We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donna our front desk angel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Save Saved
You added Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Donna our front desk angel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Other than the bright super helpful and informative front desk clerk Donna and our river views this hotel was not worth the $129 for one night!! The rooms had a funny smell, the halls were banged up, our door took some major coaxing to lock the deadbolt, the beds and mattresses have to be approx 15 years old and super low to the ground... I dealt with it for the night but won't be coming back again...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    32
    44
    18
    25
See reviews for
27
38
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

You are in a great location. The rooms have microwaves, fridges, tub mats and safety bars.
It is Spartan for sure. But this place, with all the events in Windsor is ideal, especially with the indoor pool for kids and adults! They do all they can, in an aging building to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here once. Never again. The hotel needs improvements. The front staff were unfriendly and certainly appeared put out by questions. The hotel has inadequate parking.

The only positives are that it's dry and the heating worked.

I suspect given the over powering smells in the hall that this hotel caters to Detroit youth crossing the border to party on the Canadian side.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Positives: pet friendly (no restrictions and free) and across from a nice walking area; decent free breakfast (bagels, muffins, cereal), comfy bed, quite, 5 minute walk to casino

Negatives: no free parking ($10 - outdoors), no wireless internet..called front desk and they said we should have a cord in our night table but it was missing, should not be pet friendly (rooms were compressed, no separate side entrances, stairs were concrete very steep and narrow, dogs very anxious at this property); buttons in elevators had rust/discolouration, rust in toilet bowl and shower head, cigarette burns in our floor (in a non-smoking room), clock radio super ghetto and was not the right time and we couldn't figure out how to set the time or alarm, plugs are loose and are a hazard.

Overall: this hotel needs a lot of updating, the lay out of the hotel is awkward and weird for getting outdoors to walk the dog...there is no pet fee or restrictions but they charge for parking. It is close to the casino but I would only stay at this hotel again if it was cheaper (e.g. 70$/night) compared to 110$...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

we had to stay at this hotel several times as it was near our appointment site ,the stadff wa sfriendly enough but ..... the heated pool was anything but heated or clean!!! the rooms we stayed in were dirty ,dusty and the last time we stayed there we found dead and live bugs.... nasty!!! the breakfast was anything but filling ,very little to choose from and less than appealing.the only positive thing was the view from our room of the lake/detroit.

Room Tip: rooms facing the lake are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Available on site - Restaurant, heated indoor pool and Fitness Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travelodge
Windsor Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Windsor
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.