We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Riverside Inn

Save Saved
You added Windsor Riverside Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Windsor Riverside Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Radisson Riverfront Hotel Windsor) (City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is a bit of a dichotomy - it's located in a great spot on Windsor's riverfront, but it's getting to be pretty run down. It's also right next door to the Hilton, which has clearly recently had at least the reception area recently renovated. It's a bit of a trek to get from the parking garage to the hotel, and you have to walk through this bizarre concourse which is completely dead and quiet. It's a little disconcerting. The front desk staff are fine, but as the last reviewer said, I honestly think there were no other people on our floor. Every time we went to call the elevator, it was always there, waiting on our floor. The pool is big and the whirlpool is fine too. There's a decent sauna. The room was ok.. the TV was an old tube kind, stuck into a credenza type thing so you have to be right in front of it to see the screen. The bed was ok...it's one of those Sleep Number beds, which seem like a good idea but... aren't that great. The bathroom tap ended up coming off - we were able to stick it back on but it's a little sad. It seemed a little pricey given that there's really nothing special about this hotel other than the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    37
    46
    12
    18
See reviews for
17
40
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Ontario
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed here evening of November 29th and started to wonder if I was the only person in this 19 floor hotel. Never saw a sole the whole time I was there, which certainly made for a quiet evening, albeit a little creepy too. The room itself was frankly cleaner and better appointed then I expected, as some areas of the hotel are a little dated, but they're also clearly trying to freshen it up. I ended up at this former Radisson through hotwire, while for the $85.00 rate I really couldn't complain much. I did notice that two of my towels were stained, while I found the parking a little irritating as it's down hallways, up elevators, across a walkway etc, so not terribly convenient - it's also $12.00. The front desk and cleaning staff were friendly, while the only breakfast item in the lobby was a few pitchers of coffee. The hotel is certainly conveniently located to Windsor's downtown and only a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Casino. I'd probably try and find something else before booking here again, although as I said the Priceline rate I got wasn't too bad for this area. Had breakfast downstairs at an adjoining restaurant and didn't particularly enjoy the $12.95 buffet - should have ordered off menu perhaps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Took the family here.......wasn't sure what to expect in Windsor's depressed economy. The hotel did show some signs of age and wear and tear, but overall it was pretty decent and the staff were friendly. The pool was without towels and none were delivered, even after 2 phone calls. Otherwise this place is at a good location. Close to some good pubs and close to the riverfront trail. We hope that Windsor can start to shine again and hopefully their waterfront hotels can all improve to properly reflect the true nature of this once great city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is passed its prime as it seems to fit in with the rest of surrounding Windsor. I'm sure this place was once a really beautiful place to stay but it seems as though lack of upkeep and had it become dated. Can't complain about much other than that. If you can, pay the premium for the waterfront views, its much better than the other side. It was clean and beds were average. Debated giving it a 3 but again, other than being dated, the stay was comfortable with no other complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Ok so the room wasn't spectacular on initial entrance and upon opening the door I would have given the place 2.5 stars at best but here's the kicker. In the morning we pulled back the comforter and there was a big yellow stain on the underside of the top blanket. Completely gross. If the stain had been blue or purple, we could have lived with it but yellow, nasty. Parking is $10 and is behind the facility in an above ground parking garage. When i complained about the yellow stain on the comforter she waived the parking garage fee. We paid $80 for a saturday night on priceline.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The view from the huge wall-to-wall windows of our riverview room was absolutely breathtaking.
I was disappointed that the room did not have wifi or a fridge.
Also, the AC was old and loud.
I disliked the bulky crt tv and shabby furniture, although the beds were quite nice.
Good for short- term stays.
It was not really worth the $130/ night, so try to get a better deal.

Room Tip: Adding the $15 for the riverview room is definitely worth it, since the "cityview" rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic views of the Motor city, old hotel & air condition too.
Needs renovations, service is less than average..
you can get good deals... less than 100$ per night

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Riverside Inn

Address: 333 Riverside Drive West, Windsor, Ontario N9A 5K4, Canada (Formerly Radisson Riverfront Hotel Windsor)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Riverside Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its location just minutes from downtown Detroit and in Windsor's city centre area, the Windsor Riverside Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Windsor/Detroit area. Our hotel offers guests a wealth of amenities, including a Indoor Pool, Fitness Centre & Business Centre. You will enjoy our hotel's location in the heart of the city, which offers stunning views of the Detroit River and skyline. We are minutes from the Detroit-Windsor Tunnel and Ambassador Bridge, as well as major corporate offices and area attractions.Spacious rooms at our hotel feature complimentary high-speed Internet, cable TV, a coffee maker with complimentary coffee/tea, hair dryer, iron/ironing board and an extra large working desk. Traveling with a pet? Our pet friendly hotel in Windsor offers pet friendly rooms at no additional charge. The Windsor Riverside Inn features an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and Fitness Centre, as well as many other convenient amenities. Pick up a souvenir at the Yes Windsor gift shop, take the complimentary Caesars Windsor shuttle (Fridays and Saturdays) and stay connected to the office with free high-speed Internet.If you are looking to host a meeting or events in Windsor, look no further! With over 10,000 square feet of meeting space, an attentive staff, an ideal location and the added convenience of audiovisual equipment, our Windsor hotel near Detroit is the perfect venue for your event.The Park Terrace, our hotel's on-site restaurant, features a spectacular view of the Detroit River skyline and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The River Runner Lounge also serves food and drinks in a relaxing atmosphere, making it popular among both locals and visitors. We have been awarded a Three Key rating from the Hotel Association of Canada's Green Key Eco-Rating Program - recognizing us as a hotel that has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Riverside Hotel Windsor
Radisson Windsor
Windsor Radisson
Windsor Riverside Inn Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Riverside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.