We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sonata Inn - Charlottetown, PE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Sonata Inn to your Saves list
The Sonata Inn
3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Charlottetown
Kinzers, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Sonata Inn - Charlottetown, PE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Sonata Inn was nice. Very clean and comfortable. Good service. Great location too. We walked the town every night (all of it!). Please try the pizza place called Peppers.....Great pizza.

The Inn is a busy little place. Not quite a B&B, but close. Our one complaint was the breakfasts. Not like the normal extravagant breakfasts that many B&B's provide.

More like something from a Hamton Inn. It would be great if they offered two hot choices
for guests. We felt a little slighted with the offerings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    44
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
88
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We traveled with another couple and spent three of the 12 nights of our vacation at the Sonata Inn. During the trip, we also spent 2 nights at a major hotel chain and the remainder of the trip at 2 bed-and-breakfasts in other cities. The location of the Sonata Inn was very good, and rooms were very clean. The staff was cheerful and helpful for basic inn-related activities though were not well informed about PEI and Charlottetown activities. Our rooms were in the newer part of the inn and although larger than many, had very little character or charm. The breakfasts were average, a small hot dish plus cold pastries, cereal and fruit, with place settings including plastic placemats and corelle dinnerware. The ice maker in the common refrigerator failed during our stay, and the hosts quickly responded to requests for ice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our stay at the Sonata Inn was a wonderfull experience.
Room was spacious and well appointed. Staff were courteous and very helpful.
The included breakfast was very good and lauandry facilities where a bonus.
The Sonata Inn is in an excellent location only minutes walk to restaurants, cafes and theatres.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

No complaints. We had a comfortable room within easy walking distance to town. Our room was good sized with a small bathroom attached. Breakfasts were decent. We were asked if we had any dietary restrictions, but I'm not sure why as breakfast was a first come first serve affair and I'm not sure how they would have kept track of who couldn't eat what.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

From our friendly and helpful welcome at the front desk to our well appointed room, well, we felt like we belonged in Charlottetown. The house is beautiful - lots of wonderful architectural details and our room was very well appointed and comfortable. The morning breakfast was good and filling. The house is located centrally within easy walking distance of a great selection of restaurants. (Try the Old Dublin Pub - nightly east coast entertainment.) Both Dale and Mike went out of their way to help us. Mike was especially valuable as we decided to stay another night in Charlottetown and, although he couldn't accommodate us, he thought nothing of helping us find another place to stay. He's a gem! Book yourself in and enjoy all that PEI has to offer!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the front bedrooms on the 2nd floor. Good space. Close to free internet, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dachau, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

When the place you call home is an ocean away from where you want to visit it is not an easy task to find a great place to stay. After googling tons of B&B possibilities we finally settled on the Sonata Inn and we were not disappointed, quite the opposite, we were in fact very pleasantly surprised. The B&B is kept in great shape, the rooms are spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. But best of all was the friendly, always available staff. Every question was thoughtfully answered, every request taken care off. The homemade breakfast and the library with free internet access topped it all off. Enjoy Charlottetown!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Confused by the 5-circle reviews, this place is average at best. Nice room, clean bedding, good AC, descent bathroom, proper amenities, friendly staff. Overall, lots of positives, but there is nothing about the Sonata Inn that makes me feel it's above standard on any level.

There are plenty of negatives. The place smells musty on a warm day. Carpets were stained in my room. Shower pressure is dysmal. Breakfast quite poor.

Since this is technically a B&B, the breakfast should be a highlight. We were there for two days one was a crepe that was dried from sitting under a heat lamp complimented by equally dehydrated sausage. The other was a bland pancake. Both served with profoundly under-ripened fruit, bad coffee, and canned oj. The one pastry I grabbed from the side table was stale.

Nothing wrong with average, but the reviews I've read about it make me thing standards might be a bit low on PEI.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonata Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.