We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed overnight for Detroit Red Wings game” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stayed overnight for Detroit Red Wings game”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Under renovation arrived at 11:30 check in time only 3 but they had a room ready for us. Room dated but very comfortable bed. Beautiful view of Detroit skyline. Walking distance to bus terminal, we took tunnel shuttle to see afternoon game at Joe Louis arena. Ten minute walk to Caesars casino and saved more than a hundred dollars staying here. Would definitely stay again.
,

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    72
    44
    20
    11
See reviews for
41
60
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The views from our room was spectacular. We knew the hotel was under renovations but with currently no bar or daytime restaurant there isnt any hospitality. The beds state Queen but are clearly a double. Front desk told us it was the angle that made it seem smaller. We weren't fooled.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvinston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this hotel because I thought the view would be cool. It didn't disappoint . The skyline of Detroit was beautiful lit up at night. The ice flow was breaking up on the river and it was cool to watch in the day. The hotel itself is undergoing lobby renovations so it was a bit of a mess at the front desk but friendly faces made us look past the mess and we could check in early as our room was ready. We had dinner at the Keg which is a 2 min walk. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Our floor was quiet despite lots of families staying for Mar break. Breakfast was hot and cold buffet and included in our stay. It was above average. Good coffee, hot scrambled eggs,sausages and a waffle station. Parking was behind hotel in a city parking garage. Easy to get in and out and close to hotel. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The good news is that they're renovating, so maybe, eventually, the hotel will make it into, probably, the 20th century.

The lobby decor was nice, but once I traveled the elevator and halls I was left wondering when the hotel was last updated.

The room I stayed in had an adjoining door, which is great if you're staying with friends... not so great if you're trying to get sleep and your neighbors are drunk partiers at 2:30 am. Thankfully, the staff put a stop to the noise after another guest complained.

The tv fit inside of a cabinet and was only about 6 inches above the bed, so watching it required at least a couple of pillows.

The things I liked were: the view of Detroit. Direct LAN line access for internet. They have wifi, but why bother if I can just plug in a cord? The breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The view of the river is nice. The rooms are decent. The manager/security is terrible. Shortly after arriving, we sat down in our room and turned some music on with our phone. It wasnt loud and it was 6pm. We are very respectful people though and had someone let us know it bothered them, we would have quickly turned it off. Instead, the hotel manager came to our room and berated us about our "disrespect". We politely apologized and asked why no one called. He proceeded to inform us not to expect any calls because if it happened again, we wouldn't be able to hear the phone ring after the police threw us out. He continued to lecture us on his superhuman managerial powers and tough guy attitude that he's acquired during his years managing hotels here in Windsor. Thanks dude

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for a two day weekend. Wasn't impressed. The finish detail in the room was shoddy. The elevators were frequently out of order and I had to walk down 16 flights of stairs at one point. The heater/AC unit seemed off. The only nice thing about the hotel was the view, but I don't vacation to spend all my time looking out a hotel weekend. Overall, ehh. I could've saved money staying at the holiday inn with lower expectations. If you're looking for something nice, your best bet is Caesars.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family in 3 different rooms for two nights. My room was called a King Panoramic and the view was spectacular. The Detroit skyline was all lit up during the night with the lights changing colours and we had large wall to wall picture windows so we could enjoy the view. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. We had a lot of space in our room and even had a pullout couch. We also had a mini fridge and coffee pot and microwave as well as free wifi. There was a free hot breakfast included daily. The rate was very acceptable and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the Panoramic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.