We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views of the Detroit River, which” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Burlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing views of the Detroit River, which”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a fast and courteous check in experience. The rooms were fine, needing updating, but the washroom was a bit small for travelling with a senior with a walker.

The breakfast buffet had usual hotel offerings (cereal, muffins, pastries, toast, scrambled eggs, sausage, yoghurt, waffles). The buffet was very busy, and the staff hustled to keep the food stocked. They were very courteous. Good stay.

Room Tip: The panoramic views were stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    49
    21
    11
See reviews for
47
64
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel - as you'd guess by the name and any marketing they do - is all about the view. "All 340 rooms face the water". I considered the Casino Windsor, but the rooms are twice the price (on weekends) and are smaller but more modern and don't get the same view.

The hotel is conveniently located downtown, just two minutes to the tunnel to Detroit and walking distance to anywhere downtown Windsor.

The lobby and breakfast area have been nicely updated, but the elevator, hallways and rooms need some desperate updating.

The elevator is slow and creaky... The hallways are dark and dingy - they even had duct tape on the carpet covering up rips. Not very classy.

The room I had - king with full panoramic view - was quite nice - not very roomy and a tiny bathroom, but it felt clean if a bit sparse.

A few other notes:

The staff was great - very friendly and professional.

I woke up early to the sound of festivities on the waterfront, boats on the river etc. Such is the price to pay for this view.

The breakfast is free, but the lineup was unbearable, so I had to bypass it in the interest of time.

All in all, if you are just in town for a short trip and need a good location, this will be a good choice. If you are picky and want a modern, clean or romantic getaway, you will want to look elsewhere, such as the casino. I really hope they continue updating as this hotel deserves it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a nice room and stay here. They had construction in the lobby at the time. Customer service was less than stellar. Maybe it was due to all the dust and noise. But we enjoyed a good lunch nearby at the cafe across the road. Great view of the river in my room.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for a few nights as a global traveller it was not what I have experienced in other 4 ot 5 hotels on check in Stephanie was exceptionally polite pleasant and helpful also Glenn and Aimee the room was nice clean and comfortable but the breakfast was very poor each morning we were informed there was no bacon left not sure it ever existed the scrambled egg was cold and disgusting I tried to tell the waitress Diane rather than apologise she said it burnt her finger how ridiculous is that another guest said it was cold she had a very bad attitude hence the reason I asked her name I said it was poor for a 4 star hotel she tried to tell me it was a 5 star which in itself is misinforming the public she was rude and arrogant not suitable to be working with the general public she needs training in customer care as a result We will not be staying here sgain I suggest you try the Holiday Inn the hotel itself is not up to 4 star see my reviews for the coutyard marriott Mumbai India also in Mumbai for the Grand Hyatt 5 star and the Orchid 5 star.these hotels are way above the 5 star standard also my review for the Goldcoast 5 star in Kowloon in Hong kong this hotel in Windsor is more a 3 star standard and service.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night for grandaughter's basketball tournament. Large room, very comfortable king-size bed, great view over the river. Front office staff very friendly when checking in and out. Good complimentary hot buffet breakfast. Multistory parking garage behind hotel connected by overhead walkway ($12 per 24 hrs) - circuitous route if using walkway to get to lobby, best just to walk outdoors and enter the hotel through the rear entrance. Would certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: request room on upper floors with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel April 7-8, 2015. The view from the room was wonderful, the king bed was great. We booked this hotel because it had a pool and boy did it. the pool is on the 3rd floor and also had a great view. no one was down there so we had it all to ourselves. New pool furniture and an abundance of towels . The breakfast was on another floor due to construction but was wonderful. staff were all very nice. The front desk gave great directions and food recommendations. I will specifically stay at this hotel next time in Windsor!

Room Tip: best views, free wifi, great pool, great free breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So the view from my room is outstanding amazing spectacular wow!!!

They are renovating and from
What I can tell the changes are great! The price point is great!

The only down fall is the parking situation. It is a parking garage one street behind the hotel. The parking garage is shady and a little scary after dark specifically. Once out of the garage you have to cross the street and walk down a path between a parking lot and little shelter where bothersome homeless people hang out and were bothering people (I ended up carrying an umbrella just to have protection of some sort) then you enter hotel from a back door in an alley.

Complimentary breakfast is good - bad coffee though.

Do the yay's outweigh the nay's?? Well I booked a different hotel for next visit!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.