We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Province House National Historic Site of Canada

Province House National Historic Site of Canada
165 Richmond St. | Corner of Univeristy Ave and Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 5V8, Canada
902-566-7626
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Architectural Buildings, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The birthplace of Confederation and the seat of PEI's provincial legislature since 1847, Province House National Historic Site is Charlottetown's most significant cultural landmark. Walk in the footsteps of the Fathers of Confederation as you learn about the history of this magnificent example of neo-classical architecture and see how it remains a centre of political life for Islanders today.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
143 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“I love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have been coming to Prince Edward Island every year since 1998. One of the first things we like to do every year is visit Province House. . Although this year we had to wait until our second visit to town on Tuesday, since it is no longer open on weekends. There is no charge to visit. You visit at your own pace. There are guides to answer your questions. The first thing you must do before visiting the building is watch the 17 minute movie wonderfully narrated by Laurier LaPierre. I love this movie. Some years I make more than one visit to this building just to see the movie again. I am not Canadian, but after viewing this movie, I always very proud of my country's neighbor to the North.

Everybody, but certainly every Canadian, should visit this building and "walk the same halls" as did John A. Macdonald, George-Etienne Cartier, and the other founders of Canada as they had the first debates that lead to the formation of Canada. It is wonderful to see the room where these debates took place. You can also view the beautiful library, the clerk's office and the chamber where the Prince Edward Island legislature still meets. There are also a couple of rooms with picture and displays to read. At the end you might want to see the movie again and/or visit the gift shop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    76
    17
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Confederation Beginnings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We enjoyed the brief film that gave a historical overview of the meeting between the politicians that provided the groundwork in establishing our country.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Well worth the time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I would not visit PEI without scheduling some time here. You get a real sense of history about the island and the video is very well done. The live actors also do a fantastic job. Reminded us of the old statehouse building in Springfield IL. Nice bookstore and the staff are super friendly. Don't miss this...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
442 reviews 442 reviews
154 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
“The Video is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nicely restored building with a tonne of history.

The Charlottetown Conference, which led to the founding of the Dominion of Canada in 1867, was held here.

The video, narrated by former Senator Laurier LaPierre, is one of the best I've seen in this kind of venue.

And, believe me, I've seen lots of them.

Brings the story of the conference to life. Most interesting was that 'the Canadians' invited themselves. It was originally to be a conference of the three maritime provinces Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick, to discuss a possible union. John A. Macdonald, George Etienne-Cartier, George Brown and others sailed in to represent Upper and Lower Canada. And were graciously welcomed. The rest is history.

Take a self-guided tour of the building. The PEI Legislative Assembly meets here. You see the spot where the conference was held. Some art, some artifacts.

Really, really interesting. Free.

And be sure to see that video! (If only they'd taught history like that when I was in school!)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
“Nice stop if interested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I like visiting Provincial Houses so I stopped in here. There's quite a bit of history in this building. Unfortunately there is a fee to enter, which I think is not necessary. It's a short self-guided tour but a beautiful building.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Province House National Historic Site of Canada also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Province House National Historic Site of Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Province House National Historic Site of Canada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.