We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Ristorante

Nico Ristorante
851 Erie Street East, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3Y7, Canada (Walkerville)
519-255-7548
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 642 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walkerville
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Amazing atmosphere ! Service is top of the line just ask for Giovanni !! The chefs are world class and i promise your meal will be made and served to perfection!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    14
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great family run local Italian restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

High quality, delicious Italian fare near the main hotels. Friendly, welcoming atmosphere with great selections of pasta, meat and seafood dishes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is my third trip in as many months to Nicos.the food and service continue to be Absolutely Amazing.My wife and I intend to try everything on the menu--it's Really that Good.

One word of caution, the dinning room is usually a buzz of very friendly chatter comparing the many appetizers,and entrees.

Great food,great service,and a friendly group of appreciative patrons.

If that isn't Nice? What is?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Food and Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The atmosphere was fabulous; small, quaint and well appointed. The service was great. And, the food was out of this world! I had a We started with grilled calamari that was perfectly cooked and delicious. I had a Veal dish and my husband had a seafood pasta as our main course and it was one of the best meals I've ever had. Then topped it off with Tiramisu that was out of this world. Definitely recommend this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Italian home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I live 850 km away from Windsor, but I never miss a chance to eat at Nico's when I'm in town (which is more often than you'd expect). In fact, I make a point of putting Windsor on my itinerary so that I can enjoy what is quite literally my favourite Italian restaurant anywhere. The experience starts when I call to book a table and they sound like they're genuinely looking forward to seeing me. And the table is always, "the best table in the house," which actually describes all the tables. The restaurant is smallish and cozy without being stuffy, and there's a terrific buzz of diners enjoying every bite.
I've never had a dish that wasn't wonderful, so it's hard to work out where to focus with the menu. My must-have item is definitely the grilled calamari, which melt in your mouth. The prawns in the Caesar salad are a yummy touch, and for sharing, the antipasto platter is a winner. Moving on to the pasta course is dangerous, since the portions are substantial on top of being uber-delicious. My husband's favourite is the bucatini a l-amatrciana, but I can't decide between the ciopinno and the gnocchi (they'll do a bit of each gnocchi sauce if you'd like). Unfortunately, you really you should leave room for one of the secundi (mains -- like the lamb duo), or at least the tiramisu. Fortunately, they'll pack up leftovers, so you could take home enough for lunch the next day.
The combination of atmosphere, amazing staff & Nico's genius in the kitchen, makes me want to eat there over and over again. In fact, I think it's time for another trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Nico Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.