We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient option when visiting Detriot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Riverside Inn

Save Saved
You added Windsor Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Windsor Riverside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Radisson Riverfront Hotel Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A convenient option when visiting Detriot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The tunnel bus and Windsor Transit bus station is conveniently located behind the hotel and crossing over to Detroit during the North American International Auto Show was quick and painless.

Not a whole lot of dining options close to the hotel except the lobby bar in the adjacent hotel and the Keg Steakhouse a block away. The Keg is always good for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    46
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
40
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is convenient, on the river, just around the corner from the Detroit tunnel entrance/exit... and a short walk to Ceasar's Palace.
We were informed at check-in that we had been assigned a newly renovated room (!) The king bed was comfortable, a good sleep was had; but we were exhausted anyways. They were skimpy with the pillows. There is no wi-fi in the room, and the television has only basic channels available and is a vintage tube model... no flatscreen here. The bathroom was clean. The towels were medium quality. There was no bugs to be found. There was no fridge, no mini-bar. The covered parking was expensive at $12 plus tax.
We paid $120 for the room, it was only worth $90.
IF ever returning to Windsor, we will book ahead for a good room-rate at Caesar's Palace, otherwise just default to a $90 bargain-suite property elsewhere.
We would not stay at Windsor Riverside Inn again, it was almost unremarkable...
but keep in mind this is Windsor, so not much can be realistically expected.

We never heard the Windsor infamous "Hum"...

Room Tip: Ask for river-view Bring drinks and water (no mini-bar) Eat at Ceasar's buffet or The Keg
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for business from Jan 7th to Jan 11th. The hotel is a former Radisson Hotel
I was on the 17th floor with a Non-River view....they charge an additional $10.00 for a view of the river The rooms are somewhat dated and could probably use a good upgrade but are clean and decent size. I had a single King size "Sleep Number" bed with a pull out sofa and a flat screen tv. The Sleep Number bed feels similar to an air matress, but was comfortable enough.
The hotel seemed very empty. The elevators seemed a bit slower than a newer elevator, but was reliable. The hotel does not have wi-fi available in the rooms, to access the internet you need to connect via a cable. This is ok for a laptop but doesn't work for wireless devices such as ipads, etc. The TV channel selection is ok and actually offers more channels than the casino, but the remote was terrible and very hard to change channels.

The parking garage is a bit of a walk from the rear of the property. From the Garage you have to go to street level or the ramp at the 3rd level and walk accross the street to the hotel, then you walk through was appears to be an abandoned mall (follow signs for Radisson Hotel), go down the elevator, then continue walking through the mall area and then enter the hotel. This garage charges $12.00 per day. Even the Caesars Windsor Casino has free parking?

The desk clerk told me that the Hilton next door recently renovated 160 of their rooms. So it may be worth checking the rates there or the Caesars Casino. Last trip to Windsor I stayed at the Casino and they are 5-Star all the way and often time the rates are lower.

They have a small market/store outside the lobby in the mall area. I purchased 2 cans of soda here and once I arrive back to my 17th floor room, I realized that they were expired and tasted nasty! Avoid this store! I then went to the soda machine and purchased a diet pepsi, which also was expired and tasted expired. So if you are staying here bring your own beverages.

They offer room service, but I didn't try it.

The hotel shares a "restaurant and lounge" with the Hilton hotel next door.
We didn't eat here.

The hotel is within walking distance of a few downtown restaurants.
I can recommend The Keg Steakhouse (a block from the hotel) and Chanoso's at 255 Ouellette Ave. Both are an easy walk.

