We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average HI restaurant....much better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grill 55

Grill 55
1855 Huron Church Rd., Windsor, Ontario N9C2L6, Canada
+1 519-967-9908
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 644 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $4 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
572 helpful votes 572 helpful votes
“Not your average HI restaurant....much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I liked the old HI restaurant but its really improved when it changed hands to become Grille 55 then new management renovated everything and upgraded the menu. Great atmosphere, fair pricing, very interesting menu, excellent service, and food quality is very high. Plus, you can bill to your HI room for more IHG points. Lots of free parking around the HI.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    12
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Food & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was an upscale restaurant attached to the Holiday Inn. Excellent food! The ahi tuna wrap was to die for! We also ate there for dinner & everything we had was good. They also carry Aleksander wines from the Lake Erie region...Exceptional wine, I recommend the shiraz. Our server Eric was phenomenal, very friendly & made the dining experience unforgettable!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grill_55, Manager at Grill 55, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Our guest's comments are very important to us as we strive to constantly improve our service. In April will be updating our wine list. We will be introducing some great local and international wines to our selection. It was our pleasure to share your comments with your server Eric. We look forward to your visit in the future. Toni Akari Food & Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great food. Varied contemporary menu. Excellent service. Beautiful decor. I highly recommend this restaurant for a fine dining experience in Windsor.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Better than most Holiday Inn restaurants but just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Pork loin was good, not outstanding. Salmon tasted as if was previously frozen. My son liked his huge burger. The restaurant is reasonably good, but overpriced for what you get. It seems like its trying to be upscale (and so my expectations were higher). On the other hand was very convenient for our stay at Holiday Inn. I’d have been very happy with the burger.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Spruce wood”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I am not sure what has happen to this place as a chef myself I loved this place Steve was creating a great place but now he is gone like manny places it has gone to pot as far as I am concerned there is no excuse for food being served cold and can I repeat no excuse how does that happen at 30 a plate it's not asking to much for hot food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 55 also viewed

 
Windsor, Ontario
 

Been to Grill 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill 55, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.