We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location once you cross the bridge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Thornbury, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Excellent location once you cross the bridge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Reception was very professional, and my room was quickly changed when a minor problem presented itself. The hotel offers free parking and WiFi, and there was an onsite restaurant, but no complimentary breakfast. I stayed on the 7th floor..elevators where fast. The hotel is modern and offers clean well-appointed rooms with all the amenities. While I found the room rate overpriced for a hotel that was located on a busy major artery, it was convenient and provided a comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: The higher floors were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay! We are very conveniently located about 2 kilometres from the Ambassador Bridge and very easily accessible.

We certainly appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    83
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
24
10
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aurora, on
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed here one night on business after crossing the border from Detroit. It's location is good and the hotel is pretty modernized. The 2 complaints I have about this location are the price (hotels in nicer parts of Metro Detroit are cheaper at IHG brands) and the old noisy air conditioning units in the rooms. I was pleased with the overall experience and would consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback during your last stay!

We are certainly priced differently from the hotels in the Metro Detroit area because the supply in Detroit is much greater than in Windsor, resulting in lower pricing.

Also, I do apologize if the air conditioning unitl in your room was noisy. I do hope that you called our front desk during your stay to have our maintenance team service the unit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus,oh
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Its not a bad hotel, its just not that great of a hotel. Looks like one of those old Journeys End from the 1980's re-flagged as a Holiday Inn. Looks like its gets a lot of business as its tired..
This hotel is located right down the street from the Ambassador Bridge, one of the busiest border crossings for trucks in the world. Non stop roaring semi trucks all day and night in front of the hotel. Its can get crazy pulling into the hotel or getting out.
Parking lot is crowded as it may be used for Toronto Airport Shuttle customer parking.
Food choices are limited to a "Grille" inside the hotel which seems overpriced compared to the type of hotel customer who is at the hotel. Everyone seems to walk across the parking lot to Tim Hortons to eat.. Walking across the street can be dangerous.. Views from the hotel include industrial storage or the parade of trucks.
Stayed in a large suite(Which they originally booked us in a small room) which had the first windowless room I've ever slept in. WiFi is horrible unless on the first floor. A/C works sometimes. A/C had to be removed from our room and repaired.Basically you felt like you were in a movie where the hotel stay was going to be interesting. Elevators sometimes worked well, sometimes not.Maids were so-so with service. Tiny whirlpool in room.
To conclude check other hotels in the area and compare before you book at this hotel. Its not a bad hotel, it just needs a major refresh.Its a blah hotel...

Room Tip: Avoid the "*01" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites.

We value your comments and appreciate your business as well!

The Holiday Inn and Suites offers the most "refreshed" product in Windsor and have invested over 5 million dollars in the past two and a half years. We are located on Huron Church Road, however, our property is located approximately 600 feet back from the roadway. All other properties in our area located very close to the street. Access into our hotel is not from Huron Church Road. The entrances are located off of Malden Road and Ambassador Drive and like any city street, the traffic can be busy depending on the time of day.

Our parking lot is busy due to the fact that we are a very busy hotel. We are very proud to be busy, and value the partnerships that we have with both Robert Q Airbus service and Grill 55. Those taking the Robert Q are treated with complimentary parking at our hotel for the duration of their trip, and have a designated parking area which does not interfere with parking for our guests. Grill 55 offers a wide variety of choices on their menu, with competitive prices catering to our valued and varied client base.

Based on your comment regarding your guestroom, I summize that you stayed in a "one bedroom" suite which has a separate bedroom, which does not have a window. However, the separate living area has a large window, second bathroom, sitting area and small kitchenette.
Like all appliances, there are times when maintenence needs to be completed and I am very happy that our maintenance team reacted to your request, and was able to repair the air conditioner. Also, when every hotel is busy, the elevators are utlized 24/7 and guests can experience a slight wait time depending on the time of day.

Once again, thank you for your comment. All feedback from our clients is appreciated!


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. There was a storm that weekend that messed with the electrical so I had to take the stairs up a number of floors but that's hardly the hotel's fault. Clean basic hotel, nice staff at the front desk. Hot water in the showers. Internet worked fine barring the electrical issues. Ample free parking. Right next door to a Tim Hortons! My only real complaint is the beds were too soft and it was a bit pricey for a Holiday Inn. I'd stay here again though if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback! We certainly appreciate your business and hope that we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

In addition to the Tim Hortons in our parking lot, we have our own full service restaurant on site - Grill 55 and a number of other food outlets across the street. We also have umbrellas at our front desk for those that visit during inclimate weather.

We appreciate your patience during the storm and we do our best to ensure that all of our guests are safe and well taken care of.

Have a great afternoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'd never thought to stay at a Holiday Inn before, but I'm glad I did! It was a great stay; the staff were very helpful, and even arranged a slightly later check-out time the day after I was in a wedding party (appreciated!). It was very clean and conveniently located. My parents (avid travellers) had coincidently stayed here when travelling home from the US a week before I was due to, and were similarly surprised by how nice a stay they had, and recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Ambassador Bridge. We are very pleased that both you and your parents had a very enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our entire team works very hard to make sure that our guests leave with a very memorable experience.

Thanks again for choosing our wonderful hotel and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed on two different occasions, and both times the air conditioners were beasts. You know, they start up, but they aren't lined up quite right so it sounds like the Tin Man is trying to get free. Good rooms otherwise. Good staff. I really don't know what else to type to make my 200 character minimum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites while visiting the Windsor area.

Should any of our guests experience difficulties with anything in their guestroom, we encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk immediately. We have a full maintenence team on staff that will take care of any issues that you may encounter. Please just let us know and we'll make it right for you!

We hope that we have the chance to host you again in the future and many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hotel for Windsor - the staff are hit or miss but overall are kind. Waldo, Zeinab, and Brandi were awesome! Made us feel special - enjoy the pantry, free internet, and pool which is not too populated.

The location is convenient for travelers - close to USA and Windsor malls.

Overall, would stay again but wish they had a complimentary breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a room upgrade on the 8th floor if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for selecting the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge as your hotel of choice!

I am pleased to share your feedback with our Front Office Manager regarding the staff members that you mentioned.

Although we do not offer a complimentary breakfast, we are the only "true" full service hotel in our neighborhood with our onsite restaurant - Grill 55 - serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. For those guests that enjoy dining in the comfort of their guestroom, we offer room service as well!

Once again, thank you for your comments and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn and Suites is the only full service property on Huron Church Road and is located approximately six kilometers from the vibrant downtown Windsor. Our property has a restaurant onsite offering breakfast, lunch and dinner along with room service 7 days a week. Currently our hotel has completed the first phase of our 5 million dollar renovation and will be completed in its entirety by November 2011. Our fresh, updated and inviting lobby welcomes you upon your arrival. Our main floor meeting rooms have been updated in addition to 3 of our 7 guestrooms floors. The remaining guestroom floors and the lower lobby renovations will be starting in July giving us the newest and most updated product to offer our guests. Our onsite restaurant is currently undergoing a full renovation which will be completed in August 2011 and we will then welcome “Grill 55” to our family! We continue to offer breakfast, lunch and dinner from our Piccadilly Pub during the renovations so our guests will not notice any disruptions with our restaurant operations. Our large indoor saltwater pool is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the day and our newly renovated fitness room is tucked in behind the pool area with very well maintained equipment! Additionally your guestroom rate includes complimentary parking, high speed wireless internet, local and 1 800 calls and a business kiosk in the lobby available 24/7 for those wishing to stay connected! With 214 specious rooms for all of you travelling needs we welcome you to the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor Ambassador Bridge – STAY YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.