We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very comfortable and all staff was friendly and helpful. I had requested a fridge in the room and it was there upon arrival. Convenient valet parking at the front of hotel. Bellman was there to assist with luggage to my room. Felt safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    99
    61
    26
    16
See reviews for
57
82
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strathroy, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We drive to Windsor to stay at this hotel. Every single time we stay there, we experience something special. Met Neil Young there, Tall ships just happened front of the be moored at the front of the hotel while the best fireworks show we've ever seen was going on across the river in Detroit. Ships passing, yachts cruising by, the GM building is beautiful at night, and all this from the only views this hotel has....all riverfront.

Room Tip: 7th to 13th floor offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The view from this hotel is stunning. The aqua river, the peach sky, the freighters, the sun rises and sunsets, the Detroit Skyline. The service is very good. The pool could be cleaner. The gym overlooks the river. I love staying here; they will make price concessions if you're staying awhile and ask them to.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Rooms were clean--pool and workout area well kept and seemed very clean--service help and friendliness was exceptional IN HOTEL--parking was aggravating as they moved my car around and the person wanting to park my car for no good reason(nobody behind or in front) banged on my window when I was talking on my cell to a customer TWICE!-Thus the 4 rather than 5 star rating---Yes there are nicer hotels but this is a very good clean place to stay--very close to Casino if you gamble--pretty view--had 3 day stay

Room Tip: All pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is showing the signs of age. We were in room 811 and enjoyed the waterfront view, which was very nice at night. In the morning we had to wait a very long time for an elevator as only 1 of 3 were working at the time. We stayed at this hotel because of the convenient location (attended a wedding at the centre for the arts next door, which is interconnected). The casino hotel is nicer for the same or lower price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I usually feel uncomfortable in hotels, but my husband and I so greatly enjoyed our stay that we didn't want to leave! The room was clean, smelled fresh, and had all the amenities we needed to be comfortable. The view of the Detroit river was spectacular, the king bed was very comfortable and you can't go wrong with free wi-fi access. If you're looking to just get away and relax for a night or two, I highly recommend the Hilton Windsor. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Hilton Windsor twice and love the hotel, to the extent that I rearranged some travel plans specifically because I wanted to spend one night at this hotel before moving to a hotel in Detroit for the rest of my stay. The reviews on this page seem mixed, and part of that may be based on whether you splurge for the room with a panoramic view.

The rooms with east/west view apparently tend to be smaller, whereas the panoramic rooms are at the front of the hotel, are decently sized, and have a PHENOMENAL wraparound view of the Detroit skyline and the Detroit River. I may be a nerd, but I can spend hours watching the barges float down the river and the skyscraper lights change colors, and looking for the People Mover to speed across its elevated track on the opposite shore. From the king room, I could sit in the easy chair and feel like i was on the edge of the river shore, or sit at the desk and daydream about the view, or from bed I could look up at the skyscrapers. That alone made me book again.

Ironically, my second trip I got upgraded to a king suite, which was a nice bonus with a ton of extra space, except that the orientation of the room furniture makes it more difficult to check out the spectacular views. The bed is further from the window, so it's more like you're looking out a window at a city, rather than being so close you feel like you're part of it. I specifically booked here hoping to sit at the desk and stare out the window while doing some brainstorming work, but in the suite the desk faces the wall away from the window. Similarly, the furniture had an awkward setup. The TV was pointed toward the desk, and it was difficult or impossible to view from the couch, easy chair, or bed unless you shifted a few things around. Minor complaint but for a couple or small family, this could be problematic. If you're not planning to watch much TV, the extra space is a great bonus. Possibly twice the size of the regular king room - big enough to host a coffee klatch, yoga class, and bed-in all at once.

The pool/exercise room also has a great view, which is good enough inspiration to fit in a workout while you're here. Decent mix of cardio, weights, and other equipment (Bosu ball, yoga mat, med balls).

The location is also convenient to several restaurants and downtown shopping, close to the tunnel and bridge to the US, and across the street from the riverfront park for a stroll or jog. The municipal parking garage behind the hotel is a little sketchy but close and reasonably priced, and shared by several neighboring hotels; there is also a valet option available.

As some commenters have mentioned, some of the decor might not be cutting age but for the most part it looked classy and clean, with updates to all the important features (comfy bed and pillows, nice desk, new TVs, etc.) Frankly I wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't read the reviews here. The only areas that looked dated to me were a few details in the hallways and elevator exteriors - kudos to the hotel for focusing on enhancing the rooms first rather than the exterior details that don't matter as much. Unlike most Hiltons, this hotel provides complimentary wireless internet. The desk chair was good for long-haul work - firm and comfortable, but perhaps misleading to people who equate ergonomics with cushy padding.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again. In fact I am eagerly looking for another reason to book a trip here, as long as I can get a room with a panoramic view.

Room Tip: Panoramic rooms have more space and a phenomenal view - well worth the price premium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Hotel Downtown Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor

Address: 277 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Hilton Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The WATERFRONT HOTEL Downtown Windsor is ideally located along the beautiful river front in downtown Windsor, Ontario, Canada, directly across from Detroit, Michigan USA, All hotel guest rooms feature a lovely river view and overlook gardens, sculptures and an extensive multi-use fitness trail. In addition to the gorgeous waterfront view, also include complimentary free breakfast buffet, complimentary local phone calls and complimentary Wi-Fi accessEasily accessed via the Ambassador Bridge, Detroit Windsor tunnel, Highway 401 and Highway 3.Nearby attractions and events include: GM Corporate world Headquarters, Ford World Headquarters, Chrysler Group US Headquarters, Caesars Windsor, Downtown Windsor Bars, Clubs, Restaurants and Entertainment, Art Gallery of Windsor, Steps from Detroit Windsor Tunnel Bus, YQG Windsor International Airport, DTW Metropolitan Detroit Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelClick so you can book your Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Windsor Hotel Windsor
Hilton Hotel Windsor
Windsor Hilton Hotel
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.