We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“frequently visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
515 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario, Canada (City Centre)
519-254-1646
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 640 restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cross street: Ferry Street
Tecumseh, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“frequently visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

can always get a consistent meal here, service is always great as well. Need a reservation though especially on weekends. I like to eat earlier as the later you eat the noisier it will be. We were there on Saturday(group of 13) and by 8pm we were shouting to talk to eachother. Bar area is also large but noisier than the dining room. Everyones meals were great!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    56
    36
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Family tradition when family comes to town to go to the Keg, Howard Ave. In Aug/13, it was closed for reno's. We made reservations for R'side Dr. Arrived & were seated at a huge table...there were 5 of us ! Asked to be moved to a smaller table, that was done, despite a look of annoyance from the hostess. Received menu's, ordered bottles of wine, and Lobster sampler as an appetizer. Personally think it was undercooked, very watery. Ordered salads, and meal.
Main course delivered before salad plates cleared away, plates just put on table. This experience was unsettling.......felt like we were being rushed. Several plates dropped, very noisy, someone yelling from the kitchen during our dinner ! Sure hope Howard Ave opens soon !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Fine Example of the Keg Chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We ate at the Keg while staying in Windsor. It was a short walk from our hotel, and for a Saturday night, we only had to wait 10 minutes for a seat. Service was very friendly, from the bartender to the waitstaff.

We had the Bacon Wrapped Scallops and both had the Keg Classic Dinners. All was very good. The steak was cooked prefect, as were the potatoes and vegetables. With the appetizer, bread and meal, it was almost too much food.

The pricing was very reasonable for the quality and amount of food that we had. We've had mixed results with Keg Restaurants throughout Canada, but the Windsor location is definately one of the better locations we're visited,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Loved the Prime Rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my first visit to this Keg location in Windsor and had the same great meal and service I have enjoyed at other locations around the country. Although the menu is extensive, I always choose the classic prime rib meal. It includes a choice of salad, plus choice of potatoes, and vegetables and sautéd mushrooms. My husband had the prime rib and lobster tail and loved his meal as well. Sadly, no room for dessert.

This Keg also has a great view of the Detroit River Skyline and parking is complimentary. I will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistent good food...but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went here for our anniversary. We ordered our usual, the teriyaki steak, but were disappointed to find it very chewy. There were parts we couldn't eat. The waitress however, handled this extremely well and we were not charged for our dinners, very nice of her. As well, she brought glasses of champagne to our table and her cheerful and upbeat manner really saved the evening for us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;