We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasic sushi & service, awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hikari

Hikari
345 Victoria Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 4M7, Canada (City Centre)
(519) 255-7711
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 638 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: City Centre
Barrie
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fantasic sushi & service, awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Located in a 2 storey white house on Victoria Ave, Hikari has a wonderful décor and attentive staff. We dropped in without reservations last Friday and did get a nice table close to the sushi chefs, our server was prompt and friendly with us. They have great selection of sushi rolls, sashimi, and nigiri, plus many other Japanese dishes. If I lived nearby this would be my #1 go-to place, as quite honestly the freshness and quality and value exceeded my current favourite sushi place back home. Highly recommend to all ! Kampi

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“My go to Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I've been going to Hikari for several years, more for lunch than for dinner. I find the sushi to always be fresh and the size of the pieces to be perfect. The prices are above average but reasonable. They also have more than one type of sake to choose from. I just love the way they make their miso soup and the ginger dressing on the salad is very good as well.

Nap is my favourite server - she always goes the extra mile.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

It was pretty good and was in an adorable little house. It was darkly lit, but it wasn't bad. The waitress was very nice too. There's no parking though, we had to park a couple block away and walk.

Were used to all you can eat sushi places so we had to pay attention more to what we were ordering. A little on the pricy side but the food was really good. I would go back if we were in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible, Overpriced and Overated!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Got takeout for my fiances birthday, having tried Tenka and the California I thought we would try a more "upscale place" This place let down so far, poorly packed rolls which were tiny. The platters are "chefs choice" and we got no speciality rolls, just really basic stuff. We were also jipped a 9.00 salad. Do not eat here overrated

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Favorite place For sushi in Windsor. It's always fresh, filling and super tasty! They are consistent and it's just a great atmosphere. Great prices!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hikari also viewed

 

Been to Hikari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hikari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.