We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor to your Saves list
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3995 Geraedt's Drive, Windsor, Ontario N9G 3C3, Canada (Formerly St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

we stayed here for superbowl XL, and will stay for game 7 nhl playoffs if it happens. It was clean and cheap with all basic amenities in good working order...with parking included. The students were very social and pleasant, even shared a few drinks with them.
If you choose a budget minded location in Windsor and you don't mind the 5km drive to downtown, this place must be considered a great option.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

We booked 2 nights through hotwire and tried to cancel once we found out it was a college dormitory. Hotwire wouldn't allow it, because they said it qualified as a hotel. Let no one be fooled - this is a college dormitory, replete with a lobby decorated with paper streamers and noisy, partying students at 1 a.m. Once you pass through the double doors into the residence-proper, you walk into a smelly, heavily stained carpeted hallway.

The dorm room kitchens have a fridge, microwave and table with 2 straight-backed wooden chairs. There are no utensils, plates, cutlery, and no coffeemaker. You get 2 drinking glasses in the kitchen and 2 plastic cups for the bathroom. Each bedroom has a double bed that has seen better days and a small tv. The closet is just an open space with a rod and a few plastic hangers.

We called about the noise outside that prevented us from going to sleep, but nothing was done. We used their common computer that very night and booked a real hotel for the next night. I've never been so glad to leave a place. We're going to recommend that hotwire consider it a hostel, not a hotel. We'll also be writing a letter to the college about their deceptive advertising, where they make it seem that it's a great place for travelers looking for a hotel at a cheap price.

I recommend this place to no one, except students enrolled at the college who wish to live in a typical on-campus dormitory.

  • Liked — Free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Spartan atmosphere, noise from partying students, hallways heavily soiled and smelly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed here while we were waiting to move into a condo, after our houses had been sold. We stayed for a week in March, went away for two weeks, came back here for two weeks late in March, and then spent a few days in April before our condo was ready.
The suites are great, with two bedrooms, a fridge and microwave, and full cooking facilities available on the ground floor in a common area. They also have a free breakfast included in the price.
We had no noise problems, the students were all behaving themselves, even on 'pub' nights. We did have a problem with the door lock but the management was right on it and fixed the problem as quickly as they could.
I will say this, though; they are not looking at any of the students misbehaving in the showers, the showers are so small only one person can bearly fit in and still have room to move and wash.
Other small picks; there is no CNN channel on the tv's and there is no supplied tv guide to tell you what channels can be seem.
Although it was winter we had the heat turned completely off in the unit and it was still in the mid-seventies all the time.
For a short term stay this has got to be the best bargain in town, and for a family it would be even better.

  • Liked — excellent price for short term stay
  • Disliked — no CNN on the tv
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

I went for my birthday and needed a cheap place to stay! It was great the staff is very friendly and so are the students! Its a two bed room suite with a kitchen and a big bathroom! If you need a place to stay while in windsor I RECOMMEND IT!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

My sister and I spent a week at St. Clair College during the Thanksgiving weekend and beyond. Of course it was quiet over the weekend and when the students came back it got a little less quiet. But I must recommend their staff for quick responses for any discomfort or noise, even at 3 a.m.
It was a 2 bedroom unit with a tv in each bedroom and huge bathroom with shower only. We got a greater discount for staying for a week that included free parking and continental breakfast each morning. The housekeeping staff were great and should be commended and tipped for helping out with all the little stuff and the front desk staff were always pleasant. It's not quite in the city proper but the spacious grounds and quiet location make up for that.
Next time I have to go to Windsor I will be booking St. Clair College for sure.

  • Liked — great rates and facilities for the price
  • Disliked — residing with student population
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2007

this is a college residence hall. If you are over 30 avoid the place.
it is noisy and students are coming and going all hours of the night. I was surprised by the noise and yelling in the corridors.

I finally gave up and checked out at 4 a.m.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — noisy. really a student dormitory pretending to be a conference center.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

I came up to Windsor last weekend for a guys weekend away and found the perfect place to stay in Windsor. The residence is in a perfect location and makes getting around the city very easy. the casino and downtown is close too, it's only a $15 cab ride. It was perfect too, because two guys can share a suite and each have their own private room still. I usually find downtown hotels to price gauge, so stay a little ways out and save money for the casino, restaurants, and bars. I would tell anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Address: 3995 Geraedt's Drive, Windsor, Ontario N9G 3C3, Canada (Formerly St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through to August, Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveler. We offer two bedroom suites, with a kitchenette equipped with a full-sized fridge and microwave. We also offer complimentary continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair College Residence And Conference Centre
St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre Hotel Windsor
St Clair College Residence Hotel
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.