We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Night Out - November 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauro's on Erie

Mauro's on Erie
999 Erie Street East, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3Y9 ‎, Canada
15199624596
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 642 Restaurants in Windsor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Mauro's On Erie is a restaurant on Windsor's Via Italia that serves creative Italian cuisine in a cozy space with alluring contemporary vibes.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Girl's Night Out - November 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A group of friends make every effort to get together once a month over dinner and wine. Last night we met at Mauro's and had one of the best evenings ever. The service was impeccable, the food was absolutely delicious, and a real plus for us is that Mauro's offers several local wines ! We shared the "family-style" option and enjoyed an artisan plate, beet & goat cheese salad, beef short ribs, veal saltimbocca and green beans, risotto with shrimp and chorizo, and penne Arrabiatta, We paired all of this with Colio's Chardonnay and Cab/Merlot. Mauro himself came to the table a couple of times to ensure that all was well. This was a great evening with great friends getting together at a great restaurant !!
We'll be back !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    4
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

What a great experience! My boyfriend and I went for dinner on a Friday night and are going again tonight. Best calamari and tiramisu ever. The balance of the meal was fresh, tasteful and well thought out. The service was friendly, attentive and appropriate. Can't wait for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Went to Mauro's for lunch with my family yesterday. We were very impressed for several reasons...Great menu selection with traditional Italian dishes and more modern health conscious dishes. The food tastes great, the portions are very generous and the menu prices are a fair value. I would certainly return to Mauro's and suggest this restuarant to all friends and family. Mauro makes the best tiramisu I have ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I tried Mauro's and we were very pleased. Very attentive and personal service (Sergio was great!) and excellent food. Good range of choices from pizza to upscale main courses.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“We found him again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We knew Mauro from a previous restaurant in our home town and were sad to find that he had left. That restaurant had gone down from the time that Mauro was there. We enquired as to where he had gone and were told "back to Windsor". I said to my husband "I bet he has opened his own restaurant" and sure enough!!
We googled his name and when we saw his listing we immediately booked for four of us for a birthday treat for friends. When we got to the restaurant Mauro recognized us immediately and there were big hugs all around. We were so delighted that he had finally got what he is good at which is being a restauranteur. Its not just about the food which was delicious by the way (my husband is delighted he does not have to drive back to Digby NS for good scallops), its about the ambience, the warmth of the staff, the wonderful sense of humour but most of all being treated like family. Mauro does all of this very well with the assistance of his better half, Cheryl and one of his waitresses Julia who served us and was sooo funny we just laughed and laughed. I don't think I have ever been for a 3 hour dinner before with only two courses (our choice). We just did not want to leave. But we will be back, again and again. This is our new favourite restaurant and although it is not as close to home it is well worth the drive.
Much success Mauro in you new venture. We are so glad we found you again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauro's on Erie also viewed

 

Been to Mauro's on Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauro's on Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.