We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Italian!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spago Ristorante Italiano

Spago Ristorante Italiano
690 Erie St E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3X9, Canada (Walkerville)
(519) 252-2233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 654 Restaurants in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I really don't have much else to say about this restaurant than has already been said, but it is one of the few places that still tempt us to cross the Detroit River. It is always tasty and the service is perfect. You have enough attention without the wait staff being over-bearing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    68
    17
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I love Spago.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We never miss a visit to this restaurant when we visit Windsor. It is one of the best Italian restaurants I have visited. The service is excellent, the atmosphere is very clean and comfortable and the food is consistently outstanding. Among my favorite dishes at the establishment are: Calamari Alla Griglia (dinner portion... an appetizer is simply not enough of this wonderful flavour), Rigatoni Quattro Formaggi and Scaloppine Della Nonna, though everything I have tried from the menu is superb. The portions are perfect and the prices are very reasonable for such amazing quality. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Windsor, ON.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
152 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“wonderful place.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was here with a friend who said this was his favorite restaurant in this italian restaurant
district of windsor--I could see why--the ambiance was incredible--the waiters were great--
loved the smell of the place--we had broiled calamari (which was not batter coated) & the
pasta with clam sauce--both were excellent--the prices are reasonable--a glass of good wine
was $4.75--the meal had a lovely fresh salad included--we will be back......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Excelllent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful food, authentic, fresh, and beautifully presented. Atmosphere and service is just perfect. Always a great experience @ Spago, can't be beat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bruschetta to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were in Windsor for the day and went to Spago's for lunch. We ordered the Bruschetta and a garden salad to share. The salad was very fresh and there was lots of it. They used the most amazing dressing. It contained good olive oil and balsamic vinegar but overall had a sweet taste. We ate all of it. The bruschetta comes on thin crust pizza cut into sections. The crust was light and not overcooked. The tomatoes were seasoned just right. A thoroughly delicious entree. I hope they have Spago's bruschetta in heaven. The waiter was attentive and professional without being "in your face". There was an authentic Italian style decor and music as well as nice sunlight streaming in the windows.We will definitely be back next year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Spago Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spago Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.