We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Windsor
Seaforth, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Staff was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel were amazing. The location is nice, close to river. I've seen better pools but not bad, little deck off the pool area was nice to sit outside. Food at the restaurant was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Sara M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review about our hotel. We always like to hear back from our guests.

I have shared your comments with the staff so everyone may read how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    42
    22
    16
    16
See reviews for
21
30
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel this month and were very pleased with the experience. Our room was very comfortable with a good bed and wonderful reading corner--big upholstered chair with ottoman and a nice side table for a drink and a snack. The maid service was very pleasant and thorough. The young women in the desk were also very courteous and accommodating. My only complaint is that the room doesn't include breakfast, although the restaurant in the hotel was adequate for our needs (breakfast and a late-night snack).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear joannafrancis,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. I have printed out your review so that all of the staff may see your kind words. While we do not offer a breakfast with every room, we do have a package available which includes breakfast if you would be interested for your next visit with us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Set in the hub of the city, this hotel is close to shopping, major hospital, government and court house buildings. It is easy to walk to these locations and it is a perfect place to stay and enjoy the world famous international fireworks display and other events that the city of Windsor hosts. I am often in Windsor for business and on occasion will bring my family. The kids love the pool and my teenagers love the nightlife. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and greet me by name. This makes my stay feel like a home away from home. Thank you Holiday Inn Windsor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Stephen L,

Thank you for a lovely review. I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time while visiting Windsor and our hotel. We enjoy welcoming you back to our hotel every time you stay, and always enjoy seeing how the kids are growing up!

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Yours in Hospitality,

Sheila Morton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is located in downtown Windsor, at a central location. The lobby was comfortable and the front desk staff were efficient. The hotel room unfortunately faced a digital display on a neighbouring building (to the North) which was quite bright, however thick curtains blocked out the shifting light patterns. The bathroom was average, though the absence of the fan meant I tried to keep the shower short. The bed was comfortable, and offered both soft and firm pillows (which were clearly marked, nice touch). There was a pool onsite, parking, and a restaurant, but I did not get to try these.

My own stay was short - I arrived at 11:30 on a Sunday (for work) and checked out at 8:00 AM the next morning. Checking was quite smooth despite the lateness of the hour. As mentioned, I didn't try any of the facilities but the photographs were quite nice. The hotel decor felt a bit older, but was servicable for an overnight visit. Checkout was fast and the front desk checked for Priority Club membership, which was great since I didn't think to. Transporation (buses and cabs) were available when I left in the morning, but I was close enough to walk to my destination, which was also great.

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room on the West (Ouellette) or South sides. (Bright advertisement on a bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear MeadowvaleON,

Thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We love to hear feedback from every guest who stays with us.

I do apologize for the bright digital display on the adjacent building and the fan being inoperable during your stay. I have spoken with my Maintenance team to repair the fan.

I have shared your comments with our entire hotel team so they may know how well your stay was. We would love to welcome you back to out hotel again in the future, hopefully for a longer stay.

Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located right, smack in the middle of it all. There are bars, restaurants right outside and the casino a 5 minute walk away.
The front desk staff were very plesant and efficient. Room was very clean.
Beds were comfy...even the cot that they provided at an additional cost $10

Just a few small hints;
-There was a bit of noise coming from a nightclub called Sin across the street. If you think that this might bother you, ask for a room not facing Oulette.
-Parking is very close up top. If this is a problem for you, skip by the priority parking and go past the elevator. There are larger spots over there

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear smile2000star,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time while staying with us. I have printed out your comments to share with the entire hotel team so they may hear how well they did.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me at 519-256-4656.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We came into Windsor for New Years Eve and took the chance that they would have a room availble and they did. The staff were friendly as ever, and we had a great night. THe price was a bit high, but we knew we didn't make a reservation in advace. We love this hotel because it is so close to everything, the staff are friendly, and the price is usually reasonable.

This time we had a room on the street side, adn while it was noisier, it wasn't too bad. I prefer the rooms on the tunnel side. Less people yelling around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed for a meeting for one night. Nice, large, clean rooms, comfy king bed. Bathroom was a bit small, but nice. Overlooked the security clearance into Canada from the US, so we could hear people talking all night long, probably security guards, and we were on a higher floor as well. Parking is a bit strange. I signed up for the free Priority Club to get points, and they gave us free water and granola bars in our room, plus Priority parking in nice spaces close to the elevator. Friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: My room overlooked the border crossing and I could hear people talking outside all night. Perhaps tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIWINDSOR, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear purpleplumeria,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate it.

I am glad you had such an enjoyable experience with us. I have printed out your review so that our entire hotel team can read your positive comments.

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown

Address: 430 Ouellette Ave, Windsor, Ontario N9A 1B2, Canada (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Downtown Windsor Hotel Welcomes You. Our hotel offers the ideal location for business travelers and vacationers in the heart of downtown Windsor. Recently changed to 100% non-smoking and centrally located on Ouellette Avenue, our guests are just steps away from dining and nightlife. Enjoy our on-site restaurant, "On The Avenue" for lunch, dinner or the all-day breakfast where kids under 12 eat free. It also features a cocktail lounge and a seasonal patio where you can relax and be seen on the strip. You’ll find plenty to do, from swimming in our heated indoor pool to working out at the fitness center. Our warm, friendly, multilingual staff are ready to accommodate your needs. We offer conference and catering services as well as a business center and meeting space. We are also just steps away from Caesars Casino, The Chrysler Theatre, and minutes from Detroit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Hotel Windsor
Ramada Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Windsor Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.