We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owner - food good but different from before” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eat in Thailand - CLOSED

Eat in Thailand
Windsor, Ontario, Canada (City Centre)
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: City Centre
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: City Centre
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“New owner - food good but different from before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

New owner pleasant, accommodating. New decor very green. Better prices. Good food. It is difficult for me to be fair because I loved and miss the mango salad, cashew shrimp and mango sticky rice from prior chef. Would go back but just to say to ignore prior reviews of this place because the cooking is very different from before. It's good but not crazy wonderful like before.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Its authentic but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently we visited Eat in Thailand for something different. The other comments regarding the restaurant are very much accurate. There was only one other family dining while we were there. The food and service were both very good.

BUT our issue came with our bill. During our meal we were offered white rice, which we believed to be complimentary. Have never been to an Asian restaraunt where we were charged for rice with our meal. Also didn't know there was a charge for tap water. Not sure if there was a water shortage in downtown Windsor that evening. To summarize the food was authentic and tasty but the trickery with the bill we didn't appreciate!

Not sure if we will return to have our combo upsized not knowing until checkout. Lesson of the experience always read your bill.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like Thai food this is the place to go!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our family has eaten at this restaurant numerous times. The food is excellent, and the staff is very friendly and helpful in selecting the perfect dish for us. There is nothing that I didn't like about this restaurant.

Joyce t

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We love Eat in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is truly authentic Thai cuisine. If you appreciate true Thai then this is the place for you. If you are simply looking for Pad Thai, then there are many other places that are willing to cater to you. If you have a refined palette please visit them.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
350 helpful votes 350 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food in a simple setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were looking for a new dining experience with good food and a friend suggested Eat in Thailand. When the 4 of us got to the restaurant just after 6pm there was only 1 couple in the restaurant finishing up their meal. In a matter of moments we had the place to ourselves. We were waited on promptly and went through the multiple page menu. There was an excellent selection of appetizers, soups, noodle dishes and meat items. We ordered the spring rolls, 6 so great for sharing and they were excellent. Crispy and flavorful. We also had the squid salad which was tender and spiced wonderfully. Enough of a kick but not outrageous. For our meals we got a variety of items including shrimp Phat Thai, stir fried beef with green beans, deep fried garlic pork, and grilled chicken with sauce. Everything was served as it was finished cooking so we didn't get everything at once. It really wasn't a big deal. We didn't realize until after we had gotten our meals that we had to order steamed or sticky rice separately. We will know for the next time because we will definitely be going back again!! After we were finished our meals we had a visit from our cook. She asked how everything was and she got raves all around. For good Thai cuisine at decent prices give it a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat in Thailand also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat in Thailand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.