to enjoy all the festivities in downtown Charlottetown.

We appreciated your stay here, and look forward to your return!!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag,
Innkeeper,
The Sonata Inn,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We were four nights here in July. The place was very clean, the location was ideal (just next to the city center, still very peaceful), the room was spacious, the staff was friendly, breakfast was very good... I was here with my girlfried, and the the small wooden house was more romantic than an ordinary hotel, I think. I just can't say anything bad about this place. There was only one computer for browsing internet, but it was always unoccupied...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thank you for you positive review! It is such a treat to hear that our place had a "romantic," feel to it! We're so happy you had a great time here!

Yes, there is only one computer, and sometimes this creates line ups. However, I think most people bring their laptops to take advantage of the free WiFi we offer, so typically, the public computer doesn't get too congested!

We hope to see you again sometime, thank you for visiting us all the way from Finland!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag,
Innkeeper,
The Sonata Inn,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

We were thrilled with our stay at The Sonata Inn. Mike and Amy at the Reception Desk were very welcoming and made us feel right at home. We wanted to reserve seats for the play Anne of Green Gables and within a few minutes of checking in, Mike had made an online booking for us. My husband wanted to play some rounds of golf in the Charlottetown area and again, within a few minutes we had all the information. The inn overall is beautifully furnished and no detail has been spared for the guests' comfort. Our room was extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept on anywhere - like sleeping on a cloud with soft white sheets and pillowcases. We were on the second floor with close access to the guests' kitchen where you could help yourself to tea and coffee, with delicious cookies, throughout the day and evening. Next door was a guest lounge with a library and a desktop with internet access. Our room included two double beds, futon, a large walk-in closet with shelving, a desk and a bathroom that included lovely toiletries and an excellent professional hair dryer. Breakfast was full of variety and the main course changed every day. You could help yourself to fresh juices, tea, coffee, numerous cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, bagels, bread, croissants and the best freshly baked blueberry muffins on the planet as well as the Island's famous home made tea biscuits. The main course was served hot from the kitchen. Mmmm, all delicious. The location is superb - 2 short blocks to the downtown area, Confederation Theatre and Victoria Row which is a pedestrian thoroughfare with 4 or 5 excellent restaurants and a stage on the street for live music in the evenings. Unless we were going further afield, we never had to use the car. I highly recommend The Pilot House Restaurant and Bar just up the street, about a 3 minute walk. The food was excellent.
I did a lot of research on the internet and through Trip Advisor before booking The Sonata and can say we were extremely happy with the choice. We stayed for three nights and wish it had been longer but we were moving on to Cavendish Beach. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thank you for your positive, and detailed review! It is such a treat to hear someone exclaim how comfortable the beds are! Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to the city (close walking distance to all the shops and attractions in downtown Charlottetown,) and thank you for mentioning the "mmmm delicious," breakfast!

The furniture is brand new, and we're so happy that you felt so comfortable here!

We hope to see you again sometime!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag,
Innkeeper,
The Sonata Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

Very satisfied with our stay at the Inn. Based our choice on reviews we read and we were not disappointed. Go for it. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonatainn, Owner at The Sonata Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thanks for the positive review!! We appreciate all feedback, and we hope to see you again sometime!

Cheers!
Mike van der Gaag,
Innkeeper,
The Sonata Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonata Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.