We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest people you will ever meet !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden Gate Inn

Save Saved
You added Garden Gate Inn to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Gate Inn
639 University Avenue | Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Charlottetown
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nicest people you will ever meet !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here in August 14th of 2012, for a total of 4 days, and we found the staff totally awesome !!! Wonderful friendly people, eager to please, our room was always very clean, if we needed anything, we just had to asked. For a motel type room it was great !!! Plenty of space,with a nice bathroom, we were set to enjoy our time in PEI. It was easy to find, and within a reasonable amount of drive time to the downtown area. Too far to walk, but there are buses, and the drive is not that far !!. We would definitly stay here,, should we ever plan on visiting the PEI area again. And we most definitly plan to !!! If you have never been here, you must go !!! PEI is a Beautiful place to visit !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjoanpei, Owner at Garden Gate Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to tell others about your visit to PEI and your stay at the Garden Gate Inn. Your compliments are an encouragement for our staff and a great way to kick off the new year for us as owners. We pride ourselves in the changes and updates we have made to the Inn since making it our retirement project over 20 years ago and the new section you stayed in was designed by us to ensure comfort and convenience away from the busyness of the area. We hope you come back and send us many more visitors. It was a pleasure to look after you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
19
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The inn is easy to find and in a great location...on one of the main arteries into (and out of) the city but is tucked away from the road so you don't hear any of the traffic. Once you pull of the road you are in the country setting, not next door to the big box stores.
Our room was in the house at the far end of the hotel; 2 bedroom suite. It was large,VERY CLEAN, and included a full kitchen.
The office is decorated with many antiques.
There is a large grass area, including a wooden chair swing, adjacent to the Inn. The staff were very friendly and efficient. We highly recommend this place and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjoanpei, Owner at Garden Gate Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are delighted you decided to stay at the Garden Gate Inn with us last year and are not surprised you enjoyed the lovely apartment we have created in the new addition to the property. We took great care with the design and furnishings and have had glowing reports from guests who have stayed there ( who have not taken the time to write a rave review like you- we thank you heartily for doing so!) We are glad that, like so many others, you appreciate our secluded location even although we are right on the major artery into town- so you benefit from the convenience of being close to the malls and are still only a short drive from the historic city centre and the waterfront boardwalk. We appreciate the comments about the garden - the swing is well used, as are the benches at everyone's front door and the new flower bed we planted close to it is a joy right from the first blooms in the spring. Come back for another visit - or better yet- send us your family and friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Waterford, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed at the Graden Gate Inn twice this summer in July and again in August. The accdommodations were excellent for the price. The first time i stayed in the motel part and the second time i stayed in the house. The place was very clean and the service was excellent. The gardens were very beautiful and the staff take pride in looking after them. The staff at this motel were fantastic they go above and beyond to look after their guest. It is a very quiet place to stay but it is very close to everything you need for your stay on the island. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone looking for accommodations. A special hi to Faye and the girls hope to see you again next year for the country fest 2013. And if you need a taxi while staying there i recommend calling Goods taxi service and ask for Ray. He is the best cab driver anyone can ask for tell him the trivia queen recommended him.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjoanpei, Owner at Garden Gate Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
There is nothing we like more at the Garden Gate than repeat customers who enjoy their stay and spread the word about the accommodations we offer which are excellent value all year round. We are very proud of our staff and the way they handle our guests and cater to their needs. Nothing is too much trouble and this year especially we are planning to improve our level of service beyond expectations. We know our property is a home away from home for those who stay with us- one of the advantages of being a family run operation- you never find a stranger at the front desk!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colrain, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a typical Motor Inn from the 1970s. They seem very proud of their flower gardens and hanging plants. The room itself lacked most amenities, including an alarm clock. Very small bathroom. Very quiet for being next to a major road and a mall.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyjoanpei, Owner at Garden Gate Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We took over the Garden Gate when it was already 10 years old and have invested every year in updates which include new beds, refurbished bathrooms, laminate hardwood floors, airconditioners, fridges and telephones as well as free internet but at the same time we have controlled our rates to cater to the budget traveller or those who do not want to splurge on frills. Guests can pick up hairdryers and alarm clocks at the front desk, we offer free ice and the sheer joy of ground level entry to all rooms- you can park at your door. Our improvements to the property are incremental and ongoing and we have added new spaces which are much sought after by our regular customers. For those willing to spend some extra dollars, we offer housekeeping units which are suitable for longer stays and also for residents in the winter.
We are really glad you provided us with the opportunity to respond to your review. Thankyou for taking the time to share your impressions with our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at the Garden Gate Inn for two nights in mid-September. The inn is easy to find and in a great location...on one of the main arteries into (and out of) the city but in a quiet part of it. Our room was in the house at the far end of the hotel; if I remember correctly, he called it one of their suites. It was large, very clean, and included a small kitchenette. One last note: antique lovers will adore the main office of the inn! We highly recommend this place and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My aunt and I stayed here for two nights. The location was excellent - not too far from the airport, not too far from downtown Charlottetown, and with easy access to the highway. It's a very quiet motel, despite being just off the highway. The room was very clean and comfortable, although a bit warm until we turned on the air conditioning. There is also a pleasant garden with picnic tables - a nice place to relax when the weather is good. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston, nb canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hard to believe rooms so quiet on the main street into Charlottetown. We always stay here. The decor is different in each room and the housekeeping is immaculate. Free wi-fi,telephone,cable and micro fridge.

All major stores within walking distance as well as restaurants.

Room Tip: There is more space in rooms with a single bed. Room numbers 23 and 24 are off an indoor hallway wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Gate Inn

Address: 639 University Avenue | Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests love our Charlottetown location in a quiet, garden-like setting just off the main road, five minutes drive to all the attractions of downtown. A short stroll takes you to restaurants, coffee shops and the city's biggest shopping centre and movie theatre. The University of PEI and the Confederation Trail are nearby and access to golf courses and beaches is quick on the Bypass.Our rooms are ground level entry for ease of access, spacious, comfortable with air conditioning, fridge and optional kitchenette. Suites and premium rooms have microwaves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Garden Gate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Gate Hotel
Garden Gate Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.