We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cut above - a great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecroft Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stonecroft Inn to your Saves list
Stonecroft Inn
3032 Dougall Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S4, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A cut above - a great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The outside looks like a standard independant local motel, but the accommodation (recently renovated) and the friendly staff made a huge difference. I stayed in a single room and although it was on the small side, the lovely decor made it feel anything but small. The bed was comfortable and the walk in shower stall was great (as big as a bathtub, good water pressure).

Very comfortable and a very reasonable price. I hope to stay there again if business takes me to Windsor in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    29
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
28
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

We choose this motel due to limited availability of other motels/hotels in the city. We were pleasantly surprised at how helpful, pleasant and accommodating the staff were. From booking the room, to getting a call from them a few days prior to our arrival letting us know we would be upgraded to one of the newly renovated rooms due to a cancellation...which was fantastic! Modern decor & very clean, we especially loved the bathroom! We didn't get to see the unrenovated rooms, but I would definitely ask to stay in one of these rooms. The adjoining restaurant was excellent as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St0necroft-Inn, General Manager at Stonecroft Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
ElizeL_3, Thank You for the wonderful review.

Greg Brklacic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The rooms at the Stonecroft Inn have been recently renovated, and it shows. All the furnishings are modern, comfortable and clean and the fancy wallpaper, carpets and fixtures are also great. There's a flatscreen TV facing the bed.

The bathroom is spacious and clean and the shower is large with a good (fixed) showerhead.

The free wifi works great in the room and there is free hot breakfast as well, though I didn't wake up early enough for it (it was gone by 10:30).

The location is a little awkward unless you're driving, but otherwise, for the price, this is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: You might want to request a newly renovated room, though it sounds like they're just about done...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while in town for a birthday party. We got in late on Friday night and received a wonderful, warm welcome. Continental breakfast was very convenient, and our room was spotless and beautifully renovated. Awesome!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We were in town to visit family and do some bird watching. I am always a little dubious when the lodging is not a known chain. The Stonecroft was equal and in some ways superior to some of the higher end chains (Best Western Plus and others) Large modern rooms, extremely comfortable beds and a well above average bathroom. The included breakfast was as expected, although a lot of spots now have some hot items, so maybe they should look at that (waffles). The staff at check in and check out were casual, friendly and efficient. Just the way I like it. I think they like their jobs. All in all a 4.5/5 for us. Well done!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here while on business. The room was 'high-end'. Sleek and modern with a walk-in glass full sized shower and nice fixtures. There is nothing scenic about the view but it is conveniently located on road near typical chain stores and restaurants. The Internet worked well there is a modest breakfast, no-frills but room is where you're spending most of your time anyway and it's very pleasant. Ranked number two for a good reason.

Room Tip: Bottom floor has the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St0necroft-Inn, General Manager at Stonecroft Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
We really appreciate your comments, In regards to your room tip, all our rooms are fully renovated on the first and second floor and we are aiming to have all our king rooms renovated by August.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Windsor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had to make a trip down to Windsor over the Easter long weekend and my husband used Booking.com to find this hotel. It was apparently recently renovated and rated the 2nd best in Windsor after the casino downtown and was on the main drag coming into Windsor off the 401. It was also $ 40 per night cheaper than all of the other hotels/motels in the area. I wasn't expecting much, but figured it would at least give us a place to sleep for 3 nights.

We got there and saw that it was an older motel with a restaurant (Gilligan's) and we were expecting a mediocre stay. We checked in...the front lobby was okay. The hallway to the room was average.

But the room! WOW! Completely renovated, with a brand new stylish bathroom in black tile and marble, a new sink with chrome fixtures and a super HUGE shower. It was gorgeous....showroom home gorgeous.

The walls were freshly painted with really nice contemporary art on the walls, brand new furniture and BRAND NEW mattresses....they were plush! New sheets and duvets....just fabulous.

We had an in-room fridge and coffee maker...a nice TV and dresser, a desk and brand new ventilation/heat module.

So the room was great! The restaurant...Gilligan's....was an average looking diner-type restaurant, but the hamburgers were FABULOUS! I highly recommend the Monster Mac...I had it twice and they served it with steak-cut fries. YUM.

Gilligan's does not serve breakfast, but their lunch and dinner menu was quite substantial.

Additionally, next door is Capri Pizzeria....with the best pizza I have had in a while. Friendly friendly staff with a "medium" pizza being the size of a large! Great value.

When we go back in May, we're staying there again!

Room Tip: We were on the northside of the hotel on the ground floor. Room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St0necroft-Inn, General Manager at Stonecroft Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to share your perspective. We’re glad that we could make your stay feel great. We look forward to seeing you in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonecroft Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Inn

Address: 3032 Dougall Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stonecroft Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Inn Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonecroft Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.