We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay for wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    27
    41
    17
    24
See reviews for
25
34
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Windsor was a disappointment all round and the Travelodge epitomised it. What should have been a great location on the waterfront looking over to Detroit was pretty miserable.

The room was clean, bed sheets were clean, but the hotel smelt awful. A desperate attempt to cover up years of smoking had resulted in a wet dog smell.

The hotel also charges $10 for a days parking (or overnight) which is a little steep. Considering the car park next door, which is separated by a small ridge of concrete is $5 per day.

I hope that Travelodge in North America would provide a better experience than in the UK, but sadly it did not. It is not the worst hotel I have ever stayed at (that was another Travelodge). Thankfully it was only for one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I guess if you are on a really really tight budget I would tell you you are going to get what you pay for!
We stayed here because it was just down the street of where my sister got married and we were drinking lots (didn't want to go through US Customs and drive drunk!) I wish I had tried the other hotels in the area that were only a few dollars more! Out dated rooms...Out dated tv's...And if you like to feel springs, this (WAY SOFT) bed is for you. Only 3 pillows in room. Room seemed dirty and dingy.Coffee pot in bathroom still had old moldy grounds in it.yuck
Pros: Nice View of Detroit River
Cons: No hotel Parking and see above

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

While the website states that parking is available for a charge, even if you pay you cannot be guaranteed a parking space. Returning late from the Detroit Jazz Festival on Sunday night, there were no spaces available, even though I had paid for parking. The desk clerk apologized and suggested other parking garages, which happened to be closed for the Labor Day Weekend. So we park and walked back to our hotel at 1:00 AM! So much for convenience and security. The desk clerk refunded our parking at the hotel.

As for breakfast, both days we waited over 40 minutes for our meals, while customers came in, ordered, ate and left before we were served. The first morning the waitress stated they were short-staffed due to the holiday and deducted $2.00 from our bill. The second morning she did not charge us or our friends anything for the inconvenience. Consequently, the service workers were exceptional: professional, empathetic, and proactive. As for the hotel, they need to address these problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

my stay was very good as well as the restaurant on site was excellent food excellent price and they had 24 hour room service on the weekend what more can you ask for the waitress was very courteous and the hotel staff was very nice would highly recommend restaurant and hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travel Lodge
Windsor Travelodge
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario
Travel Lodge Windsor
Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Available on site - Restaurant, heated indoor pool and Fitness Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.