We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Welcoming Experience in Windsor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro's on Erie

Mauro's on Erie
999 Erie Street East, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3Y9 ‎, Canada
15199624596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 643 Restaurants in Windsor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Mauro's On Erie is a restaurant on Windsor's Via Italia that serves creative Italian cuisine in a cozy space with alluring contemporary vibes.
A TripAdvisor Member
“A Wonderful Welcoming Experience in Windsor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

On our first couples' trip to Windsor, Ontario, my husband and I met a fellow Chicagoan, Joe (our new best friend) who recommended Mauro's on Erie for dinner. Let me tell you, we were NOT disappointed.

From the time we arrived until we left 2hrs later, we were treated like family. The hostess Sharon, Tim (Mauro "2.0") and Mauro himself were so warm, friendly and accommodating. Our waitress Liz was amazing and her service was impeccable. The food and wine was outstanding. I had the shrimp fonduta, beet/goat cheese salad and 2 glasses of the Baco Noir wine (awesome recommendation, Tim :-) ). My husband enjoyed his crab cakes and beef tenderloin. For dessert, Mauro himself made a Nutella crepe which was decadent...so yummy, my husband ate the whole thing and I only had one bite =(..

Needless to say, we will be back and I'll be back with my girls.

A special thanks to Joe, Carolyn and the Mauro's on Erie's family for a wonderful and welcoming experience in Windsor! Love you guys

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    5
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Normal food - nothing really special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Normal food - nothing really special. A little bit overpriced, but still OK. Is it really number one in Windsor?????? I was expecting more based on all reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great fun, amazing time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

First time at the restaurant, loved the food and people.. Couldn't have asked for a better Saturday night. Will be returning soon :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to other reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to Mauro's on Saturday early evening for dinner. I picked this restaurant based on other reviews of restaurants in Windsor. The evening was to celebrate my boyfriends birthday.
We did not have a reservation, but we were warmly welcomed and seated right away, with no hesitation. The atmosphere was cozy and comfortable. It was nice to see families with small children as well as older couples all enjoying their meals. The staff was great and super friendly.
The food was DELICIOUS! We split the beef tenderloin and the orecchiette san marzano. They divided the meal onto two plates for us, the meat was perfectly cooked and the pasta was great! The flavor of the meat was so fresh, we wished we hadn't split it!
We will definitely be back to sample more menu items!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Home for the holidays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

"Oh there's no place like home for the Holidays............. We were meeting friends from Luna Pier MI and Windsor was a good half way place for both couples. We had raved about Mauro's and decided to meet there. They were really impressed and loved the ambience and we had not even had food yet!!
Our waiter Sergio was wonderful, attentive and very pleasant (we loved the hair). We were delighted to find out that Mauro and partner were there. We had not expected them to be (everyone needs a day off) As usual it was like coming home. Hugs and kisses and "great to see you". The food this time was, if possible, even better than our last visit.
We have just had an email from out friends to say how much they enjoyed it and how Mauro and his partner were every bit the host and hostess we had described and that we need to do this often. No argument from us!!
Thank you all at Mauro's for another fabulous visit and meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauro's on Erie also viewed

 

Been to Mauro's on Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro's on Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.