We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Garden Gate Inn to your Saves list
Garden Gate Inn
639 University Avenue | Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Charlottetown
Millbrook, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

Yes this is not the Hilton, but the price definately makes this a worthwhile stay. The room was spacious, clean and had some amenities not usually provide. The receptionist was very pleasant and informative, with a great recommend for supper at Papa Joes.( great homestyle meals ). Definately recommend a stay for families, travellers, and vacationers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
21
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were originally attracted to the price of this place, but after staying there we learned that it was not even worth that. The room smelt really musty and damp. The building is older and is in desperate need of updating. Everything is older and a little dingy. However if that was all that was wrong with it, I wouldn't be writing this review. After sleeping on an old mattress I tried to shower. The water system is clearly not made for a motel. I have never had a worse shower in my life. The water went from scalding hot to frigid cold in a split second and continued to do this the entire time I was trying to shower. I got burnt a couple of times. I had to turn the shower head to the wall and just splash my body with water from my hands instead of actually showering because the difference in the temperatures was so drastic I couldn't risk burning my skin anymore, or freezing it for that matter.
Terrible experience

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

Garden Gate Inn was an excellent motel for the price! Our kids were attending a summer camp at UPEI and the campus was within walking distance. Also, all the motel is close to many restaurant, shopping store, grocery stores, theatres, etc... Our room was amazing!!! Garden Gate Inn has recently added a new building with an upper suite (huge!!) and two lower smaller suites! We were blown away. We stayed in the upper suite which was much better and much larger than any room you would get at a chain hotel! Definitely, enquire about the new suites if you are planning a trip to Charlottetown!! Staff were extremely gracious and helpful! We will post pictures when we get home!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I usually stay at chain hotels (Fairfield Inns, Extended stay, etc,) but they are lacking in this area. I was booked and stayed at another hotel in the area when I passed the Garden Gate Inn. I drove by and it looked nicer than where i was staying and it was substantially less money. I changed hotels and was very happy! The rooms were clean, there was a fridge and it's the first hotel/motel i ever stayed in that I would consider actually taking a bath in the tub. The people were friendly. For the type of "motel" I would give it a 5. It's not a Marriot, so don't expect all the amenities, but it was clean, quiet, good location, had a fridge and it was not terribly expensive. What more could you ask for?

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Stayed one night with 2 other friends. Had a fantastic experience with the friendly woman at the front desk, the size of the room and the price. Very clean and comfortable, and the woman went out of her way to make us feel welcomed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
489 helpful votes 489 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Booked through the PEI tourism association who advertised the rate at $65 for a queen suite, but were charged $79 (which is the highest advertised price on the hotel's website - yet this was the off season). The room was musty and the window didn't open. We requested the queen suite and were told we would be in room #19. When we arrived we were given room 23, which we were told was an upgrade. The "queen" suite only had a double bed, not a queen. As well we were told there would be a kitchenette with a full-sized fridge. There was no kitchenette and only a mini-fridge. The dining table was not level and one of the chairs was wobbly. The room, however, was clean. There is wifi in the room. The motel is conveniently located near the TC highway and thus not convenient to the downtown core, unless you have a car.

  • Disliked — musty, window didn't open, no full sized fridge, only a double bed
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

Stayed one night at the Garden Gate Inn a drive in motel along University Avenue. We had a two bed room; the beds were comfortable and everthing was very clean. It was pretty basic but had a fridge, tv, kitchen table with two chairs and couch. There is a lovely green space with chairs and a swing for guests.

  • Liked — Convenient for the airport and shopping prior to a house rental.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Inn

Address: 639 University Avenue | Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests love our Charlottetown location in a quiet, garden-like setting just off the main road, five minutes drive to all the attractions of downtown. A short stroll takes you to restaurants, coffee shops and the city's biggest shopping centre and movie theatre. The University of PEI and the Confederation Trail are nearby and access to golf courses and beaches is quick on the Bypass.Our rooms are ground level entry for ease of access, spacious, comfortable with air conditioning, fridge and optional kitchenette. Suites and premium rooms have microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel
Garden Gate Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.