We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be beaten for the Price, Hospitality and the View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could not be beaten for the Price, Hospitality and the View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

From the moment we walked in we were welcomed, asked about our needs, answered our questions about parking, places to dine and pool. I thought there would be added charges, but parking was the only extra charge. We had no problem with the elevator as mentioned previously. The biggest surprise was the wonderful breakfast, expansive selection, well presented in the most relaxing setting. Before us at breakfast was a huge expanse of windows that overlooked Detroit, the channel with all of its activity. I thought we would never leave. The pool and workout space overlooked Detroit, my daughter loved it. I chose the hotel because I have been a Hilton Honors participate for 30 years. Even though this site is no longer owned by Hilton, I knew it would be special. I was not disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor to get a true view. I think every room has a view, some are a distorted not a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    66
    42
    18
    10
See reviews for
39
56
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here in November, 2014. Found the place to be good value for the money -- especially in terms of the (included) continental breakfast, which had several hot items and the room itself had a nice view of the Detroit Skyline/River.

You're about a 600m walk from the Casino, and are close to nightlife/dining options as well.

Only mild issue is the parking, as you're parked in a public lot which is about a block back in behind the hotel --- slightly inconvenient, but could be worse.

Rooms were nice and well kept. Ours actually had a nice view, as well.

Overall, a solid 4/5.

Room Tip: Rooms Higher Up Will Likely Offer Better Views of Detroit Skyline/River
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Convenient downtown location for business. Room was upgraded to a full river view and was really quite nice. Staff friendly and welcoming. Quick to advise guests when a fire alarm went off inadvertently. Free breakfast buffet was average.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here to attend a concert at the casino. Parking is in the public car park at the rear of the hotel, a bit tricky to find on first arrival. There was some construction in the lobby but it looked neat enough. The elevators are a little slow, especially closing doors after pressing your floor! Our room was nice and clean, bed was comfy and pillows were superb. The complimentary breakfast was...well, as good as a complimentary breakfast could be!!! But did they have to put so much black pepper in the scrambled eggs!!!
All in all we had a good stay and can't really complain for the price.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Adam K.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, while you were in Windsor to attend a concert. We hope that you enjoyed the superb views of the Detroit River & Skyline, as you enjoyed the comfort of your guest room. We believe that our location along the Windsor Waterfront Path, with a close proximity to local Windsor attractions, restaurants and pubs, really sets us apart from other downtown properties.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope to host you again soon!
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was not impressed to find out that the room that we were in the curtains did not cover the windows and that the fan in the bathroom did not work. The elevators for some reason where tied up and after waiting for ten minutes decided to take the stairs.
I personally would not recommend this hotel for the money spent.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Phil B.,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us, as we always strive to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests. For any future stay, please feel free to contact the Front Desk with any concerns or maintenance issues with your guest room and we will do our best to solve the problem as effectively, and as efficiently, as we can. We appreciate having the opportunity to make our guests' experience a positive one.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We hope to host you again soon!
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathroy, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 1 night at the Waterfront Feb 21/15. We were on the executive floor(21) while 2 other couples we were with were on the 17th. All of us had issues with the elevator, it is very slow and there should be more for the amount of rooms. 25 minute wait to go
To breakfast, yes could have taken the stairs but after a very late night of people partying and yelling until 5 am, the last thing we wanted to do was 19 flights of stairs for a mediocre breakfast. We arrived for breakfast due to the delay about 5 minutes before it was over, food had been picked over, no fruit left and staff overheard advising breakfast was over and people needed to clear out. The room was ok, had what we needed, a small fridge would be a great addition. View was great, shower worked well - lots of hot water. Parking was easy, as was taking the Windsor transit to Cobo/the Joe for a concert. The hotel was completely full - which added to the noise and waits, if more elevators were available, and guests showed respect for one another (both of our parties floors had issues at 3am, ours until 5am) it would be much better.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KassM,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated.
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Detroit River & Skyline. We believe that these spectacular views from the guest rooms definitely add to the overall guest experience. When travelling to Detroit for concerts and special events, our location can't be beat! With the Transit Bus Depot situated directly behind us, it can't be any easier to catch the Tunnel Bus to Cobo Center, Joe Louis Arena, Comerica Park and other venues in Detroit, MI. We would also like you to know that along with renovations that are already underway at the hotel, there are also plans to include mini-refrigerators in all of our guest rooms! We feel this will add to the comfort of our hotel rooms, allowing you to store your own food and beverages during your stay.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We hope to host you again soon!
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for me and work. Room was comfortable and view was really good. Arrived after a snow fall and the sidewalk from the hotel was difficult to navigate - more attention needs to be paid to snow removal.

TV in room is a joke....remote doesn't work.

Room Tip: I had a great view of the river....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear RobKaz671618,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor, it is much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear you think that our location is great for yourself and work! Our close proximity to local attractions, restaurants and pubs, make us an ideal location for business and leisure travelers alike! We would like you to know that we are in process of converting all of our guest room TVs to brand-new 42" HD TVs with RGB input access! We will be the only hotel in Windsor with TVs of this size in ALL of our guest rooms. If you have any trouble with your TV remote in the future, please call our Front Desk Team and someone from our Maintenance Staff will be sent to your room to assist you.
Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.