We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms & Friendly staff... what more could you ask for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Suites Downtown Windsor

Save Saved
You added Quality Suites Downtown Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Suites Downtown Windsor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Dougall Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 7C6, Canada (City Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean rooms & Friendly staff... what more could you ask for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were greeted by a very friendly front desk representative. She told us a bunch of information we need to get across the border PRONTO to catch a hockey game!
We had a JR suite room, which was spacious and very clean! We even forgot a few things and the staff was more than welcoming to bring it directly to our room within minutes.

There is a restaurant on site that was pretty good as well, not my personal favorite, but tasty for a late night snack.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minute walk to the Casino, but they also have a shuttle service! Great place to stay if going across the border and you don't want to stay in Detriot. It is right downtown, so there were some loud people partying, but never caused any problems and never heard a peep after 11pm. A little drive to go to the Devonshire Mall.

Overall, Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Jr Suite rooms if you have a lot of stuff or like more than just a bed and washroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments following your stay last month! It's good to hear that service was great, as expected and I'll be happy to share your comments with the team. Looking forward to having you as our guests again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    44
    18
    14
    11
See reviews for
19
31
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We decided to drive to Windsor to visit Ceasar's and play alittle. Had never been there before. Booked the room thru Choice Hotels, sight unseen. Was told it had been remodeled and we should be happy with the room. I haven't had too many good experiences with Quality Inns in the States, but decided to try it. We were very pleasantly surprised!! The suite was roomy, clean, and well maintained. We dealt with one staff member, Jenn, who was great. Very helpful with info about the area and always smiling and friendly. We happened to be here during spring break, St Patrick's day, and the beginning of March Madness. The town was one big party room. However, we saw no indication of trouble by any students, no one being rude, obnoxious, or too drunk to function. We were all thru the town during the St Patrick's Day parties. Some of the students were staying at the hotel, but there was no commotion and pretty quiet. One of the best experiences we have had. We would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. The attached resturant, Superstar/Eggsmart, Had good food and good staff. Jacquiline (sp) was one of our servers and couldn't be any more pleasant and friendly. They were understaffed, so service from the kitchen was alittle slow, but the food was good. We will do another get-a-way there in the near future.

Room Tip: We discovered that the suite was the better option vs a room. The bedroom was closed off from the LR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thanks for staying with us last weekend and for posting your review! It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit to Windsor on a beautiful St. Patrick's Day! I will be happy to share your comments with Jenn, our restaurants and the rest of our team. We look forward to hosting you on your next Windsor getaway.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

This is an older hotel, well used yet very clean and the service was beyond excellent. We stayed for a Saturday & Sunday night just to sight see around town and we rented a king room with a separate living room...and enjoyed a beautiful view of the Detroit River & Windsor Bridge. The staff were extraordinarily considerate and helpful in all our needs...something you just don't find in super-slick hotels. One example: A maintainence man walked past me as I was heading to the elevator and though I am not disabled in any way (or a cute young thing!), he quickly turned around and pushed the elevator button for my convenience! And, just as quickly walked away.
The hotel is in walking distance (a few blocks) of shopping and dining and driving around the area is fairly easy for newcomers. We will return to this hotel again. Many thanks to Cara and Steph: Super Staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Ms. Chickeral, thank you for choosing Quality Suites Windsor, and for your kind comments regarding our service. I'll definitely share them with our team. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you'll return. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

After traveling almost 5 hours, then going to a birthday party we were very tired. We checked in late. When we got up to our floor it smelled like a south Asian restaurant mixed with a fish market. All we wanted to do was get our 4 tired young children to bed. At least the door on our room was well sealed from the smell. We had to put the television on to cover up the loud talking in the hall. The carpet and furniture was worn out and stained. Our room looked nothing like the pictures on the website. The elevators smelled like cigarette smoke. The hotel cleaning equipment was left out in the hall.
The temporary (15min) parking spots we full when we arrived, and the same cars were there when we checked out in the morning. Of course we had to pay $10 to park across the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us recently. I'm very sorry to learn of the condition of some of the furnishings and cooking odours evident in the area of your suite. We do have a selection of mini-kitchen suites but any cooking aromas are typically contained within the suites. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. As a result we will monitor these areas of the hotel as well as the parking lot more frequently and take action as necessary. In future please let the Front Desk know of noise or any other issues affecting your comfort so that we can rectify them promptly. We are known to provide great service, a comfortable environment and excellent value and I hope that you will give us an opportunity to have you as our guests again under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We were in town to see the Windsor Spitfire hockey game and wanted a romm that could sleep three adults in three separate beds. The hotel worked perfectly for what we needed as the suite had a king bed in one room and a queen bed along with a sleeper sofa in another. It was easy to find and the directions provided to us when we printed our reservations lead us straight to the hotel.

The best part of the hotel was the restaurant/bar. It serves over 100 different flavors of wings, some great ribs and calamari. The service could not be beat. Some of the friendliest people we have met. We returned for breakfast which was just as good - Fresh squeezed O.J..

Overall it is a great hotel. It is not the Ritz, but we knew that going in. What it did do was greatly exceed our expections.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of your stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and both of our on-site restaurants. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Friend recently booked a trip here. Stepping into these rooms is like going back in time. Everything from the TVs, to the furniture, to the bedding looks like it's probably from the early '90s. Our carpet was badly stained all over as well.
Besides that, it was a great experience. The rooms looked and felt very clean, and the front desk and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in the middle of everything interesting downtown. It's a one minuet drive from the tunnel to Detroit and a five minute drive to the bridge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us. I apologize for the condition of the carpet in the suite you stayed in. Some of our suites are due for an upgrade and we are putting together a capital plan to address this. In the meantime, we have recently added new guest laundry facilities free for our guests and are planning to purchase new flat screen televisions. I appreciate your positive comments and will be sure to share them with our team. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Overall a great experience. The room was clean and comfortable but a bit dated but not a factor in staying again or referring someone as it was clean and comfortable. It was nice to have the ability to cook in room with the George Foreman Grill as it made a nice departure from restaurant food all the time when travelling for business. The staff were beyond helpful and extremely pleasant. Overall a 9.5/10 experience and I will definitely stay again when in Windsor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristineMelnyk, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Thanks for posting your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed staying in one of our mini kitchen suites. Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and I'm happy to share them with our team. We look forward to having you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Suites Downtown Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Downtown Windsor

Address: 250 Dougall Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 7C6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Downtown Windsor 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality Suites is Windsor's only all-suites hotel, located in downtown Windsor, near riverfront walking trails with sculpture garden, dozens of restaurants and clubs, art gallery, theatres and Caesars Windsor casino. Spacious suites with french doors separating the bedroom from living room feature a wet bar, two televisions, phones & closets. Some suites sleep up to 6 guests and mini kitchen suites are perfect for longer stays. Enjoy free internet access, 24 hour lobby coffee, tea and chilled water. Our on-site restaurants feature two concepts: Eggsmart for delicious breakfast & lunch options and Superstar Bar & Grill for dinner and evening, with a spacious patio, bar area and several screens to watch the game. Why rent a standard hotel room when for the same price you can spoil yourself with a suite? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Canada, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Quality Suites Downtown Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites Downtown Windsor Hotel Windsor
Quality Inn Windsor
Quality Hotel Downtown
Quality Suites Downtown Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Suites Downtown Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.