We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The original.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taloola Cafe

Taloola Cafe
396 Devonshire Rd., Windsor, Ontario N8Y 2L4, Canada (Walkerville)
254-6652
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 639 restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The original.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Been a Friend of Taloola since '07.
Best food ever.
It's not all vegan and not all vegetarian.
Vegans shush and pick the bird food quietly and humbly.
I hate the poor journalism that poops on my fav nest!
Don't be a snob, love every little detail in there. Me and my Friend started it ;~)

Ps the obscure lemon poppyseed cake is ta dye for!! Yummy yummy xoxo

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    46
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I do not look like the average Customer for this establishment. The woman said a warm hello, but watched my wife and I for the entire time we were there. All and all we enjoyed our visit...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A regular lunch spot for the girls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I visit Taloola a few times a month with my girlfriends. We consistently have great food here. Lots of vegan/vegetarian options, but lots of options otherwise as well. They pull it all off great. Try the fresh teas or lemonades. Anything, really. Love the tofu wrap with extra dressing. Mmmmm...

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food is consistently good, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Can't give enough stars to Taloola. We drive in from 30 miles away to eat here several times
a week, service always prompt, food never disappoints, in fact it is delicious! Atmosphere is
casual, place order at counter, find your table and they will do the rest. Everything made in
house which in my opinion is getting pretty darn hard to find in Windsor, most food delivered by
the restaurant supply house and microwaved and served - well not at Taloola! Mostly
fabulous salads, soups, sandwiches to die for and deserts, nothing will disappoint! Love
this spot! ..and they have a small outside patio that is delightful too! Love to sit there with a
glass of wine and the breeze off the river!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north america
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No place like it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I had our first date here. Our cat is named after this famous Windsor cafe. They have the BEST organic loose leaf CHAI tea here ( + others you can purchase). Their desserts and healthy, unique + delicious. Lavender shortbreads, pecan tarts, cookies, desserts, etc. Their sandwiches are flavorful and affordable. Breakfast is very nice and reasonable. They accommodate gluten free + vegan diets.

MY ONLY COMPLAINT is their water! They have delicious organic coffees, teas + homemade lemonades, etc, but they don't filter their water! Please get a water filter, Taloola, your beverages would be a whole lot tastier!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taloola Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Taloola Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taloola Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.