We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cleanest place I have ever stayed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sonata Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Sonata Inn to your Saves list
The Sonata Inn
3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Cleanest place I have ever stayed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have to say that I am a bit of a hotel snob, and was a little leary of staying at a bed and breakfast, but the Sonata Inn is by far the best place I have ever stayed. It was easy to find once in Charlottetown. The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond when accomadating the needs of myself, my sister and my 9month old niece. We stayed there for 3 nights and the room was exceptional. The beds were very comfortable, and the breakfasts were great. I would recomend this property to anyone and when I go back to PEI I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    45
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
89
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We picked this B&B not only for its location, but for its modern accommodations and amenities. Not being familiar with PEI (we are from the States) we trusted TripAdvisor and my fellow contributors came through once again.
• This B&B was walking distance to downtown, restaurants, and attractions.
• Our room was quiet and we prefer the modern furnishings to the more Victorian-styled B&B's where you can't find your bed for all the decorative pillows piled on it.
• We had a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi throughout the facility (important when you are paying out-of-the country data fees). There was also a PC for use in one of the common areas.
• The one thing lacking was a porch with chairs to spend a quiet hour in the afternoon.
• One of the best amenities however was the take-away breakfast. We had to leave fairly early our last morning to make a ferry connection. The Inn's website said to just let them know and they would pack a take-away breakfast. Well - - they did. In the morning coffee and tea in disposable cups were available as well as a gift bag for each room with our breakfast which included juice boxes, individual cans of fruit cup, muffins, and best of all hardboiled eggs! This made a much superior meal to what we could have bought at the ferry snack bar.
Thanks Sonata Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very good location, quiet and easy access to town. The room are very clean and well maintained. We stayed there for six days and enjoyed every breakfast we had. The staff are very friendly and the manager, Mike, is very helpful. In the morning we left, he prepared breakfast bags for all of us on the way. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Sonata Inn turned out to be a fantastic choice for me and my husband (we found it randomly online). It's very clean, with modern bedrooms and bathrooms but, still retains it's historic charm. Wi-fi, a lovely breakast,reading/sun room with DVDs, books, magazines - all included. The location turned out to be perfect, minutes walk away from all the restaurants, shops, the water, Victoria Park etc. (I would recommend The Pilot House as a resto). If I retun to PEI - I'll be sure to stay there again! We only stayed one night, and wished we could have stayed another!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great room, comfortable bed. Excellent location in Charlottetown: the street is quiet yet a short walk to Queen with lots of good bars and eateries, as well as to Victoria park and the boardwalk. Breakfast was well prepared. Good assortment of teas. Overall, very clean and neat.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is listed as a B&B but this is more like a small hotel because it offers so many facilities. It is in a perfectly lovely old house, but converted into multiple accommodation with an added extension on the back. I reserved this from the Information Centre at Wood Islands so I was pleasantly surprised when I actually arrived as it was better than the photos. On top of this its location is perfect, it is so easy to walk around the town centre and is close to the park as well. Although it is more than a one room B&B the staff were very friendly and helpful keeping some sense of the personal touch. My room was not in the original house and it was huge, with one bed and a futon, for only me! And the best bit was that it was only $99 (plus that inevitable tax) which was one of the cheapest I paid at the height of the summer season. This was so lovely I stayed an extra night, I loved this place and would recommend it, something I don't often do. If this is full they have another B&B two doors down, obviously I have not stayed there but if it was anything like Sonata it will be equally lovely. It was so clean, tidy and with a lovely style.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent one night here and wished we had planned more nights. The room was large, the beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was probably the cleanest bathroom I've ever seen. It was nice that our grandson could run around in the yard and we could keep an eye on him. The location is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sonata Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sonata Inn

Address: 3 Grafton Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself into the rhythm of relaxation, here at The Sonata Inn. Our rooms suit to soothe the weariest of travelers, coming to Prince Edward Island. Let us expose you to the warmth of Charlottetown’s atmosphere, as you settle into one of our charming rooms, basking in a unique, home-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Sonata Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sonata Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sonata Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.