We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stop Over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Stop Over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn in Windsor on Huron Church Rd, last Friday & Saturday for a convention. The hotel is an older hotel, but it was clean and the staff were knowledgeable and friendly, even the maids. The meeting rooms were good, although we did run out of chairs. We ate in the hotel restaurant, the food was acceptable, but the service was slow to stop speed. There were people in the Exercise Room, small , but clean. (I mean the room, not the people)
Good clear TV. Front lobby was big and functional. I slept well, although the beds definitely had several years on them. Disappointed that breakfast was not included. Pool was closed for renovations, but they did give tickets to swim at the hotel across the street.

Room Tip: If you are attending meetings in the basement, take a room on the first floor or second floor. The m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We certainly enjoyed having your conference here at the hotel and we have received excellent feedback from the conveners.

With your large convention, we were certainly at our limit with our regular meeting chairs but we able to provide additional chairs upon request.

We certainly do apologize for the mechanical issues with the elevator and as soon as the elevator went "down" the company was called. Unfortunately, they did not have the part required in stock so the repair time was delayed.

Thank you for your comments regarding Grill 55. I will certainly pass those along to the Food and Beverage director to address.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is certainly appreciated and we look forward to hosting your conference again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
24
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I only stayed here one night on business. Good hotel near the bridge, easy to get too.
Clean hotel, staff very friendly, Just what I expect when I stay at a Holiday Inn. I tried Tim Horton's located in their parking lot. Everyone I know in Canada say's the coffee is the best in the world, I would not go that far, but the coffee was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future!

Many thanks and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel is excellent in all respects, with possible exception of restaurant which I would only rate as good. Good choice for a hotel in Windsor. Quiet location. Tim Horton's nearby for your morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Good afternoon. Thank you for your comments regarding your stay! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I have forwarded your comments on to the Food and Beverage Director at the restaurant.

Once again thank you for your time and consideration, and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

stayed in the property Sep 20 - 22 as part of a weekend hockey tournament for my son. Our association makes it a point of staying in this property when we visit in September and in January for tournaments. King executive suite was clean and modern. Pool and exercise room met our needs. Hotel staff was agreeable for the most part given the property was full and very busy. No included breakfast however there are a number of options nearby......including the Tim Hortons right adjacent to the hotel. Staff were doing the best to accomodate young hockey players and their parents. Hospitality rooms in the basement certainly helped keep the noise to a minimum on the floors above. Our team will be back in January for OMHAs. Will be in touch with Kim soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the hotel during your son's hockey tournament.

We are a very popular hotel on weekends with sports teams and do our best to accommodate the multitude of requests that we receive during busy weekends.

We hope that your son had a great tournament and we look forward to having you stay with us again in January. Thanks again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Large Holiday Inn - Well situated from the Ambassador Bridge to / from the US. Large Parking lot - No extra charge to park. Large lobby - small snack bar adjacent to from desk. Nice restaurant - Grill 55 attached to hotel. full breakfast / room service. Room was nice and clean - carpets could use an upgrade ... bathroom was clean - water hot .. T.V was in good condition. bed was comfortable with a good assortment of pillows. All in all a good stay - will stay again.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ice machine & elevators - which would be rooms ending in 01 / 18, 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good morning!

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge while in Windsor. We appreciate your business and for posting your comments on this site.

We are very proud of our hotel and always strive to ensure that our guests have a great experience when staying here.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. We booked a room that had a kitchenette which was very convenient. The king bed was comfortable. The mattress in the pull out couch was a little worn and thin and would not be comfortable for an adult to sleep on (blanket needs replacing). The kids had a great time at the pool but be sure to bring your own towel as the towel supply was limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay this past weekend. We were definitely busy with the hockey teams and do our best to try and keep up with the towels/pool area. Our pool is a very busy spot on weekends...which is great! Many Marco Polo games have been played in that pool!

I will definitely pass along your comments regarding the pull out sofa to our Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager so that these concerns can be addressed and reviewed.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites and we look forward to having you stay with us next time. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was here for the night as I was commuting to Toronto. The hotel was more than satisfactory. The staff was very professional and courteous. The room was nice and comfortable. It was very clean with a really comfortable bed. The rate was reasonable for this area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Ambassador Bridge as your accommodation partner during your stay in Windsor. We are very pleased that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

If you are a frequent traveller and enjoy collecting points, please review the new and improved IHG Rewards Program (formerly Priority Club). It's a great program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn and Suites is the only full service property on Huron Church Road and is located approximately six kilometers from the vibrant downtown Windsor. Our property has a restaurant onsite offering breakfast, lunch and dinner along with room service 7 days a week. Currently our hotel has completed the first phase of our 5 million dollar renovation and will be completed in its entirety by November 2011. Our fresh, updated and inviting lobby welcomes you upon your arrival. Our main floor meeting rooms have been updated in addition to 3 of our 7 guestrooms floors. The remaining guestroom floors and the lower lobby renovations will be starting in July giving us the newest and most updated product to offer our guests. Our onsite restaurant is currently undergoing a full renovation which will be completed in August 2011 and we will then welcome “Grill 55” to our family! We continue to offer breakfast, lunch and dinner from our Piccadilly Pub during the renovations so our guests will not notice any disruptions with our restaurant operations. Our large indoor saltwater pool is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the day and our newly renovated fitness room is tucked in behind the pool area with very well maintained equipment! Additionally your guestroom rate includes complimentary parking, high speed wireless internet, local and 1 800 calls and a business kiosk in the lobby available 24/7 for those wishing to stay connected! With 214 specious rooms for all of you travelling needs we welcome you to the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor Ambassador Bridge – STAY YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.