We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I enjoyed it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
London On
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I enjoyed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

wonderful view ,lovely walk out on the river ,you would defintly love doing some exercise there, clean room and nice size bed , I just loved it..my mother as well.. friendly envirnement..keep the good work..

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    50
    19
    29
See reviews for
34
45
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had booked at the Travelodge as part of a group attending a basketball tournament. We had been provided a nightly rate of $89.00/night which was the only good thing. We were originally advised that parking was included but upon check-in we were advised that it was a first come first serve parking lot. Since the hotel is located downtown the hotel actually uses the hotel parking lot as a public lot and anybody can purchase a parking pass. So I was not only competing against other hotel guests but anybody going to the casino, bars, etc in the area. I was however lucky and never had to pay for parking elsewhere, other people in my group however had to pay $5-10 extra when the lot was full. The person upon check-in was also not very pleasant to deal with did not want to answer even simple questions.
The hotel itself overlooks the river so some of the rooms had a nice river view. Our room however overlooked the city of Windsor and unfortunately for us it appeared to be the bar area of Windsor. We were on the second floor and the street noise was constant all night from bar patrons yelling and car tires screeching. The hotel room itself appeared to be slightly smaller than an average room. We referred to our beds as "taco beds" because the mattresses seemed to roll up. The room just had a plain dirty feel to it and I would have left and found another hotel if we weren't traveling with a group. The hotel noise seemed excessive. Doors slamming, kids screaming etc. the walls just appeared to not block any noise. We only stayed 2 nights and the second night as we were attempting to fall asleep the tub started to make a draining noise. When I checked this out it was water backing up into the tub from somewhere else. After the water drained for the second time I blocked the drain to avoid this from occurring any further.
Not a place I will return. May not be the worst hotel in Windsor but I would think that it would be on that list.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms would avoid some street noise and river front rooms afford a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izumo, Japan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed this hotel when I traveled Detroit and Windsor. I loved the location of this hotel. It is located riverside and bus station to/from Detroit. There were many fancy restaurants nearby as well. The room was clean but a little bit smelly. The Internet was fast and free of charge. Breakfast was so so. Overall, I was somewhat satisfied with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This motel is about 2 blocks from the casino, making it a great location. Right on the river with a good view. Parking in this area is expensive, but there is lot next to the hotel that has $5 a day parking. Got a good sleep, and no problems at all. However the furniture is well worn and in need of replacement. But, for under $100 a night in downtown Windsor, it is a bargain. This price included a continental breakfast. I have stayed there before and will stay there again. This is a great place at a great price, but it is not luxury.

Room Tip: ask for a river view - it is spectacular at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Although the registration clerk was very pleasant and polite, the hotel was disappointing to say the least. The pictures do not represent the actual hotel. There is no restaurant on site, despite the claim on the website. There is only continental breakfast from 7 am to 10 am. There is a pop machine but no snack machine. Our room on the tenth floor had a lovely view of the river, however, when we went in it was so hot we had to open a window and turn the air on and leave it that way overnight. This was in January. The room was not clean, the rug was stained, and I found plastic rings from a six pack on the floor beside the TV. The sink in the bathroom wouldn't drain. This hotel is much in need of an overhaul, I would never stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, get a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Let me start out by saying that the staff was very nice and the place was clean. The building itself has seen better days and is in need of a remodel. I am used to more upscale hotels so that may be a factor but it definitely needs some work.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is a nice view to have if you can get it. The higher up you are the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed at this Travelodge a few years ago originally and it was not up to par. The rooms where not as clean overall, the sink did not work properly, and the contential breakfast was weak to say the least. Over the holidays decided to try it out again, as it was bought over, the price was right, and pets stay for free. If you get the room with the river view, the Detriot River is beautiful to watch when the sun is shining. I must say, that I was extremely pleased with the upgrads they have done. The television is small, but there is a fridge, and microwave in the room. Hopefully, you are doing other things so the fact that the t.v. is small is not a big deal to you ;). It was not for me. The room was very clean. Shower had good pressure. Bathroom was very clean. Bathtub was a normal size. Nothing fancy, but reliable. King size bed comfy. River view spectular. The contential breakfast in the morning, was very well done. Fresh multi grain bagels, cream cheese. Orange Juice tastey, Coffee fresh. (better than the room coffee!). Muffins where alright (brought in from another place). Overall, I was very pleased with the breaky! I would highly recommend the travelodge at this location. The right price, and quiet. Kudos Travelodge for what you have done in the Windsor location.

Room Tip: Get a room that is considered upgraded. The fridge, microwave, and View are Greatly worth it. The to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 33 Riverside Dr E, Windsor, Ontario N9A 2S4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Travelodge Windsor Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Windsor overlooking the Detroit skyline in the Casino district. Our rooms feature high speed internet access, cable TV, iron/ironing boards, hair dryers and individually controlled heat and air conditioning units. Available on site - Restaurant, heated indoor pool and Fitness Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Windsor
Windsor Travelodge
Windsor Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Windsor
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.