We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay in Windsor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Ayr, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay in Windsor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Large Holiday Inn - Well situated from the Ambassador Bridge to / from the US. Large Parking lot - No extra charge to park. Large lobby - small snack bar adjacent to from desk. Nice restaurant - Grill 55 attached to hotel. full breakfast / room service. Room was nice and clean - carpets could use an upgrade ... bathroom was clean - water hot .. T.V was in good condition. bed was comfortable with a good assortment of pillows. All in all a good stay - will stay again.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the ice machine & elevators - which would be rooms ending in 01 / 18, 19...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Good morning!

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge while in Windsor. We appreciate your business and for posting your comments on this site.

We are very proud of our hotel and always strive to ensure that our guests have a great experience when staying here.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
37
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey tournament. We booked a room that had a kitchenette which was very convenient. The king bed was comfortable. The mattress in the pull out couch was a little worn and thin and would not be comfortable for an adult to sleep on (blanket needs replacing). The kids had a great time at the pool but be sure to bring your own towel as the towel supply was limited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay this past weekend. We were definitely busy with the hockey teams and do our best to try and keep up with the towels/pool area. Our pool is a very busy spot on weekends...which is great! Many Marco Polo games have been played in that pool!

I will definitely pass along your comments regarding the pull out sofa to our Executive Housekeeper and Rooms Division Manager so that these concerns can be addressed and reviewed.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites and we look forward to having you stay with us next time. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was here for the night as I was commuting to Toronto. The hotel was more than satisfactory. The staff was very professional and courteous. The room was nice and comfortable. It was very clean with a really comfortable bed. The rate was reasonable for this area. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Ambassador Bridge as your accommodation partner during your stay in Windsor. We are very pleased that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

If you are a frequent traveller and enjoy collecting points, please review the new and improved IHG Rewards Program (formerly Priority Club). It's a great program!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were upgraded to a two room king bedded suite, which was nice. It was large, except for the bathroom & clean. Although not that much better than that of the Super 8 in Peterborough, ON which was much cheaper. The staff were very friendly & allowed us a complementary late check out. The pool was nice. It was clean throughout. The attached restaurant Grill 55, which we learned is not part of the hotel was horrendous though. Food was edible, just, but the service was diabolical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites during your stay in Windsor. We certainly appreciate your comments and are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in our hotel and work to ensure that all of our guests are pleased with their stay. When making price comparisons you have to consider the services and amenities offered by each property.

I would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience with Grill 55. I will certainly pass along your comments and concerns to the Food and Beverage Director for Sodexo so that he is aware of this.

Many thanks for your time and consideration and we hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornbury, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Reception was very professional, and my room was quickly changed when a minor problem presented itself. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi, and there was an onsite restaurant, but no complimentary breakfast. I stayed on the 7th floor..elevators where fast. The hotel is modern and offers clean well-appointed rooms with all the amenities. While I found the room rate overpriced for a hotel that was located on a busy major artery, it was convenient and provided a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: The higher floors were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay! We are very conveniently located about 2 kilometres from the Ambassador Bridge and very easily accessible.

We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aurora, on
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here one night on business after crossing the border from Detroit. It's location is good and the hotel is pretty modernized. The 2 complaints I have about this location are the price (hotels in nicer parts of Metro Detroit are cheaper at IHG brands) and the old noisy air conditioning units in the rooms. I was pleased with the overall experience and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback during your last stay!

We are certainly priced differently from the hotels in the Metro Detroit area because the supply in Detroit is much greater than in Windsor, resulting in lower pricing.

Also, I do apologize if the air conditioning unitl in your room was noisy. I do hope that you called our front desk during your stay to have our maintenance team service the unit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus,oh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Its not a bad hotel, its just not that great of a hotel. Looks like one of those old Journeys End from the 1980's re-flagged as a Holiday Inn. Looks like its gets a lot of business as its tired..
This hotel is located right down the street from the Ambassador Bridge, one of the busiest border crossings for trucks in the world. Non stop roaring semi trucks all day and night in front of the hotel. Its can get crazy pulling into the hotel or getting out.
Parking lot is crowded as it may be used for Toronto Airport Shuttle customer parking.
Food choices are limited to a "Grille" inside the hotel which seems overpriced compared to the type of hotel customer who is at the hotel. Everyone seems to walk across the parking lot to Tim Hortons to eat.. Walking across the street can be dangerous.. Views from the hotel include industrial storage or the parade of trucks.
Stayed in a large suite(Which they originally booked us in a small room) which had the first windowless room I've ever slept in. WiFi is horrible unless on the first floor. A/C works sometimes. A/C had to be removed from our room and repaired.Basically you felt like you were in a movie where the hotel stay was going to be interesting. Elevators sometimes worked well, sometimes not.Maids were so-so with service. Tiny whirlpool in room.
To conclude check other hotels in the area and compare before you book at this hotel. Its not a bad hotel, it just needs a major refresh.Its a blah hotel...

Room Tip: Avoid the "*01" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites.

We value your comments and appreciate your business as well!

The Holiday Inn and Suites offers the most "refreshed" product in Windsor and have invested over 5 million dollars in the past two and a half years. We are located on Huron Church Road, however, our property is located approximately 600 feet back from the roadway. All other properties in our area located very close to the street. Access into our hotel is not from Huron Church Road. The entrances are located off of Malden Road and Ambassador Drive and like any city street, the traffic can be busy depending on the time of day.

Our parking lot is busy due to the fact that we are a very busy hotel. We are very proud to be busy, and value the partnerships that we have with both Robert Q Airbus service and Grill 55. Those taking the Robert Q are treated with complimentary parking at our hotel for the duration of their trip, and have a designated parking area which does not interfere with parking for our guests. Grill 55 offers a wide variety of choices on their menu, with competitive prices catering to our valued and varied client base.

Based on your comment regarding your guestroom, I summize that you stayed in a "one bedroom" suite which has a separate bedroom, which does not have a window. However, the separate living area has a large window, second bathroom, sitting area and small kitchenette.
Like all appliances, there are times when maintenence needs to be completed and I am very happy that our maintenance team reacted to your request, and was able to repair the air conditioner. Also, when every hotel is busy, the elevators are utlized 24/7 and guests can experience a slight wait time depending on the time of day.

Once again, thank you for your comment. All feedback from our clients is appreciated!


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
City Centre
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#4 of 34 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.