We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Willistead

The Willistead
1840 Wyandotte St. E | Windsor, Ontario, Canada, Windsor, Ontario N8Y1B3, Canada
+(1)5192538226
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 643 Restaurants in Windsor
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Canadian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Brighton, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We loved the coffee - freshly ground and brewed. The food was perfectly seasoned and delicious. We were lucky to find this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went for lunch on a weekday. We ordered the blt and "big Mac" sandwiches and fries to share. Everything was balanced and enjoyable. Our waiter was calm and experienced. We would go again and bring friends next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, great spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Went here on a business trip to Windsor, great laid back atmosphere, outdoor patio would be good in the summer. Wait staff friendly and knowledgeable. Small but good menu, local wines and beer. Made the mistake of ordering too much - 2 appetizers and a salad. the "scotch eggs benny" clever and perfectly cooked, the fritters good, both good sizes and filling. the cobb salad large and excellent. They packed it up for me to take back without blinking. A single diner made welcome. Well done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lol wussup???? This is wussup.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I fn love this place. Only 4 for service cuz I know ya all Lmao.
Peace n love n fritters 4 lyfe

OK real talk, the food is handmade with love and the drinks are caressed with a local touch. Also one of the best bars my bumpy elbows ever laid their soare wings on.
Keep up the fantastic work and I'll keep drinking that IPA.
PS make a senorita a taco sum time k?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Music very LOUD !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Food. Very good . Server explained menu .... Very much al a carte . We were not rushed . Only pitfall was the very loud music . Patrons speaking very loudly to be heard over the music .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Willistead also viewed

 

Been to The Willistead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Willistead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.