We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay while touring University of Windsor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Alvinston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overnight stay while touring University of Windsor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose this hotel because I thought the view would be cool. It didn't disappoint . The skyline of Detroit was beautiful lit up at night. The ice flow was breaking up on the river and it was cool to watch in the day. The hotel itself is undergoing lobby renovations so it was a bit of a mess at the front desk but friendly faces made us look past the mess and we could check in early as our room was ready. We had dinner at the Keg which is a 2 min walk. Our beds were comfortable and the rooms clean. Our floor was quiet despite lots of families staying for Mar break. Breakfast was hot and cold buffet and included in our stay. It was above average. Good coffee, hot scrambled eggs,sausages and a waffle station. Parking was behind hotel in a city parking garage. Easy to get in and out and close to hotel. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    71
    44
    19
    11
See reviews for
41
59
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The good news is that they're renovating, so maybe, eventually, the hotel will make it into, probably, the 20th century.

The lobby decor was nice, but once I traveled the elevator and halls I was left wondering when the hotel was last updated.

The room I stayed in had an adjoining door, which is great if you're staying with friends... not so great if you're trying to get sleep and your neighbors are drunk partiers at 2:30 am. Thankfully, the staff put a stop to the noise after another guest complained.

The tv fit inside of a cabinet and was only about 6 inches above the bed, so watching it required at least a couple of pillows.

The things I liked were: the view of Detroit. Direct LAN line access for internet. They have wifi, but why bother if I can just plug in a cord? The breakfast was tasty.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The view of the river is nice. The rooms are decent. The manager/security is terrible. Shortly after arriving, we sat down in our room and turned some music on with our phone. It wasnt loud and it was 6pm. We are very respectful people though and had someone let us know it bothered them, we would have quickly turned it off. Instead, the hotel manager came to our room and berated us about our "disrespect". We politely apologized and asked why no one called. He proceeded to inform us not to expect any calls because if it happened again, we wouldn't be able to hear the phone ring after the police threw us out. He continued to lecture us on his superhuman managerial powers and tough guy attitude that he's acquired during his years managing hotels here in Windsor. Thanks dude

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a two day weekend. Wasn't impressed. The finish detail in the room was shoddy. The elevators were frequently out of order and I had to walk down 16 flights of stairs at one point. The heater/AC unit seemed off. The only nice thing about the hotel was the view, but I don't vacation to spend all my time looking out a hotel weekend. Overall, ehh. I could've saved money staying at the holiday inn with lower expectations. If you're looking for something nice, your best bet is Caesars.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a family in 3 different rooms for two nights. My room was called a King Panoramic and the view was spectacular. The Detroit skyline was all lit up during the night with the lights changing colours and we had large wall to wall picture windows so we could enjoy the view. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were very nice. We had a lot of space in our room and even had a pullout couch. We also had a mini fridge and coffee pot and microwave as well as free wifi. There was a free hot breakfast included daily. The rate was very acceptable and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Check out the Panoramic rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We (seniors) stayed for 2 nights at this hotel Jan. 23 & 24/15 to go to the Caesars hotel to see the Dancing With the Stars tour group. Took the VIA train from Toronto to avoid winter driving from Oshawa, ON. Booked this hotel as it is only a 10 min. walk to Caesars (and cheaper). Found the room overlooking the Detroit River very nice. The King bed was very comfortable and staff very helpful. Really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast each day. Construction to upgrade the hotel was on going from Dec. to mid March 2015, but didn't bother us. If you are driving, parking is in an adjacent building and costs $ 12 CAD/day. No restaurant at this hotel (just a large room for the complimentary breakfast overlooking the river) or gift shop. Would recommend this hotel and planning another 2 night stay in May 2015 to see Frankie Valli at Caesars, but driving this time from Oshawa (4 hr).

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and myself stayed at the Waterfront hotel for Saint Patrick's day. Prior to this trip we've only stayed at Casers, therefore we had some concerns. However, we were overwhelmingly pleased while checking in. We were helped by a front desk associate by name of Danny. He upgraded our partial riverfront view into a full panoramic riverfront completely complimentary. (I paid $65 for a partial view and got upgraded to a $140 full view room without any additional payment). This was all done without myself mentioning anything about upgrading or room info. He then proceeded to ask what type of dinning we enjoy. He recommended a local steak house and gave us a complimentary shrimp cocktail voucher. (My girlfriend LOVED the dinner). The next day while walking past him to enjoy a smoke outside, he joined us and gave us even more valuable information about the surrounding areas including Saint Patrick Day parties , supreme breakfast locations, and outstanding dinning. Overall, our stay at the Waterfront Hotel was splendid, mainly due to the outstanding customer service we received from the front desk associate Danny. Based off of his generosity and overall friendliness, whenever we come to Windsor in the future, we will definitely stay at the Waterfront. It's very nice for an establishment to actually take the time to care / get to know their guest and help inform them of the surrounding area. This is especially compared to Caesars, where all the front desk associates have an attitude problem and don't care to know where your from, where your going or what your plans are while your in town. I would like to end this review by giving a great big THANK YOU to Danny for making our trip one to remember and giving us valuable information about surrounding establishments and for upgrading our room completely complementary without any hassle or even asking. We greatly appreciate your service and we look forward to returning.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Cory S.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on Trip Advisor, it is appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you & your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us, and that you have chosen the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to be your choice hotel for future stays! We are very proud of Danny for going above and beyond to exceed your expectations, creating an amazing guest experience for you. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate department, so that he can be recognized for his customer service. We are happy to have members like Danny on our team, going the extra mile to create a memory for which you will want to return again and again.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M.,& the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.