We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with our Swim Club and MANY other swims clubs from both Ontario and the US.
The reason we chose this hotel was its proximity to the pool (next door)
The rooms were spacious and clean, the hotel pool was clean as well. The view was so pretty (even though it is across from Detroit)
The staff were ok, some were VERY accommodating and some were down right rude.
Travelling with such a large group, we sort of thought they may be a little more accomditating, but apparently they are unionized and it is out of their control……
The breakfast was good, standard hotel breakfast, nice facility. The staff were great there and actually changed the opening to 6am as apposed to the original 7am, as some swimmers were to be in the pool at 7am.
So overall i was impressed, would I stay there again? Yes
Oh, don't count on the room fridge, only cool, my cooler kept things colder.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello DP,
Thank you for your message, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your view of the Detroit River & Skyline. We truly believe the waterfront view is a spectacular feature of our property. The proximity to the Windsor Aquatics Centre is also a bonus for all of the swim teams staying with us, and we are definitely happy to adjust our service times for breakfast in order to accommodate the competition schedules. If there is anything we can do for you, or if you would like to book your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    38
    16
    8
See reviews for
32
47
7
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Overall pretty good hotel. I would have given 4-stars, if there was still a proper restaurant/pub in this location and forget the free breakfast. The Egg place across the street from the parking is fantastic though, so don't waste your time with empty juice dispenser, cold eggs, etc. The room was great though and I liked the salt water pool.

Room Tip: One of the top floors offer a great view of the Detroit skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello RELM73,
Thank you for your message, we appreciate the feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your room and the view of the Detroit Skyline. We are proud to say that we are the only hotel in Windsor & Detroit, where all 305 rooms have a waterfront view. The pool was recently converted to saltwater and it has been met with great reviews. Finally, we have future plans in place to renovate the main floor lobby and open a new lounge with a creative food & drink menu. When that opens, hopefully we will get those 4-stars from you! In the meantime, if you would like us to book your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Yours in Hospitality,
Asad M., Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This Hotel is average for the price and location. But what takes this Hotel to the next level is the hospitality we received at all levels. From the time we arrived everyone and I do mean everyone greeted us with smiles and kindness . When the staff spoke with you they were professional and expeditiously got you to your designated rooms. Even the room service personnel were always kind and considerate. If your fortunate to get a room with a view it's awesome.

Room Tip: Reserve on line and request a room with a view of the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello Gregory J,


The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor has read your review and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Being a Manager, I must agree with you. We feel our staff truly are the most professional, hospitable and kind bunch second to none!

You'll be pleased to know a great feature about the hotel is all 305 rooms face the river, so no matter the guest, you'll always have a river view! How fantastic!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.

Thank you again for choosing the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers a very convenient location to all bars and restaurants in downtown Windsor. The price is very reasonable. Much cheaper to book online. Saved $50. Needs roomservice and valet parking. Beds are comfortable and waterfront view is great. Keg restaurant right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello Arnold s,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you had a pleasant stay while you were our guest.

Situated right in the heart of downtown Windsor, there is no doubt location, comfort and the stunning view from our rooms are key factors which many of our guests enjoy about our hotel.

Although we no longer have certain amenities at the hotel, we try to meet and exceed the quality of the ones we do currently provide. Soon we will be starting room and lobby renovations as steps to better suit our guests' needs.

With 30+ bars/restaurants within walking distance, our hotels is sure to be the perfect place for all travelers no matter the reason for you visit!

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and stress free! It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive to make our hotel, your home away from home.


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here overnight because we were in town for a gymnastics meet. Checking in was fast but no room to leave your car while u are doing so. Parking is behind the hotel and is $12 bucks a day. Make sure to walk across the street outside after parking. The bridge led us into some sketchy empty building before finding the hotel lobby. The view was ok. We had an angled window so we had a partial view of the waterfront. Our room was near the elevator room 402 and you could hear the bell ring in our room each time someone was waiting for a lift. We did enjoy the pool/ sauna and workout room though and the breakfast was decent with a beautiful full view of the waterfront. I booked at hotels.com but I still think I paid too much at $129 a night. The holiday inn on Huron church was cheaper. I guess you are paying for the view at the waterfront. It's an average hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hello momof3kidsToronto,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and would like to follow up with some helpful information to make your future stay with us more comfortable.

During your check in process, we welcome all of our guest to park their vehicle in the hotel’s laneway. It is also our loading and unloading area with bell carts available to make transferring your luggage to your room more convenient.

You are correct with regards to using the hotel’s back entrance located on the street level. Its is the most convenient and direct route back into the hotel. Also, your $12 pass will allow you unlimited access to the garage so the family can go and explore Windsor.

At anytime if you feel your room is not suitable, we encourage our guests to call our Guest Services Associates and we will always try our very best to accommodate you. With 305 rooms which all face the river, there is sure to be a room right for you!

We understand value is key to all travelers. To add value to our guests’ experience we offer Free Local Calls, Free Wi-Fi and Complimentary Free Breakfast. We are also located in the heart of downtown Windsor, with many local attractions within walking distance.

We thank you again for your review and we value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us pleasurable and trouble free! It is because of you, our guest, that we strive to make our hotel your home away from home.

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & the Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylmer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I have enjoyed each and every stay at the Waterfront and have been there for 3 weekends now. The rooms are comfortable, the staff more than accomodating and friendly and the breakfast excellent. They even changed the breakfast time to allow for swimmers to get fed earlier due to an earlier start of the swim meet. I will be back next month. ThaCarolnks so much

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Hello Carol,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We have read your review and are pleased you enjoyed each and every one of your stays at our hotel.

With regards to our 'comfortable' rooms, you will be happy to know the hotel will be renovating 140 guest rooms which will compliment the 165 rooms already renovated! In addition to the room renovations, we are also excited to announce the hotel lobby will be included as part of our renovation process to better suit our guests!

Since the opening of the Family Aquatic Complex we have had quite the amount of families stay with us whether it be for leisure at the Adventure Bay Waterpark or attending a swim meet competition at the Windsor International Aquatics and Training Centre. Although it is not a hotel standard to start the breakfast early, we understand the needs of our guests and try our hardest to accommodate everyone to the best of our ability.

We value your opinion. It is our ultimate goal to make your stay with us more pleasurable and trouble free! We would like to take this time to see what we can do in the future to make this statement true. It is because of you, our guest(s) that we strive for excellent customer service and to make our hotel, your home away from home.

Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M. & The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Have come here a few times since august 2013 when it was Hilton. However first time since the management change.

While booking it was full waterfront view. When i got the form to sign it said it said partial view. Got it changed and went to the room to find that it was a corner room and very small. Got it changed to come to another room where you could see the outside wall of the hotel from my room.

I had been extremely happy with the room and view in the past.

To top it up the way the front office staff treat you is pathetic.

Make sure you see the room before signing the docs.

Not what it used to

Caesars in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WATERFRONT HOTE... D, Front Office Manager at Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello Ambacndi,

The Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Our goal is to always meet and exceed our guests expectations which was not the case with your stay.

We sincerely apologize for your experience and we would like the opportunity to touch base with you to remedy.

Your feedback is valuable and we will use it as a coaching tool for our Guest Services team

We are looking forward to hearing from you. You can contact us directly at 519.973.4261


Yours in Hospitality,

Asad M.
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.