We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay For A Holiday Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 34 hotels in Windsor
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Okay For A Holiday Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Only a short visit here, on a quick business trip. Hotel was clean enough and rooms were also clean and a decent size , really just a regular Holiday Inn with a couple of minor negative comments such as check in ......four people working behind the frond desk and they had problems checking me in, one was on the phone, another on a cell phone texting or emailing and the other two were deep in conversation and seemed to have no idea I was even there. Stay away from the restaurant if you want to save some money, way overpriced for food and drinks and the service is terrible, they say they close at 11pm and they want you out in a hurry, the clean up starts at around 10.30pm as they start to clear behind the bar then they actually try to clean around you while you sit there....an amazing sight, you really feel uncomfortable and in the way.. Only other problem I had was staff shouting at each other in the hallways in the morning ( housekeeping I think ). Not a big problem to me as I was awake but I thought it might upset others at 8am in the morning. As you can see no huge problems, I may use the hotel again but certainly not the restaurant for dinner or drinks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I do apologize for the service that you received upon check in and will certainly pass this information to the Front Office Manager. Our hotel uses our guest feedback as a training opportunity or to thank our associates for a job well done, so your information is valuable to us.

Your concerns regarding Grill 55 have been forwarded onto the Food and Beverage Director. The menu/pricing changes periodically so this information will be taken into consideration.

I have also shared your comment regarding the housekeeping staff with our Executive Housekeeper, and this also has been addressed.

We really appreciate your business, feedback and continued support and hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are traveling to our area.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    79
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
48
24
8
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Despite the lovely "Hospitality Promise" card in the hotel room bathroom which states that "making your stay a complete success is our goal" and the promise to "make it right or you won't pay for that part of you stay", we paid, (MUCH more than everyone else in our party) for what was very unenjoyable stay in the hotel.
Here are just SOME of the complaints we have about the hotel:
We were woken up early by the room service knocking on our door, and even opening it while we were inside the room.
The manager, Pat, was EXTREMELY condescending and rude when we tried to deal with her.
The booking system was flawed (the first time they gave us the wrong date and charges us $65 more than other friends we had staying the same night. Then they told us the hotel was booked so despite changing our date, they couldn't give us a better rate, but our friend called the day after and got a rate that was $60 less than ours. Then, the never correctly changed the original date and threatened to charge us for not cancelling the room, and that was the manager, Bushira, that did the switch. Finally, I spent hours in the lobby and on the phone speaking with guest services and the manager, only to be hung up on once, never called back by the manager, and spoken to very rudely by her).

I will NEVER go back to a Holiday Inn hotel and I will tell all my friends and family to avoid them as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay during your visit with your team. We do apologize that you still feel that your issues have not been resolved, however ,in all of the avenues that you have pursued regarding your concerns, the resolution have been consistent, fair and professional.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights on business and must say the service was amazing. This hotel is super-clean, crisp and modern and Grill 55 Restaurant has excellent breakfasts. Every employee I encountered had a hello and a "have a great day" - most welcoming. And the saltwater pool was fantastic! Highly recommended, and will return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments and for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge!

We certainly appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with both the Front Desk Manager and the Food and Beverage Director at Grill 55. We use all feedback to commend our staff on a "job well done" and as a training opportunity when the need arises.

Once again, thank you for your time and consideration and we look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Keeping the Holiday Inn reputation to a high standard, this hotel did not disappoint. My family and I stayed here for a whole week while looking for a house in Windsor. We were placed into a 2 bedroom suite with lots of room to move around. The room overall was a bit dated, however it was clean. The kids loved the pool area, and they were swimming almost everyday. While we were there, they were doing renovations. These renovations took up a lot of room in the lobby and also took up some of the elevators. A minor inconvenience given the fact that they have to renovate at some point, however should still be mentioned as they did not offer any small form of compensation for the inconvenience. Even a coupon or something for the restuarant in the hotel would have been great. Other than this, the staff at the hotel were helpful, and efficient. We all got good sleep and will continue to stay with the Holiday Inn brand.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments for your stay with us last summer. Yes, we were just at the very end of our renovations, which are now complete and the hotel looks great. With any type of renovations, there can be a few disruptions, however we do our utmost to ensure that our guests are safe and comfortable. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time with and welcome to Windsor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for one night in 2 rooms that were booked online.....one with 2 queen beds and the other a 2 room suite with a king bed. Check in was fast, friendly, courteous and professional and when we got to the rooms, they were exactly as requested.

The 2 room king had a separate bedroom and living area (divided by a door) with a sofa, chairs, microwave, sink, fridge and an additional powder room. There was even a separate door to enter that area from the hallway. We were travelling with our adult children (they used the 2 queen room) so it was especially nice to have that extra room to use for social time.

