We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and very comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2530 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N8X 1L7, Canada (Formerly Marquis Plaza Hotel) (Remmington Park)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Great and very comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last Feb. 1- 3. Nice place and very affordable. Staff are great and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    58
    56
    44
    16
See reviews for
66
46
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed there for 1 night on Jan 20 to go to the Detroit Int'l Auto Show; booked 2 rooms. The hotel was clean and okay for a budget place, only problem is that the HVAC is antiquated and the thermostats did not work in both rooms and one can not control the temp; resulting in very hot rooms! This made for a very uncomfortable night having to turn the heat on and off manually several times during the night. Also the hairdryer did not work! We checked with other guests at the free breakfast and everybody had the same problem with heat in their rooms! If they fix or install thermostats I will be back next year, if not, forget about it, not in the winter!

Room Tip: Go in the summer as it is not possible to control the heat in the rooms in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed overnight in the Howard Johnson on Ouellette Street in Windsor. We booked the hotel because of the price, and we didn't get much more than what we paid for.
The woman at the front desk wasn't very pleasant. When we arrived the lobby tv had a Jerry Springer-like show playing loudly. We weren't even directed to our room.
The hallways stink like cigarette smoke and so did the non smoking room we were staying in. The carpet in the room was old and stained, but the room was clean. The sink, toilet and bathtub were yellow and from the 1970s. The bathroom backsplash was not wiped down and the roll of toilet paper hadn't been changed from the previous guests. The water pressure in the room was horrible.
There weren't even any vending machines with water or pop in the hotel, and when we called the front desk to ask we were treated abruptly.
The only good thing about this hotel was the price. We just needed somewhere to stay the night, so it served our purpose, but I definitely wouldn't recommended this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooretown
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Stayed here with a baseball team. Staff not friendly whatsoever. Rooms were musty and very dated. Halways were really gross. Check out was at 11am and Manager called our room at least three times just before 11am to see if we were gone. And then came up and said he was going to charge us for another night if we didn't get out. And it was five after 11 at this point. Are you kidding me??? Do not stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawmasters, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central, responded to this review, November 5, 2011
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. I am not sure I understand the reasons for your complaints. Our hotel is kept in very good condition. The carpeting in our hallways is relatively new, having been installed less than two years ago. I will admit that our guest rooms may be in need of a bit updating, but we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms and I would invite you to return when we have finished our renovations.

As for your complaint regarding check-out time, we do have to ensure that our guest rooms are made ready for the next guest's arrival. Although we do extend some latitude in terms of check-out (usually about an hour after the indicated check-out time), on busy days it is sometimes necessary that the rooms be vacated in a timely fashion to ensure that our housekeeping staff has adequate time to clean each room in time for the new arrivals. Please keep in mind that we do have a check-in time of 1:00pm, which is much earlier than most hotels. In such cases when we are busy, a courtesy call is made shortly after the indicated time of check-out has passed if the guest is still in their room to remind the guest of check-out. Only if the one hour grace period has passed will a staff member knock on the guest's door and be advised of our late check-out policy. After consulting with my staff as to the events on this day, I believe you may be mistaken as to what truly happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My sister and I drove from Whitby to Windsor to attend a family dinner one night and then a reception the next day . All we wanted in a hotel was cleanliness and comfort .We were only there for one night so were not looking for amenities such as pool or play room . It was a boiling hot day and evening so the air conditioner in our was most appreciated !
The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.
As it has been said in other reviews of this hotel, it needs modernizing but this was on the bottom of our list . We did not have breakfast there so I have no comment about it.
Fancy it is not but it was just great for what we needed ! I'd definitely stay there again .




.
iwere only in the room

Room Tip: I called ahead to make sure that we had a room with a working air conditioner .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawmasters, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm glad that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. We will soon be undertaking renovations to our rooms. I would invite you to come back at the end of the year to see our newly-remodelled rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family and I stayed here for one night on a road trip across North America. Super convenient - very close to the Detroit/Windsor tunnel. It was a clean, average room... Nothing to write home about. Kind of out-dated looking decor, and a little small, but hey, at least it was clean and cheap! Also, we only had two bath towels in the room, but you can get more at the front desk.

They also had free printing (up to 5 pages), which was very nice for printing some last minute directions! The lady at the front desk was very helpful and printed them out for us on the office printer when the one in the lobby didn't work.

Also, there are waffles and a decent selection of muffins and fruit for breakfast. That was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawmasters, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to see that your overall experience at our hotel was an enjoyable one. As for our decor, we will be updating our rooms over the next several months. Our rooms will have a more contemporary look and I would invite you to return to our hotel at the end of the year or next year to see the changes that we have implemented. I'm sure you will be happy with our renovations. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, On
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel was really outdated, and the first 2 rooms I checked into had non functioning
a/c units. The temperature was around 37 celsius (100 farenheit) so a/c was a must.
The staff was friendly though just not very helpful when it came to activities in Windsor

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawmasters, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry your stay was troubled by the problems you outlined in your comment above. However, please understand that our establishment has recently converted from an indepedent hotel to a Howard Johnson and we will be undertaking renovations shortly. I am certain that the next time you stay at our hotel, you will find our guest rooms to be more contemporary in appearance. Our rooms will also have guest directories, which will provide our guests with information about local attractions and events, and part of that process will be to ensure that our front desk staff are properly informed about what is going on in the city. Finally, I apologize for the problems you encountered with our air conditioning units. We have instituted new measures to ensure that this problem does not occur again. I hope this satisfactorily addresses the various issues you noted and I would invite you to come back to our hotel again to see the progress that we have made in responding to your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central

Address: 2530 Ouellette Avenue, Windsor, Ontario N8X 1L7, Canada (Formerly Marquis Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor > Remmington Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts and convenience of a midtown hotel without the clamor and costs of a downtown hotel. Centrally-located in Windsor, Ontario, just five minutes from the downtown core and within minutes of Caesars Windsor Casino, the Detroit Tunnel and the Devonshire Mall, the Marquis Plaza is the ideal hub around which to plan your visit to Windsor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marquis Plaza Windsor
Marquis Plaza Hotel Windsor
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Windsor Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.