We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor to your Saves list
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3995 Geraedt's Drive, Windsor, Ontario N9G 3C3, Canada (Formerly St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
lynden
1 review
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I think this is the most reasonable place a person/family can stay. It comes with a breakfast and is not far from shopping and decent restaurants. Would definitely stay here again, and would suggest it for others, Other colleges offer the same deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My son's soccer team booked this place for their recent tournament. Each room had two separate bedrooms with double beds, a kitchenette area with table, sink, counters, microwave, and fridge as well as a three piece bathroom with stand up shower. The room was clean but could have used some fresh paint but for the price and the knowledge that it is usually occupied by college students I couldn't complain. The team was able to have a bbq lunch outdoors as well as use the pool in an adjacent building. Staff was nice and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We booked a block of rooms while in town for our son's wedding and were very pleased. All the relatives could visit one another over breakfast and in their suites. Each suite had 2 separate bedrooms which was so nice for sharing with other couples and young children (rather than 2 doubles in the same room like most places). The continental breakfast included fruit and the food was plentiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

There are definitely some positives to this place. Great rate for what is really a two bedroom suite. Clean. Includes continental breakfast.

There are however too many negatives for me.
Very poor sound insulation - we were kept up, sometimes by people just using the stairs and not being particularly loud about it.
The nature of the place means they get groups - a large sports group of unruly children and their parents were there when we were. They ran up and down the halls screaming - their parents smoked in the non-smoking lounge. Management did ask them to be quiet, but after several complaints I believe guests should be told to be quiet or shown the door. They were just asked to be quiet repeatedly.
The internet would not work with our computer - several calls to the front desk didn't help since the person who might know how to help was never apparently available.
Voicemail code had to be reset several times and 46 old messages on one phone and 47 on the other (in the other bedroom, separate lines) had to be erased by us so we could receive messages. This took us quite awhile.
The room was stifling hot. The heat was off and the air conditioning must not have been turned on because it didn't work. Windows opened, but even though it was cool outside it remained incredibly hot and stuffy in the room.
At check in staff didn't inform me of anything - I had to ask when and where breakfast was.
Breakfast area is small and crowded. They ran out of things both mornings - bagels, milk.

Overall this place has tons of potential, but I can't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

My friend and I are two middleaged female tourists. We planned to be in Windsor for only a day and figured, "Why not? We don't travel to look at hotel rooms." The St. Clair was cheap, convenient, and a perfectly acceptable place to stay. We liked it.

Yes, it felt like a dorm, and yes, the towels and pillows were not super-fluffy. On the plus site, there was a kitchen with fridge and microwave, two bedrooms (both with TVs), and free (wired) internet with plenty of connections.

We had a car so we didn't need to walk to the sights and frankly it was nice not to discover that we'd booked a hotel in a seedy section of town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

we stayed here for superbowl XL, and will stay for game 7 nhl playoffs if it happens. It was clean and cheap with all basic amenities in good working order...with parking included. The students were very social and pleasant, even shared a few drinks with them.
If you choose a budget minded location in Windsor and you don't mind the 5km drive to downtown, this place must be considered a great option.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

We booked 2 nights through hotwire and tried to cancel once we found out it was a college dormitory. Hotwire wouldn't allow it, because they said it qualified as a hotel. Let no one be fooled - this is a college dormitory, replete with a lobby decorated with paper streamers and noisy, partying students at 1 a.m. Once you pass through the double doors into the residence-proper, you walk into a smelly, heavily stained carpeted hallway.

The dorm room kitchens have a fridge, microwave and table with 2 straight-backed wooden chairs. There are no utensils, plates, cutlery, and no coffeemaker. You get 2 drinking glasses in the kitchen and 2 plastic cups for the bathroom. Each bedroom has a double bed that has seen better days and a small tv. The closet is just an open space with a rod and a few plastic hangers.

We called about the noise outside that prevented us from going to sleep, but nothing was done. We used their common computer that very night and booked a real hotel for the next night. I've never been so glad to leave a place. We're going to recommend that hotwire consider it a hostel, not a hotel. We'll also be writing a letter to the college about their deceptive advertising, where they make it seem that it's a great place for travelers looking for a hotel at a cheap price.

I recommend this place to no one, except students enrolled at the college who wish to live in a typical on-campus dormitory.

  • Liked — Free continental breakfast
  • Disliked — Spartan atmosphere, noise from partying students, hallways heavily soiled and smelly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor

Address: 3995 Geraedt's Drive, Windsor, Ontario N9G 3C3, Canada (Formerly St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through to August, Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor offers a unique and affordable alternative to summer accommodations for the budget traveler. We offer two bedroom suites, with a kitchenette equipped with a full-sized fridge and microwave. We also offer complimentary continental breakfast daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Clair College Residence And Conference Centre
St Clair College Residence & Conference Centre Hotel Windsor
St Clair College Residence Hotel
Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence & Conference Centre - Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.