We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but gets the job done” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but gets the job done”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel itself is kind of old and run down with slow elevators and a lobby, halls and rooms that could use a refreshing but other than than the disappointing breakfast (that you have to pay at least $9 for and isn't very good), you can't beat the location for accessing Detroit, the casino and downtown Windsor (where are many better places to eat), and the major shopping areas are a one-seat bus ride or quick car ride away. Otherwise, staff were sufficiently courteous, the water pressure was good and the wifi worked well. I did find it kind of pricey for what it was, though.

Room Tip: Facing north gets you a nice view of downtown Detroit
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    50
    19
    29
See reviews for
34
45
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Extremely slow check in process, around 45 min waiting in a line just to get your room, the lady working at the desk this last Saturday August 17th around 1pm was rude, unprofessional and doesn't seems to take care about anything, thanks to Hitaf who came just in time and save the situation.Any way i book a King room and they send me to a 2x double bed room???
The rest i have to say that was ok, the room clean and the view of the Detroit skyline was lovely.The TV was not working, but i don't go there to watch TV. And the coffee maker wasn't working and also they put it inside the bathroom ?????
I ate at the restaurant and the was ok, the service was great, and as a guest of the hotel you get a dollar of discount, good quality for the price but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: 7th floor, riverview work for me pretty well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Had a great time with my stay in Windsor at the Travelodge.
I was a Vendor at the Festival and it was great.
I had a lot of bags with me and a staff member helped me, and that was so kind of her to do that for me. The Housekeeper was also a very nice person on my floor that was the 7th floor of the Hotel. If I return to Windsor that would be the place to stay at again.
Also the front Desk where also great as well.

Room Tip: Make sure your on the 7th floor and mention my Name to the Housekeeper and she will make your stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LITTLE CURRENT, ONTARIO, CANADA
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor located at 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario, for one night on route to the United States. This is the second year that we stayed at this hotel. The previous year things went a lot smoother but this year we ran into a couple of kinks such as the air conditioner in our room was broken and we had to wait about 45 minutes in a very hot room for the maintenance man to arrive.

The front desk clerk would not change our room until they received the OK from the maintenance man that the air conditioner was malfunctioning. The temperature in our room was around 90 degrees, but nevertheless we had to wait for the maintenance man as they would not take our word that the air conditioner was down.

On our floor, there were a couple of symphony musicians occupying rooms and decided to practice their music which at times drowned out the television. But this was a minor point.

The rooms were clean, the beds were clean, no bugs, the furniture had seen better days, the carpets were in need of some steam cleaning but besides this, all was OK. Had a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for hotel room overlooking the river/United States!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The location downtown on the river is great, and better than the Hilton. Closer to the Casino. Rooms are ok.. a little dated and the beds hard. Hallways are noisy but the rooms quiet Seems like they have a big issue with people coming in to party and drink. They treat all people suspiciously due to it. Parking fee was high and lot very tight. Glad I was only staying 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is the closest one to the Caesars Casino (5 minute walk), if you plan to play some slots or table games but don't want to pay twice as much staying at the Caesars. And compared to the Day's Inn a few blocks south on Ouellette and Wyandotte, which is in a not so decent area, Travelodge is only $10 more.

The hotel is clean, rooms are sizable and staff is friendly. The front of the hotel face the Detroit River. The riverside area is quiet and beautiful, which makes a morning jog so much more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room facing the river, and on a higher floor to get a good view of downtown Detroit fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Dundee, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here July 5 2013,we selected to book as non-refundable for a discounted rate,room was clean and comfortable,air conditioner was working but not very effective at cooling the room,it took a few hours while we were at a concert nearby to get the temperature down to where we wanted it,be advised that parking is not free,$10 fee,one of their recommended pizza places,was not suitable for human consumption,do yourself a favour and stay away from Pizza Plus,restaurant on site was not the best either,but price was ok.I would stay here again if at a concert or similar event at Caesar's Windsor!

Room Tip: They have 10 floors,many facing the river! We had a city view,not much to look at really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Available on site - Restaurant, heated indoor pool and Fitness Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travelodge
Windsor Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Windsor
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.