We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Blah" Hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge to your Saves list
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
columbus,oh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The "Blah" Hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Its not a bad hotel, its just not that great of a hotel. Looks like one of those old Journeys End from the 1980's re-flagged as a Holiday Inn. Looks like its gets a lot of business as its tired..
This hotel is located right down the street from the Ambassador Bridge, one of the busiest border crossings for trucks in the world. Non stop roaring semi trucks all day and night in front of the hotel. Its can get crazy pulling into the hotel or getting out.
Parking lot is crowded as it may be used for Toronto Airport Shuttle customer parking.
Food choices are limited to a "Grille" inside the hotel which seems overpriced compared to the type of hotel customer who is at the hotel. Everyone seems to walk across the parking lot to Tim Hortons to eat.. Walking across the street can be dangerous.. Views from the hotel include industrial storage or the parade of trucks.
Stayed in a large suite(Which they originally booked us in a small room) which had the first windowless room I've ever slept in. WiFi is horrible unless on the first floor. A/C works sometimes. A/C had to be removed from our room and repaired.Basically you felt like you were in a movie where the hotel stay was going to be interesting. Elevators sometimes worked well, sometimes not.Maids were so-so with service. Tiny whirlpool in room.
To conclude check other hotels in the area and compare before you book at this hotel. Its not a bad hotel, it just needs a major refresh.Its a blah hotel...

Room Tip: Avoid the "*01" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites.

We value your comments and appreciate your business as well!

The Holiday Inn and Suites offers the most "refreshed" product in Windsor and have invested over 5 million dollars in the past two and a half years. We are located on Huron Church Road, however, our property is located approximately 600 feet back from the roadway. All other properties in our area located very close to the street. Access into our hotel is not from Huron Church Road. The entrances are located off of Malden Road and Ambassador Drive and like any city street, the traffic can be busy depending on the time of day.

Our parking lot is busy due to the fact that we are a very busy hotel. We are very proud to be busy, and value the partnerships that we have with both Robert Q Airbus service and Grill 55. Those taking the Robert Q are treated with complimentary parking at our hotel for the duration of their trip, and have a designated parking area which does not interfere with parking for our guests. Grill 55 offers a wide variety of choices on their menu, with competitive prices catering to our valued and varied client base.

Based on your comment regarding your guestroom, I summize that you stayed in a "one bedroom" suite which has a separate bedroom, which does not have a window. However, the separate living area has a large window, second bathroom, sitting area and small kitchenette.
Like all appliances, there are times when maintenence needs to be completed and I am very happy that our maintenance team reacted to your request, and was able to repair the air conditioner. Also, when every hotel is busy, the elevators are utlized 24/7 and guests can experience a slight wait time depending on the time of day.

Once again, thank you for your comment. All feedback from our clients is appreciated!


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    30
    13
    11
See reviews for
61
37
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in July. There was a storm that weekend that messed with the electrical so I had to take the stairs up a number of floors but that's hardly the hotel's fault. Clean basic hotel, nice staff at the front desk. Hot water in the showers. Internet worked fine barring the electrical issues. Ample free parking. Right next door to a Tim Hortons! My only real complaint is the beds were too soft and it was a bit pricey for a Holiday Inn. I'd stay here again though if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback! We certainly appreciate your business and hope that we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future.

In addition to the Tim Hortons in our parking lot, we have our own full service restaurant on site - Grill 55 and a number of other food outlets across the street. We also have umbrellas at our front desk for those that visit during inclimate weather.

We appreciate your patience during the storm and we do our best to ensure that all of our guests are safe and well taken care of.

Have a great afternoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'd never thought to stay at a Holiday Inn before, but I'm glad I did! It was a great stay; the staff were very helpful, and even arranged a slightly later check-out time the day after I was in a wedding party (appreciated!). It was very clean and conveniently located. My parents (avid travellers) had coincidently stayed here when travelling home from the US a week before I was due to, and were similarly surprised by how nice a stay they had, and recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Holiday Inn & Suites Ambassador Bridge. We are very pleased that both you and your parents had a very enjoyable experience at our hotel. Our entire team works very hard to make sure that our guests leave with a very memorable experience.

Thanks again for choosing our wonderful hotel and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed on two different occasions, and both times the air conditioners were beasts. You know, they start up, but they aren't lined up quite right so it sounds like the Tin Man is trying to get free. Good rooms otherwise. Good staff. I really don't know what else to type to make my 200 character minimum.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites while visiting the Windsor area.

Should any of our guests experience difficulties with anything in their guestroom, we encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk immediately. We have a full maintenence team on staff that will take care of any issues that you may encounter. Please just let us know and we'll make it right for you!

We hope that we have the chance to host you again in the future and many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great hotel for Windsor - the staff are hit or miss but overall are kind. Waldo, Zeinab, and Brandi were awesome! Made us feel special - enjoy the pantry, free internet, and pool which is not too populated.

The location is convenient for travelers - close to USA and Windsor malls.

Overall, would stay again but wish they had a complimentary breakfast!

Room Tip: Get a room upgrade on the 8th floor if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for selecting the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge as your hotel of choice!

I am pleased to share your feedback with our Front Office Manager regarding the staff members that you mentioned.

Although we do not offer a complimentary breakfast, we are the only "true" full service hotel in our neighborhood with our onsite restaurant - Grill 55 - serving breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. For those guests that enjoy dining in the comfort of their guestroom, we offer room service as well!

Once again, thank you for your comments and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nice hotel. Restaurant was nice and the room was fairly large but perhaps a touch dated in some areas. Bed was quite comfy and bathroom was clean. Check-in only took about 30 seconds, so that was nice. A pretty typical hotel, nothing too special but best of all nothing too bad to say about the place either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding your last stay!

We certainly appreciate your business and hope that we have the opportunity to host you again in the future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We paid extra for a full breakfast. When we arrived we were given a coupon for $20.00. Coffee is not included in any breakfast. Needless to say you reach $20.00 very quickly with menu prices a la carte. Our first day we owed $8.00. After that we ordered a very minimal breakfast to keep it under $20.00. It is very cheap of this restaurant to not include coffee. I discussed this with hotel management and they blame the restaurant management and Expedia for not being more specific on what their breakfast includes. Holiday Inn should have some influence over the people they lease the restaurant to so that they include coffee. Otherwise the stay at the hotel was fine and quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The "full breakfast" comment is listed on the Expedia website only, and we are in the process of working with Expedia to get this verbiage changed. so we certainly apologize for that confusion,. We are currently working with Expedia to get this rectified.

We are very pleased with our relationship with Grill 55 and their prices are very well aligned. The Holiday Inn and Suites also offer complimentary coffee/tea in our lobby until 9:00 a.m. Monday - Friday which is available to all of our guests.

Thank you for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
City Centre
Waterfront Hotel Downtown Windsor
City Centre
Caesars Windsor
Caesars Windsor
#1 of 34 in Windsor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Windsor
#4 of 34 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Business Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is excited to welcome you to our hotel! Our 214 room property is the only full service hotel in our neighborhood. Grill 55 is our onsite restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service for those that prefer to dine in the comfort of their guest room. Our well appointed hotel offers has a number of meeting rooms in various sizes totaling over 17,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. With over 225 complimentary parking spots, we've got room for everyone! We are also pleased to provide complimentary wireless internet throughout our entire hotel, a large fresh indoor saltwater pool and a functional fitness room for those that like to get up and go! So...When you are looking for hotel accommodations or a place to hold your next meeting or event...Look no further. The Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge is the perfect place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites - Ambassador Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.