I would probably stay here again, but I would definately check around first.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is a bit of a dichotomy - it's located in a great spot on Windsor's riverfront, but it's getting to be pretty run down. It's also right next door to the Hilton, which has clearly recently had at least the reception area recently renovated. It's a bit of a trek to get from the parking garage to the hotel, and you have to walk through this bizarre concourse which is completely dead and quiet. It's a little disconcerting. The front desk staff are fine, but as the last reviewer said, I honestly think there were no other people on our floor. Every time we went to call the elevator, it was always there, waiting on our floor. The pool is big and the whirlpool is fine too. There's a decent sauna. The room was ok.. the TV was an old tube kind, stuck into a credenza type thing so you have to be right in front of it to see the screen. The bed was ok...it's one of those Sleep Number beds, which seem like a good idea but... aren't that great. The bathroom tap ended up coming off - we were able to stick it back on but it's a little sad. It seemed a little pricey given that there's really nothing special about this hotel other than the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here evening of November 29th and started to wonder if I was the only person in this 19 floor hotel. Never saw a sole the whole time I was there, which certainly made for a quiet evening, albeit a little creepy too. The room itself was frankly cleaner and better appointed then I expected, as some areas of the hotel are a little dated, but they're also clearly trying to freshen it up. I ended up at this former Radisson through hotwire, while for the $85.00 rate I really couldn't complain much. I did notice that two of my towels were stained, while I found the parking a little irritating as it's down hallways, up elevators, across a walkway etc, so not terribly convenient - it's also $12.00. The front desk and cleaning staff were friendly, while the only breakfast item in the lobby was a few pitchers of coffee. The hotel is certainly conveniently located to Windsor's downtown and only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Casino. I'd probably try and find something else before booking here again, although as I said the Priceline rate I got wasn't too bad for this area. Had breakfast downstairs at an adjoining restaurant and didn't particularly enjoy the $12.95 buffet - should have ordered off menu perhaps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Took the family here.......wasn't sure what to expect in Windsor's depressed economy. The hotel did show some signs of age and wear and tear, but overall it was pretty decent and the staff were friendly. The pool was without towels and none were delivered, even after 2 phone calls. Otherwise this place is at a good location. Close to some good pubs and close to the riverfront trail. We hope that Windsor can start to shine again and hopefully their waterfront hotels can all improve to properly reflect the true nature of this once great city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is passed its prime as it seems to fit in with the rest of surrounding Windsor. I'm sure this place was once a really beautiful place to stay but it seems as though lack of upkeep and had it become dated. Can't complain about much other than that. If you can, pay the premium for the waterfront views, its much better than the other side. It was clean and beds were average. Debated giving it a 3 but again, other than being dated, the stay was comfortable with no other complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Riverside Inn

Address: 333 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Radisson Riverfront Hotel Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Riverside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its location just minutes from downtown Detroit and in Windsor's city centre area, the Windsor Riverside Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Windsor/Detroit area. Our hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities, including a Indoor Pool, Fitness Centre & Business Centre. You will enjoy our hotel's location in the heart of the city, which offers stunning views of the Detroit River and skyline. We are minutes from the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel and Ambassador Bridge, as well as major corporate offices and area attractions.Spacious rooms at our hotel feature complimentary high-speed Internet, cable TV, a coffee maker with complimentary coffee/tea, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and an extra large working desk. Traveling with a pet? Our pet friendly hotel in Windsor offers pet friendly rooms at no additional charge. The Windsor Riverside Inn features an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and Fitness Centre, as well as many other convenient amenities. Pick up a souvenir at the Yes Windsor gift shop, take the complimentary Caesars Windsor shuttle (Fridays and Saturdays) and stay connected to the office with free high-speed Internet.If you are looking to host a meeting or events in Windsor, look no further! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting space, an attentive staff, an ideal location and the added convenience of audiovisual equipment, our Windsor hotel near Detroit is the perfect venue for your event.The Park Terrace, our hotel's on-site restaurant, features a spectacular view of the Detroit River skyline and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The River Runner Lounge also serves food and drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, making it popular among both locals and visitors. We have been awarded a Three Key rating from the Hotel Association of Canada's Green Key Eco-Rating Program - recognizing us as a hotel that has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Windsor Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Riverside Hotel Windsor
Radisson Windsor
Windsor Radisson
Windsor Riverside Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.