The bedroom area was fairly standard with a comfortable king bed, drawer and closet space and a standard bathroom with tub and shower. Lots of towels were provided, as were basic amenities. Everything was clean, however all the decor in the rooms was a bit dated and could use a "freshening". But with the rate we paid, it was fine.

We did have breakfast at the Grill 55 restaurant and found the food and service quite enjoyable and of good value for a mid-priced hotel. If we found the need again, we would most definitely stay at the Holiday Inn on Huron Church.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge as your accommodation partner! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. Our associates work very hard to ensure that our guests are left with a great impression.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We went for a wedding reception at the Caboto Club and from the moment we arrived, Steven at Reception welcomed us and our dog Cubby.

We had a King Suite and it couldn't have been more nicely appointed. There was microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and supplies, kitchen suite, sofa and two chairs, desk and chair and the nicest king size bed and pillows ranging from soft to hard.

The bathroom had soft towels, toiletry supplies, hairdryer and a great bath and shower. There was also an iron, full size ironing board, a lot of hangers and luggage racks. Free WiFi and a large flat screen TV.

The food at Grill 55 was delicious and the wine list extensive. Very good, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

After our 2 night stay, they we're very accomodating when we decided to stay another night. Same room, same price!

We would stay there again in a heartbeat. We are from Toronto and have a lot of friends in Windsor we will be visiting a lot more from now on because this visit was so enjoyable for us, our friends and Cubby too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Good afternoon. I would llike to take this opportunity to thank you for providing feedback on your latest stay at the Holiday Inn and Suites.

All are welcome at our hotel (both two and four legged friends) and we are thrilled that Cubby enjoyed his stay as well. We have alot of fun being a pet friendly property and offer greenspace around the hotel and walking trails less than 1 kilometer from the hotel to ensure that your pets get plenty of exercise.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our front desk associate Steve, and I will be sure to share your comments with our housekeeping staff regarding the comfort and cleanliness of your guestroom. Our entire team works very hard to keep all of our guests happy....and coming back!

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caledonia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Went to Windsor for a hockey tourny and stayed at the holiday inn and after an offer of an upgrade which we gladly took discovered after hauling all the bags to the 5th floor that the room was occcupied and went back to the desk where they quickly assigned us to another room which was big and roomy. Sometimes had to wait a bit for an elevator because there were many kids riding the elevator. i found the staff very pleasant and when there was an extra guest stay the second night a cot was brought within minutes. We had no problems . No Noise . I think they handled the teams very well unlike our experience last year in Bellville. Great location . Would go back

Room Tip: we received an upgrade with a small kitchen area . It was a corner unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Team-Holiday-Inn-WIN, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge and thank you for your feedback.

We pride ourselves in ensuring that all our guests are taken care of and that their needs are addressed quickly and efficiently. As you experienced first hand, we are a very popular hotel on the weekends, and ito minimize the amount of traffic on the guestroom floors, we offer complimentary hospitality rooms on the main and lower levels of the hotel, in addition to blocking the teams together whenever possible.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn and Suites - Ambassador Bridge and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites

Address: 1855 Huron Church Rd, Windsor, Ontario N9C 2L6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn and Suites is the only full service property on Huron Church Road and is located approximately six kilometers from the vibrant downtown Windsor. Our property has a restaurant onsite offering breakfast, lunch and dinner along with room service 7 days a week. Currently our hotel has completed the first phase of our 5 million dollar renovation and will be completed in its entirety by November 2011. Our fresh, updated and inviting lobby welcomes you upon your arrival. Our main floor meeting rooms have been updated in addition to 3 of our 7 guestrooms floors. The remaining guestroom floors and the lower lobby renovations will be starting in July giving us the newest and most updated product to offer our guests. Our onsite restaurant is currently undergoing a full renovation which will be completed in August 2011 and we will then welcome “Grill 55” to our family! We continue to offer breakfast, lunch and dinner from our Piccadilly Pub during the renovations so our guests will not notice any disruptions with our restaurant operations. Our large indoor saltwater pool is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the day and our newly renovated fitness room is tucked in behind the pool area with very well maintained equipment! Additionally your guestroom rate includes complimentary parking, high speed wireless internet, local and 1 800 calls and a business kiosk in the lobby available 24/7 for those wishing to stay connected! With 214 specious rooms for all of you travelling needs we welcome you to the Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor Ambassador Bridge – STAY YOU! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites
Holiday Hotel Windsor
Holiday Inn Windsor
Windsor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn & Suites Windsor, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.