We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Italian Cuisine than the Name Suggests” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ciao Pasta Bar

Ciao Pasta Bar
839 Erie Street East, Windsor, Ontario N9A 3Y5, Canada
5199622426
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 640 restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A unique and casual atmosphere with an even more unique menu. Only at Ciao Pasta Bar can you create and customize your very own pasta dish with homemade pastas, sauces and proteins as well as vegetables and cheeses cooked together to enrich your pasta dish with all the flavours you love. In addition to creating your own pasta, our menu includes some family favourites such as homemade Lasagna, Cannelloni, and Osso Bucco. With each dinner you will be served our Nonno Lolo's authentic focaccia bread and Ciao basil, balsamic and oil dip. After each dinner you can enjoy Papa Joe's famous Sicilian Canoli or another in house dessert such as Marsala Cheesecake, Chocolate Tiramisu Martini and Red Velvet Torte. We are confident that your experience at Ciao Pasta Bar will be unrivalled by any other dinning experience around town.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Better Italian Cuisine than the Name Suggests”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We learned this restaurant is a family project of an experienced NYC chef. The food clearly shows this heritage. We went on a quiet night but if it were busy I can see they might get overwhelmed easily. They are a bit hard to find as we drove past twice before being able to read the hard to see sign behind a tree. Back to the food. We started with freshly made salads, all good and an excellent fresh bread with a Balsamic based dipping sauce Only ambitious chefs will attempt Osso Bucco but this was the second best I had ever eaten and was served over a traditional Polenta with the consistency of mashed potatoes. The Salmon was done perfectly and served over an average pasta. The Lamb Chops were excellent. Shrimp was freshly prepared and served over a blush pasta. We shared a couple of desserts and would recommend the homemade Italian style cheese cake. As a fairly new place you expect a little unevenness but we really found the food made up for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    24
    11
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad outweighs the good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here and left disappointed. Lamb was perfect, however the pasta dishes are lackluster at best. The alfredo sauce was very underseasoned and the lasagna was reminiscent of chef boy r dee. Chairs were super uncomfortable. Server was nice and apologetic when about the quality of the meal, although I don't believe I needed an explanation of what each pasta was and the sauce types. Easy 20 minutes saved there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hands down one of the most talented chefs you will ever meet ! I know the owners personally and i promise you it will be a great decision. Amazing place that can meet all your needs. Try it out and enjoy :) Ask For Bianca You will be in great hands and have full bellies lol

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, need improvements to service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been here 3 times and each time the food was great! However, service every time has been slow and confused. Servers seem to be overwhelmed even when there was only 4 tables in the whole place. However, I have had the Ciao trio on two different occasions and it was delicious both times! The red velvet cake is way too sweet, all you taste is a tower of butter crean icing, and no cake. The tiramisu is amazing though and would recommend it! we also brought our kids there on 2 of the 3 occasions and their prices for the kids were fair and portions were generous. We will likely return, not for the service but the food is very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
“Best Italian Food in Windsor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I have been multiple times: with my husband, friends and family. I am always excited to share this eating experience with "newbies". The homemade pastas, sauces and desserts are out of this world. It would be hard to get bored of the menu, with all the variations on the make your own pasta you can chose to be in total control or ask that the chef assist with to make the meals to their fullest potential. I look forward to returning many times.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Pasta Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ciao Pasta Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.