We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Windsor

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Windsor to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2955 Dougall Ave., Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2 Trips, 1 Night Free*
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We were in Windsor for a single night to attend a brief social event and needed a budget hotel that was pet friendly. We opted for this hotel and were not disappointed.

Check-in was polite and friendly and in chatting with the receptionists we asked what to do with our dog when we went out for about 2 hours. They said she should be fine in the room but if she barked too much they would check on her and if needed call us on our cell phone for one of us to come back.

We went to the event and when we came back found the dog had been taken down to reception as she had been barking and had sounded 'anxious'. The staff were great and the dog was just sitting there enjoying watching everyone coming and going - They said they didnt call us to come back as the dog calmed down once out of the room and just sat quietly beside them and was no problem. The receptionist was obviously a 'dog person' and we had a good deal of interaction with them about this as we definitely appreciated them going that extra mile.

Over and above this, we also found when we checked in that not only did we get a free continental breakfast - which was your no frills basic - but decent - breakfast, but they also put a pot of chilli in the breakfast room so guests could have a bowl during the evening if they wished. It was quite good too !!!! They also put out some cookies later and they were nice also !

The rooms were nothing special and although we were in a non smoking area you could tell that it had either been a smoking area previously or that some guests had been smoking in the corridor or other rooms as the smell was there but it was not overly strong so no big deal.

I had fairly low expectations of the hotel, but left pleasantly surprised and feeling we had received value for money. Given that this was a budget hotel, the biggest plus point in our stay was the staff. They were excellent and if/when we visit Windsor again in the future then this hotel will likely be where we stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestserver, Guest Services Representative at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, May 15, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful feedback about your stay. As a whole, we take pride in our guest service and going the extra mile to make ALL of our guests comfortable is always our goal. We look forward to your return with us at the Comfort Inn the next time you come to Windsor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
20
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Went to the Comfort Inn in Windsor for a wedding in late September, after learning that the hotel in our original group booking had a new review warning of bed bugs. This hotel provided us with a very reasonable group rate even if it was at the last minute. They were able to give us an entire row of rooms on the first floor, with each access to the outside from our room. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Coffe was available near the lobby 24/7. A continental breakfast was included everyday and was just right for us. The staff was also quite friendly. A large shopping mall is minutes away, which kept the ladys in our party busy in our leisure time.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My 2nd or 3rd time staying at this hotel, I've always found it clean and comfortable, with staff which have always been welcoming and friendly. I like the little things with this hotel like the freshly brewed coffee, and homemade cookies in the evening, with a very clean and decent continental breakfast. The price is definately right at $85.00 a night CAA rate, while the hotel is located next to the EC Row expressway and near several area restaurants and malls. The room was clean, fresh smelling and all I really needed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnwindsor, Assistant General Manager at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, January 26, 2010
We appreciate the feedback and are pleased to hear that our efforts in the coffee area, breakfast room and guest service have enhanced your visits to Windsor. It is always our aim to provide a great guest experience and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

When we arrived, I was apprehensive. This hotel does not look inviting on the outside. The reception folks were smiling and friendly. The hallways were clean. The room was good sized and clean. Not overly up to date. But for a road stop on the way to Toronto it was $40 less per night than the competition and a great value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnwindsor, Assistant General Manager at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, November 4, 2009
We appreciate reviews that emphasize our commitment to guest service. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel to be clean and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again on your next trip through Windsor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

There's nothing extraordinary about the Comfort Inn. I was greeted by friendly staff, and my room was clean, and of a good size. I was very satisfied with my stay, for how much I payed. It certainly beats other hotels I've stayed at in Windsor, namely the Howard Johnson!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnwindsor, Assistant Manager at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, August 29, 2009
Thank you for your review. We aim to provide our guests with great service and a clean, comfortable room, and it pleases us immensely to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

Booked based of site reviews and a locals recomendation. Not a nice place at all. Staff were very nice at checkin but the place stunk in the hallways. Its got a real dank vibe to it. Room was ... very Tijuana 2 star. Small, cheap ... a concrete buker with a cheap bed that was wowed in the middle, cheap beddng, thin pillows and zero amenities. The room reeked of a fake cherry scent they really layed on to cover up the dirty smell that lingered underneath. Extremely cheap all around except the rate. The rate is quite high compared to bette properties. This hotel appears to have been a real fleabag joint that Comfort renovated on the cheap about 10 years ago? I dont know this this is just the impression I got. Everything was on the cheap. You could not get a cheaper bed, cheaper bathroom, cheap 19" TV that some other hotel must have thrown out years ago. Seriously - I have not seen a TV like it since the early 90's - even pawnshops stopped selling them. Its been a long time since I've seen a room like this .... most roadside motels have better rooms. If it were 40 bucks I would have called it fair (and avoided it) but 2.5 times that - no thanks. They also allow 2 pets per room - This might explain the smells. I couldnt stay and checked out immediately. The staff was nice about this too. They get top marks for freindly counter staff.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnwindsor, Assistant Manager at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Thank you for the feedback on your room. We are glad to hear that our staff lived up to your expectations, as far as guest service is concerned. The guest service provided by our staff is a point of pride with us and has won several awards. Unfortunately, as we were very booked up in June, it would appear that you were checked into one of our older rooms. The majority of our rooms have been renovated in the last couple of years, including having new beds that many guests have spoken very highly of, both to us and on this site. The rooms that have not yet been done are scheduled for the next round of (impending) renovations and will soon have the same comfortable new beds and amenities as the rest of our rooms. We understand how important this is to our guests and appreciate that you took the time to offer your opinion on the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed one night at this Comfort Inn, and would highly recommend it, based on the high standard of customer service, and the clean and quiet room. As a family with young children, we appreciated the fridge in the room, and the continental breakfast in the morning. I was impressed even before we checked in, as I received an email a couple of days before our scheduled stay, confirming our accommodation, and providing information about the weather and things to do in Windsor.

Once we got to the Comfort Inn, the check in was friendly and smooth, and we received a call 30 minutes later in our room, to confirm that everything was to our satisfaction. Checkout was just as smooth and friendly. I have stayed at expensive four star hotels, and not received nearly the same warmth and helpful service as at the Dougall St. Comfort Inn. We would definitely return if we were in Windsor in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnwindsor, Assistant Manager at Comfort Inn Windsor, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
Thank you for your comments! At the Comfort Inn Windsor, we pride ourselves on the quality of service provided to our guests, and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Windsor

Address: 2955 Dougall Ave., Windsor, Ontario N9E 1S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Windsor is a pet-friendly hotel nestled in beautiful suburban South Windsor with easy access to 401, EC Row and all major transportation hubs and border crossings. Ten minutes' drive to downtown Windsor's exciting nightlife and Caesars Windsor Casino; moments away from Devonshire Mall and dining can be found nearby. Free Comfort Sunshine breakfast and award-winning service will ensure a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Windsor Hotel Windsor
Windsor Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Windsor Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;